We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

stayed 3 nights in a superior room -as other reviews said the standard rooms were dark.I don't think there was much difference so would probably settle for standard as they were still a decent size. Beds super comfy, lovely shower. Only small gripes - no mirror in bedroom -only a full length sectioned mirror on back of bathroom door and bathroom mirror -a bit of a pain if two people trying to do hair/make up/get ready at same time. Hotel was spotlessly kept - the reasons it gets a 5 are - location (perfect), room comfort was great, the AMAZING roof terrace -there is a decent size pool to dip in, sunbeds, sofas, dining area, and big double beds to lounge on. Fantastic views - never too crowded either. we got a 20% discount off the drinks and food which made the prices well worth it for the location, ambience and service. We had one lunch on the terrace Isabella - food was super... In a nutshell if I won the lottery I would move in for a while. I have stayed in BCN many times in various hotels but would definitely return here, it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: we stayed in 334 - overlooking the road off the Ramblas opposite the Meridien -very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,313
    892
    150
    55
    51
See reviews for
593
2,692
124
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glastonbury, ct
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

hotel 1898 is beautiful and in a great central location...we were steps from placa de catalunya and right on las ramblas..our room was immaculate, quiet and comfortable ,,,what made this hotel so special, however, was the staff...they were friendly and so helpful

Room Tip: we were in 602 and thought it was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Beautiful hotel in the center of Barcelona. Clean, great condition. Service is spotty, sometimes good, sometimes less so. For business, not the most convenient because of small irritants .. not many power plugs, need special adapters since recessed heavily. Great rooftop bar.

Room Tip: Best not to face La Rambla as it is a noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Amazing and comfortable rooms, great location to shop and sightsee. Cannot complain about anything. Staff very helpful and eager to go the extra mile. Free wifi most useful and did not give problems at all

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Zerkia Jacoba E... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location. The room was wonderful. We had dinner at the restuarant next door(not part of the hotel which we really enjoyed. Within walking ditance of many of the sites. Easy to get a cab. Rooms were very clean and comfortable

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrnaKadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we have stayed over the weekend in hotel 1898, the hotel was amazing, very nice and clean rooms (cleaned twice a day), the amenities such as the indoor pool and roof terrace were beautiful and very relaxing after long days of walking and sightseeing.
the staff was more than helpful, when my wife was not feeling well during our last night they called a doctor for us who came to the hotel instead of us going to the hospital.
it is not the cheapest hotel in the area but well worth the money. if you are staying in la ramblas and want a quality hotel don't think twice - book this one, we will definitely come back when in barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank asaf2sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights over the Barcelona F1 weekend. Its city centre location made it a great spot for shopping & sight-seeing.
We had a car & were unsure about the parking situation on the Ramblas. They have an underground car-park (£25 per day). Shape of the hotel means there are 'internal' rooms with a window (no view, but its designed to let a little light in). These rooms face each other over the courtyard although the design may seem a good idea, the opposing walls opposite are painted bright terracotta which doesn't help the light situation, but they are quieter than the perimeter rooms (which our friends had).
Std rooms are reasonable sized, but the air-con control is tucked away in a wardrobe & you can't see the display. Consequently we had problems with the temperature & had to call for assistance after one day. Bathrooms are nicely appointed although the shower is located above the sloping end of the bath so its not easy to stand under it.
Staff are very attentive, always seemed to be at least 2 or 3 staff outside the ground floor lift to help you with anything at any time. Nice touch.
Rooftop terrace & modern decking & funky settees set around a cocktail bar & small plunge pool with sunbeds. Fantastic setting as they have designed it well with massive shrubs & plants to disguise the normal clutter of rooftop equipment/machinery etc, which makes it a really nice setting. It did get busy over the weekend evenings & we had to hang around for a seat. Worth it though. The views are spectacular and its worth booking this hotel just for that. We didn't eat at the hotel as we opted to have our meals at various restaurants.
Good points - Central location, the top terrace, helpful staff.
No so good points - Rooms aren't bright (around the central courtyard), air-con control is a bad design/location. £100 for 4 days parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the perimeter are brighter compared to inner rooms over the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord-Lady-Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 512 in Barcelona
4,419 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
861 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,175 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing