We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous hotel with lovely rooftop bar”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #28 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“gorgeous hotel with lovely rooftop bar”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Sadly, we only spent one night here as a stopover on our way back to the states...The hotel is very beautiful and has wonderful amenities like a pillow selection menu, heated towel bars etc.. Due to the location on Las Ramblas, like any big city, it's very noisy at night. I would highly recommend staying on a high floor or away from Las Ramblas to achieve a better sleep. The rooftop bar was wonderful for tapas. Highly recommend the Pink Mojito's - delicious! Would definitely stay here again to be close to all the action. The hotel was immaculate and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NYgirltrappedinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,347
    900
    153
    55
    51
See reviews for
606
2,716
126
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were staying across the street at Le Meredien and noticed the awesome rooftop terrace at the Hotel 1898 so we went over there to enjoy a glass of wine. We brought our well-behaved 14 year old kids. We were well dressed. When we arrived we were asked if we had a reservation and we said we did not. There were open tables and sofas at the time. The waitress was clearly annoyed (maybe because we didn't have a reservation?) and brought us to a sofa area. She took our order but not once did she look us in the eye and not once did she come back after serving us (rudely). We tried to get her attention on a couple of occasions but she ignored us. Wouldn't go back to this place at all. There are too many other spectacular choices in Barcelona!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Marnie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 20 July 2016
Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your oppinion on TA.
We would like to apologize for the bad impression provided in our Hotel. Our terrace is open to the public and it is possible to book in advance for dinner. However, if you do not have a reservation and there is availability it is possible to come and enjoy the views and our cocktails and tapas. We take note of your review to improve our service as we work hard daily to give the best service possible.

Once again our apologies and we kindly ask you to give us a second chance to change your oppinion.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel after our cruise and it was amazing! The location was great right on La Ramblas with an amazing waffles stand nearby! The rooms were an excellent size and the bathroom was a good size and had a bidet which i thought was a nice touch. Overall very nice hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha_Bahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel amenities - Central location, rooftop terrace, bar, and pool, spa pool, steam room, sauna, inviting and spacious lobby.
When I booked the two rooms for my family, I requested adjacent rooms, and to my delight, the hotel complied with my request. The rooms were 411 and 412. These rooms look out on the inner courtyard. No view, but it was quite quiet. The beds were extremely comfortable with their long pillows, crisply smooth cotton sheets, and firm mattresses. The air from the a/c blew softly and silently and quite easy to control with the thermostat.
Travel tip for early arrivals: If your room is not ready, have your bathing suit handy. Taking a dip in one of the pools and hanging out on the roof or below in the steam room is a great way to pass the time.

Room Tip: Classic room on the inner courtyard are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojomomBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

One of the best ones I've stayed in. Location is prefect, service is great. Rooms are fairly equipped with everything you need and above. And most importantly very very clean. We use the SPA and the indoor pool on the last day of our stay and it was exactly what we needed before our flight. Breakfast is very rich, however if you need to pay for that and it's not part of the deal like we had, then it may be a little bit pricy.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and hopefully will book this hotel again in my next trip to Barcelona.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a small balcony. It's great if you want to sit outside and have some f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived in Barcelona having spent a week in Valencia, where we got rather used to a 5 star hotel life! Very happily for us, Hotel 1898 very much maintained this level and the life to which we had quickly grown accustomed!

The hotel oozes style, with the lobby decorated in sumptuous shades of black and grey. Our rooms was lovely, very comfortable, stylish with impressive mod-cons. It wasn't that big, but plenty big enough for our needs. Street noise from Las Ramblas and nearby bars might be a problem for some - we were on the third floor and could hear noise late at night. A pair of ear plugs would take care of that though if you felt that would be an issue.

You should not visit this hotel without checking out both the roof terrace and the underground pool. The latter is sublime! It's the perfect place to go and cool down and chill out at the end of a long, hot day before going out for the night. The former, provides stunning views of Barcelona, a very inviting rooftop pool and a bar/restaurant. We didn't partake of any food as we wanted to explore further afield, but cocktails in the evening will be a happy memory for a long time.

I already loved this hotel, but they blew me away when we returned to the room on our last evening in the hotel - they had discovered that it was my husband's birthday (presumably from his passport at check-in) and had delivered a happy birthday note, bottle of Cava and 2 flutes to the room - absolutely fantastic. What a wonderful touch. Thank you so much to the H1898 staff for that amazing gesture.

This was a wonderful place to stay for our time in Barcelona and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiSnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Very stylish hotel. Loved the decor. We were 'upgraded' when we were checked in. The room was great but tbh I wasn't blown away by the upgrade. Location of room was good though, just 1 floor down from the magnificent roof terrace. This outside space is what made the hotel for us as we didn't eat here (breakfast was too expensive) & we didn't take advantage of the spa.
Great location, easy to find & of course very central to some great restaurants.
Loved Barcelona & will definitely be back. Would we stay here again? Of course!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulnDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
873 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,097 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
2,030 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
910 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing