We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for a 2 night weekend break at the end of March. What a good choice we made. This hotel lives up to its Tripadvisor rating and more. The location is superb - handily placed for all the attractions and right in the heart of it on Las Ramblas.
We were a little worried that it may be noisy but we never heard a sound all night in our fifth floor room with a view over the rooftops. The room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean with robes slippers and lovely toiletries. There were 2 showers over the bath both nice and powerful and massive fluffy towels. The breakfast was included in our deal and the choice was extensive.
The service in the restaurant and throughout the hotel was friendly unobtrusive. and efficient. We loved the rooftop area and pool and could imagine what a haven it would be on a hot summers day. The views were amazing. We used the indoor pool and spa on both days and this was lovely to return to in the evening after a busy day's sightseeing. My only slight complaint about this was that the pool area was a little bit dark.
Just a few yards away from the hotel entrance on Las Ramblas is the market. Do not miss this - the sights of the fruit and fish displays are incredible. We ate at one of the fish stalls where you sit on a bar stool and watch them prepare the dishes - I think it was called Universal Kiosko. Look and see what other people are eating and just ask for that. It's very popular so you may have to wait at lunchtime.
I would also recommend the Barcelona City Tour Guide on the open top bus, There are 2 routes and you will see everything if you go on both routes. Get on and off as you go along to get a closer look at the sights. Good value @ 35 euros for 48 hours.
Another good tip if you are staying at this hotel is don't bother with a taxi to the airport - use the airport bus from Plaza Catalunya five minutes walk from the hotel and 5.90 euros each way. Excellent service every 10 mins and takes 25 minutes.
If you are thinking of a weekend break in Barcelona I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Inside rooms on a higher floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,207
    866
    142
    54
    49
See reviews for
570
2,603
120
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel. There are no negative remarks to make. Very nicely decorated rooms in an old tobacco warehouse. Very modern touch.
Nice roof terrace for drinks. Very friendly staff.

One negative, The price for breakfast is a rip off. But... There is a nice little breakfast restaurant, Lucia, next door the entrance of the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great find, despite being smack in the middle of things the hotel was a peaceful and upmarket sanctuary

Breakfast on the roof was Amazing! with great food and service coupled with beautiful morning sunshine in a chic rooftop environment

The basement spa was luxurious and not at all intimidating.

Rooms are average (small by US standards) but very well done

Great for a couples getaway or for business.

Tapas in the lobby bar was also good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the 1898 and as it was to celebrate my 60th birthday we pushed the boat out and had a very enjoyable stay. The spa and massage were excellent and I was glad I decided to book a better room - well worth the extra.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank a_collins54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

A great hotel right in the middle of the very popular La Rambla area with shops, restaurants, etc. The breakfast buffet is quite extensive, the bar serves a variety of interesting cocktails including a chili mojito, and the front desk staff are very friendly and all speak at least 3 languages!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
292 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We enjoyed another return two night visit to H1898. On the N end of La Rambla, the hotel is close to much of what a visitor will want to see in Barcelona and thus well located for tourists who are not deterred by the bustle outside or the not-quite-gentrified nearby El Raval. The Catalunya metro, a major transport hub, is a five minute walk.

The hotel is an elegant 21c conversion of a late 19c townhouse, later used as the HQ of the Philippines Tobacco Company (hence the name). The decor in the public areas is designer black with wood accents and some imaginative photographs.

The excellent leisure facilities include two pools - one on the roof terrace with great views over the city and the elegant other in the basement, which also has a gym, sauna and steam room.

Room size varies. Our ‘de luxe’ room and its bathroom were ’compact’ - reflecting our relatively low room rate - but elegant, well designed and well equipped (apart from unnecessarily complicated lighting).

WiFi is free, fast and uncomplicated throughout the hotel.

Breakfast is an excellent buffet with good staff support and eggs cooked to order.

All the staff we met were efficient and pleasant.

We thought the hotel quite good value at a room rate of c. $270 including breakfast.

We would grade the H1898 as four star plus and recommend it to tourists not on a tight budget..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We loved every moment of our stay at Hotel 1898. We chose it primarily for it's superb location and spa facilities but we were taken aback by the luxurious and stylish finish, cleanliness and friendliness of staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing