We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When you come to Barcelona you must stay here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“When you come to Barcelona you must stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Wow what a hotel, recommended by family, checked it out on tripadvisor and you were all correct.
This is A great hotel. Staff so friendly and helpful, rooms all you need, rooftop bar amazing. Situation perfect right in the centre of town, close to shops market and all tours.

Recommend it to everyone. Thank you 1898. Front desk staff FANTASTIC

Room Tip: We had the basic room, all we needed, no problem with noise, completely comfortable, we were out si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you choose us upon the family recommendation and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities, location and most of all about our Staff!

We are very proud of our staff and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am happy that they were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,149
    857
    143
    52
    48
See reviews for
560
2,565
116
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was a very delightful experience. We stayed 3 nights. It was in a perfect location for walking downtown or to the sea. Just a block away from the city market (my favorite place to walk around and sample the local food). The staff was very helpful and eager to help. The language was no problem. The rooms were wonderful, very modern with a touch of elegance.

Room Tip: Be sure to go to the rooftop for drinks and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gonefishing55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you had a delightful experience at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our facilities, location and most of all about our Staff!

We are happy that you could enjoy the city from every single corner since as mentioned by you, we are located right on Las Ramblas which is basically the most popular street in the whole city and everything could be reached walking or in a short taxi’s ride.

Thank you for your excellent comment and hopefully see you soon at the H1898!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely hotel in the middle of busy Barcelona. Very nice and very quiet inside hotel. The interior was beautiful, rooms comfortable and welcoming. But the best part of the stay was the lovely roof terrace - La Isabela. Fantastic views and nice and relaxed atmosphere. You should go!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lotta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your high reviews regarding our hotel’s services, and facilities and we are happy to know that you find the hotel lovely.

We have to agree that the terrace has fantastic views and nice and relaxed atmosphere. There is nothing better than starting or ending the day with our breakfast or cocktails.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you again at the H1898!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Position great, room facing inside courtyard very quiet, limited wardrobe space though.
Very clean, staff excellent. Rooftop pool and drinks area lovely.
Didn't use the restaurant or spa but both looked top notch.
Pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viera, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel 1898 in Barcelona. The location on La Rambla could not be better and the overall quality of the hotel is exceptional. The balcony view onto La Rambla topped off the stay. The bed was extremely comfortable and service was very good. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We checked in today at this hotel. It is truly a five star hotel, but at a reasonable price. The location is perfect - right off La Ramblas, where you absolutely want to be, close to wonderful tapas restaurants, within walking distance of important sites such as the Picasso Museum and Sagrada Familia. The hotel is basically a resort in the heart of the city with its rooftop bar/restaurant ( 20% off for guests), and pool and lounge areas ( amazing city views) and its lower level grotto spa with pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The concierge gave us great suggestions for nearby tapas restaurants and just general good advice of how to maneuver the city. I suggest booking directly with the hotel with the possibility of an upgrade. Our junior suite was enormous with a full living room area and two bathrooms! I completely agree with the other great reviews of Hotel 1898 on Trip Advisor. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. Barcelona is such a wonderful city and the hotel just completes the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face La Ramblas. if you want to ensure complete quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great hotel, you can't go wrong. Constantly being cleaned and looking great. The supple leather, varnished woods. Excellent. The view from the terrace is unbeatable. Great serve and location. Had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Miguel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing