We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love me some H1898”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love me some H1898”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

the website for the hotel paints an accurate picture. i really enjoyed the decor, layout and overall vibe of the hotel. for tourists looking to make the most of a short trip in barcelona this hotel provided us with a convenient location for hitting up some of the must-see sights. they also do a nice job of built-in checks to ensure uninvited guest don't use parts of the hotel they shouldn't use. best accommodation of H1898? the top floor, which, on a nice day, beats most views/experiences in downtown barcelona/old city. the outdoor pool, furnishings, bar, etc is topnotch. the hotel is literally right on one of the busiest streets in barcelona, so it provides great access to instant excitement. if you're an elitist who hasn't traveled outside of high-end ritzy hotels you should know that the metro passes below the hotel. i can totally envision some checked-out-from-reallife snob complaining about this b/c they expect a hotel in downtown barcelona to be the hilton in las vegas. so, prima donnas beware, this isn't las vegas. this is centuries old spain. in short, my wife and i paid a pretty penny for a 10-day trip to london, paris and barcelona… and H1898 was one of the highlights (among many) of our adventures.

Room Tip: eat a few blocks away from la rambla. the establishments on la rambla take advantage of tourists (i...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,235
    876
    143
    54
    50
See reviews for
572
2,633
121
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great hotel in a splendid location. Staff were efficient and friendly. Food in the hotel restaurant was excellent and good value. We had a terrific time and it was a lovely way to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Norma Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we are honored that you chose to spend your husband's birthday here with us and we are therefore delighted that you have had a terrific time!

Thank you for your very high reviews about our services, location and most of all about our Staff!


Your kind comment that our restaurant was excellent and good value is lovely to read and I will share this with our kitchen team who will be so appreciative.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the H1898!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Hotel 1898. The hotel itself is lovely and situated right in the heart of the Ramblas. It is within walking distance of many sites and the Bouqeria and the Liceu metro are just a short stroll away. It is ideally situated and close to lots of things to do and I felt safe coming back to the hotel after enjoying a late dinner/show.

while it was nice to be so close to the action, it was not so nice at night when we were trying to sleep. I was cursing myself for booking this hotel the first night we arrived due to the extreme noise from the Ramblas. Folks cheering, laughing and even someone playing a saxophone, cars and motorcycles beeping their horns and honking until past midnight and later. There was also the constant rumble of the metro as it passed under the hotel throughout the night. I had to put a pillow over my head and take a sleeping aid to get just a few hours sleep. The second night seemed less noisy and I was hopeful that it was just a weekend thing, but alas, our last night was just as noisy as the first. I was happy to check out as I could not take another night of the noise.

The set up the lighting in the rooms is also odd; one has to put their key card in the slot for the lights to come on and stay one. There is no option for the lights on one side of the bed to remain on if one party wants to read while the other wants to sleep. the lights on both sides of the bed are either on or off.

The bed was comfortable and there is even a pillow menu if you don't like the pillow on your bed. The front desk staff was attentive and courteous, giving directions and answering questions. We did not make use of the spa, pool or restaurants. Breakfast is 24 Euro a person so we did not eat there.

If it weren't for the noise in the room, I would have given this hotel a higher rating. The hotel is clean and classy, our room had a black and white design and I give it high marks for appearance. However, when I go to a hotel, I want to be able to sleep at night and awake refreshed and ready to tour the sites. I was unable to do that with the room I was given. Rooms at the back of the hotel may be less noisy but if you are a light sleep, avoid at all costs the rooms near the ramblas. I would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleep, ask for a room on a high floor away from the ramblas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duckhead520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Location is perfect! Very convenient for staying in Barcelona at first time. Stylish design hotel attracts. What concerning personal: Hospitality of reception is gives very warm atmosphere.Service at a high level.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yelena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

H1898 is well positioned for a short stay in Barcelona, a short walk down Las Ramblas from Place de Catalonya. First impressions count and as you walk through the entrance, you get the feeling the hotel is well managed by people who put customers first. Everyone showed great attention to detail in all aspects of the hotel, clean, good food and great staff. A great stay. A bit pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David Peter Hen... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked Hotel 1898 via Jetsetter and I'm so glad I did! The weather was perfect for spending lazy afternoons on the rooftop deck, with great drinks and delicious tapas. The view is the perfect cherry on top. As others have noted, it's really well located with the Metro, La Boqueria Market, and a ton of great restaurants all within a five minute walk. (Definitely make Luzia next to the hotel a stop when you're hungry!) We were in a standard room and it was clean and spacious. Nothing fancy, but a very comfortable bed and could have stayed for a week and not felt cramped. Lastly, the lobby smells fantastic! Normally I hate being overwhelmed by scents pumped into public spaces, but it's light and adds something nice to the ambience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckenziemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. We really enjoyed our short stay here. Standard room, location, spa and bar were great. Breakfast was included for us but deco recommend having breakfast! If we went back to to Barcelona we would stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whatsitallaboutalfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,345 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing