We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #30 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in March. Very impressive decor, helpful staff checking in. Room 406 was reasonable size and more then comfortable. Best bits was the location , literally walk out onto the La Rambla which is centre of it all and the rooftop pool and bar area. Fantastic views over this incredible city !!
I would have given them 5 stars but my partner left his sunglasses in the room, we obviously offered to pay whatever it cost to have them returned but they did say we needed to arrange courier which is obviously doubly hard sorting from the UK. Little things like this are the difference between 4 and 5 * hotel.
Other then this though very pleased with our choice !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassie19851985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 4,656 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We recently spent four nights in this hotel. The staff were very friendly and pleasant, the buffet breakfast was first class and our room was kept spotless by an excellent chambermaid. Wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheftalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Perfect holiday for my wife and I.
Full use of Spa facilities after Cava Bar/Tapas hoping, shopping and site seeing within an arms reach. Sending me a complimentary bottle of Brut for my un-announced birthday was a real treat. The Deluxe rooms with a patio balcony are a worthy treat if you want more space outside of your room. Overall a great experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andre Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First at all thank you for choosing us for celebrating a special moment like your birthday - it was a pleasure for us to welcoming you with a small present.

We are glad that you could enjoy the city but most at all that you could enjoy your stay with us!

Look forward to welcoming you again at the H1898.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The overall experience was great, reception personal were helpful and responded to any question, want to thank them all especially Victor.
The room was great and always clean, i enjoyed my stay to the maximum.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Adib A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you have had a great stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about us.

We are very proud of the team and it is always pleasing to receive such kind words as yours. We constantly endeavor to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always rewarding to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am happy that they were helpful and and responded your entire question and I am especially thrilled that Victor assisted you during your time with us. I shall ensure that all of your kind feedback and praise are passed on to Victor and the team and that their service is duly noted.

We would be more than glad to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

have been in Barcelona many times, this is one of the best located hotels just off the ramblas. Reception is lovely, there's a relaxed bar area. (however note that on the ramblas there is a lot of petty theft, so keep your wallet/bag in a safe at the hotel). rooms were not very big but well appointed. When I opened my window I could see over rooftops down to the sea (I think I was room 620)

Room Tip: Try to get a room over 6th floor (don't know how many floors there are) and to the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fearanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your high opinion about us.

We are happy to read that you find our hotel as one of the best located hotels.

We would like to remind that we have 6 rooms’ categories, all different between them and with different size in order to make satisfy all ours guest’s expectative. If you would care to mention that you would prefer a larger room when next making a booking with us, we will allocate a more spacious room.

Look forward to welcoming you again at the H1898.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

the website for the hotel paints an accurate picture. i really enjoyed the decor, layout and overall vibe of the hotel. for tourists looking to make the most of a short trip in barcelona this hotel provided us with a convenient location for hitting up some of the must-see sights. they also do a nice job of built-in checks to ensure uninvited guest don't use parts of the hotel they shouldn't use. best accommodation of H1898? the top floor, which, on a nice day, beats most views/experiences in downtown barcelona/old city. the outdoor pool, furnishings, bar, etc is topnotch. the hotel is literally right on one of the busiest streets in barcelona, so it provides great access to instant excitement. if you're an elitist who hasn't traveled outside of high-end ritzy hotels you should know that the metro passes below the hotel. i can totally envision some checked-out-from-reallife snob complaining about this b/c they expect a hotel in downtown barcelona to be the hilton in las vegas. so, prima donnas beware, this isn't las vegas. this is centuries old spain. in short, my wife and i paid a pretty penny for a 10-day trip to london, paris and barcelona… and H1898 was one of the highlights (among many) of our adventures.

Room Tip: eat a few blocks away from la rambla. the establishments on la rambla take advantage of tourists (i...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great hotel in a splendid location. Staff were efficient and friendly. Food in the hotel restaurant was excellent and good value. We had a terrific time and it was a lovely way to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Norma Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we are honored that you chose to spend your husband's birthday here with us and we are therefore delighted that you have had a terrific time!

Thank you for your very high reviews about our services, location and most of all about our Staff!


Your kind comment that our restaurant was excellent and good value is lovely to read and I will share this with our kitchen team who will be so appreciative.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the H1898!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 516 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 516 in Barcelona
2,347 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 516 in Barcelona
956 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 516 in Barcelona
906 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £110 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing