We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 1898
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Turin Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Bagues(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Curious(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Campi(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,746)
Filter reviews
4,747 results
Traveller rating
3,539
935
161
59
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,539
935
161
59
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolla ramblabasement spatobacco companyclassic roomsuperior roomsauna and steam roomprivilege roompillow menutapasperfect locationside streetprivate terracestreet noisegothic quarterthe heart of the citysmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,756 - 1,761 of 4,747 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Right on la rambla and very central for everything. Quiet, sophisticated and slick but with loads of character. Staff are superb and nothing too much trouble. Nice spa and lovely rooftop terrace and pool. Don't go for the cheapest rooms but that aside you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84805PeterS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to say thank you for your high reviews about your recently stay with us.

As mentioned by yourself we are located right on Las Ramblas which is basically the most popular street in the whole city and everything could be reached walking or in a short taxi’s ride.

All our guest opinion are important for us and when we are reading that you find fantastic our hotel, it make us really happy and encourage to improve in a better service every day: we are so grateful for that!

We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Took three rooms on a recent family trip to Barcelona. The hotel was classic, with great amenities including a rooftop swimming pool and bar overlooking the city. The rooms were attractive, clean and the service was impeccable. It was right off Las Rambles and a short walk to the Picasso museum, the Born and Barri Gotic neighborhoods. Front desk staff was helpful and recommended some terrific restaurants. Only downside was that it was surprisingly warm and we couldn't figure out how the AC worked the first night. It's a little on the pricey side when you have three rooms, but you need the space with 3 adults and 3 college students. Other than that, lovely, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on Prado.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keliixmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are more than delighted to know that your experience at the H1898 was lovely and thank you so much for your really high reviews about us and our job!

We are sorry that you didn’t know how worked the AC your first night.

We are happy to know that our front desk staff gave you a good restaurant recommendations.

We definitely are looking forward to your next visit at the H1898!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just had a great weekend break in Barca @ 1898 hotel.

Great location on La Ramblas , superb facilities including Spa, rooftop pool & terrace and nice relaxing bar area.

We were allocated an internal room , no view and minimal natural light , as I was staying with brother and we're not intending to spend lots of time in the room we decided to stick with it. If I were to return I would ensure an external room on a higher floor 6.

All said the staff and hotel were really good and despite the room I would not hesitate to return. A perfect location to see the splendid sights of Barca. I would recommend the bus tour great way to see the city and choose a specific area to see in detail. Per chose Camp Nou as we are avid footy fans . We'll worth the 20 Euros .

My other favourite wad the marina , El Chiperon restaurant fish platter, and the 1.5 hour cruise on the med. the weather was 25 degrees and it was a fantastic way of seeing the city.

Great weekend. My brother & I had too quality time together .

Room Tip: External room high floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you have had a great stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities, location and most at all about our Staff!

For your next visit we would like to invite you to take a look to our webpage for more information regarding different room’s categories (views and size).

We would be more than glad to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Spent 5 days at the hotel. Must say we were very satisfied. We got a prestige room that gave us enough room (we saw one of the normal rooms and they seemed tiny). The grtto pool was very nice. The only negative (for us) was that it is right on La Rambla so it gets loud at night. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GotRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion with us.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please, if you would care to mention that you would prefer not views to the Ramblas when next making a booking with us, we will allocate in another area.

Look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed on a business trip and the staff could not be more helpful. Inner room with no view but did not spend much time in it to matter! However check out the roof top terrace, amazing pool heated all year the view and sounds of Barcelona are unbeatable. Local food market 100 meters from the hotel a real find with fantastic stalls selling all types of food and Tapas all day. Very central and coming back to this hotel and Barcelona in a few months for holiday. Well worth the money for such a fab location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews