We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this hotel”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Dora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love this hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location...nice hotel...always try to stay here when I am in Barcelona. It is very clean, comfortable and they are always helpful at the reception desk. Plenty to do in this area. Nice pool area....A plus!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank srwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and share your high review on TA about us.

We are glad that you found all our services and staff to your liking and that you could enjoy your holidays in Barcelona!

Thank you very much for your high feedback and looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,241
    877
    144
    54
    50
See reviews for
576
2,636
121
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great stay in Barcelona at the 1898 hotel. Great value in room upgrade, it certainly is worth the money. Great spa, great roof terrace and the early breakfast was very well composed and with the view over the city, just perfect. Also, surprisingly quiet despite its location and if bringing a car, parking facilities are great though rather daring to access.

We are coming back to this superb hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FrederikNicolajMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are more than delighted to know that your experience at the H1898 was great and thank you so much for your really high reviews about our services and facilities!

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and hopefully see you in the next future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

big hotel with a small and friendly hotel feel. Excellent housekeeping and very quiet rooms but right in the centre of things. Restaurant too was very good. Staff all very helpful and attentive without being at all intrusive. Bedrooms and bathrooms ideal, great showers and good bed and comfy chairs, space enough for two people to relax between all the sites and food that Barcelona offers

Room Tip: our room was away from the streets so very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuJ584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities and most at all about our Staff!

We are very proud of the team and it is always pleasing to receive such kind words as yours. We constantly endeavor to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always rewarding to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am happy that they were helpful and attentive and I am especially thrilled that you find our housekeeping excellent. I shall ensure that all of your kind feedback and praise are passed on to housekeeping Manager and the team and that their service is duly noted.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I didn't want to leave. Best part of this hotel was the beautiful roof bar and restaurant, a complete haven after walking all day around this fantastic city. Really laid back atmosphere, comfy loungers, good, unobtrusive service and a heated pool. Room - I was in a corner room, was a delight, soundproofed with great walk in shower and everything you may want (no dvd though). Loved the indoor pool and spa too. Brilliant location for exploring the city. Only small gripe was breakfast, expensive for what it was with poor coffee. But I really didn't want to leave - ever.

Room Tip: Rooms at front very airy with large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber-chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed the time we stayed at the hotel very much. Nice and friendly staff. Overall cleanliness very good. Placed at La Rambla suited us very much. Marvelous view from the roof resturant.We will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bjoern Arne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We went to roof bar of hotel 1898 after reading reviews on internet. Athmosphere inside the hotel was charming at entrance. The view of the terrace was really beatiful but we paid 56 euros for 2 mojitos which was below average quality!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ural Ü
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking your time and sharing with us your opinion about your experience with us on TA.

I was disappointed that you felt our Mojitos below average quality because we often receive many positive comments regarding their quality.

We kindly inform you that the price of one Mojito is 14€.

We hope you could enjoy our marvellous views and definitely looking forward to your next visit at the Isabella terrace!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel 1898 in April, 2014. We had arrived from Paris where our room had been very nice but small. Hotel 1898 was excellent in just about every way. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful (even helping a member of our party retrieve a sport coat that had been inadvertently taken from the train).

We had a lovely dinner at the hotel restaurant on our first night and enjoyed a drink on the rooftop terrace on another night. It was very beautiful.The lobby has several comfortable chairs and sofas along with complimentary water with ice and lemons or limes, which we used several times as a meeting/planning place as we were traveling with another couple.

Located on La Rambla just a short distance from Placa Cataluyna (with its metro stop and airport bus) made it extremely convenient. The modern rooms have light switches that provide several levels of brightness and almost all of the lights are connected to them. As I guess is common in Europe, you need to insert your room key in a slot for the lights to work. However, they do come on for a few minutes when you open the door and before you insert your key.

There was one very minor negative: while the bathroom supplies were of high quality and even included shaving and sewing supplies, there was no conditioner! Aside from that one tiny flaw, I found Hotel 1898 to be a magnificent place to stay in Barcelona. I recommend it highly and would definitely stay there again if the opportunity to go to Barcelona arises again.

Room Tip: It might be better to get rooms that do not front on La Rambla as it can be noisy through the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gino4634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing