We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel ideal location”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel ideal location”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wonderful hotel in an ideal location quiet and peaceful . Booked a standard room which was dark and cool at night but with luxurious fittings and bathroom. Stayed as 2 couples location ideal right on the ramblas but no interference from noise.

Rooftop area stunning service excellent breakfast on the terrace absolutely gorgeous I wouldn't hesitate to return and next time do the boat trip and cable car.

Did the bus tour which was great and spent many a happy hour walking around the quaint squares

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bendigedig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,235
    876
    143
    54
    50
See reviews for
572
2,633
121
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

As part of out Scenic Tours Paris to Barcelona River cruise stay three nights at this hotel. Beautifully decorated if a little dark in the corridors. Beautiful spa area in the basement, and the piece de resistance is the roof terrace. Lovely pool area great bar and terrific tapas.

Our room 210 had a small outdoor terrace which was beautiful for a coffee and to read the morning paper

Staff very helpful and friendly

Had one of the best steaks ever in the restaurant .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had little support by the reception to upgrade to an offered package and to coordinate a Spa treatment. I was told to cancel the inital booking, to book a new package and I was given the e-mail adress of the spa centre and was told to organise myself. I would have expected a little more on site support, since answers to e-mails took quite long.

And afterwards parts of the booked package were forgotten (champagne and strawberries in room at arrival). When I informed the reception, I got a voucher for two free drinks that was intended for people who wait for their rooms (which we did at the beginning without getting a voucher). So I paid for something that should have been free and still didn't get the whole deal.
This was quite disappointing since it was intended as a surprise for my wife for our anniversary (as I had informed the reception upon booking).

The Spa in the former storage room has a unique atmosphere and the massage was good. The pool in the Spa could be slightly warmer though.

Despite the critical points mentioned above, the central location, the atmosphere of the hotel, the perfect breakfast on the La Isabela terrace, the morning swims in the rooftop pool as well as the fantastic blackberry mojitos made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J4ckL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Everyone has already talked about it's great location, just two blocks from La Boqueria on Las Ramblas (a great spot to get an inexpensive snack or meal). That being said, we've all read about pickpockets and crime in Barcelona. Traveling as a solo woman, I felt very safe and secure here. Their safety system is one of the best I've ever seen outside New York. Your room key must be used to get up the elevator, and only takes you to your floor, or the public floors. Not to mention the bellman was on watch to see that you belonged here. The interlock mechanism is built into the wall next to the door, so less chance of anyone using a code reader to open your door while you're away. With dark hardwood floors and spacious rooms, I thought it might be noisy from above, but it wasn't a bit. The bath is well appointed with a bidet. There is a large safe, big enough for a laptop or iPad. Anytime I travel I leave my "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door at all times, but turn it to "Make Up My Room" when I want service, and usually get it within the time I'm out. I don't care for turn down service, so up goes the DND sign again. Since I had arrived from the West Coast, my time schedule was upside down, falling into bed early, before most restaurants open in Barcelona (8:00pm - 10:00pm). I ordered Room Service, the food was fresh, (too) plentiful, and the full meal deal was 21 Euros, including salad and dessert & service charge. You can walk anywhere in Barcelona's core from here, Catalyuna Square, the Cathedral, Picasso Museum, waterfront. I never took the subway, but there is a stop 1/2 block away. My taxi to the cruise ship pier was 15 minutes and 15 Euros, more because of some heavy traffic and the meter goes by time and travel distance. The rooftop pool is an oasis amid the craziness of this beautiful city. I only ordered local wine and beer and felt the prices were on par with any other big city hotel. There is a Starbuck's in the same building, which made the breakfast plan unnecessary, so had my coffee and rolls there. I had a half body massage in the spa, the girls speak English very well. I used the indoor pool, which has a waterfall massage, jetted section, so more like a spa than swimming pool, very relaxing. Maybe that's why I fell into bed and slept restfully amid the chaos of Las Ramblas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MONichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in a superior room and I would say this hotel is more 5* than 4*
Room was on the 6th floor with a view and was quiet at night
The roof top bar / lounge area is a great way to finish an evening out, contrary to another review it was open every night we was there 23rd-26th July
The interior of this hotel and its facilities are superb
The only thing I would change would be to move it to the marina area as la Rambla is a bit seedy at night , you can take a taxi at night if you feel uncomfortable walking around after dark.
Great location for daytime exploring. Well worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up as noise could be a problem at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I'm staying here right now. After being out for the day we come back at 2:30 and the room isn't cleaned.
The main feature of the hotel -the roof top bar- was closed last night for a private function yet nobody advised us of this when we booked or when we checked in that afternoon.
When we went to go out last night we called for an iron. They don't have an iron! You can only get it ironed by them at $7 euros a shirt... More for other pieces! I've never stayed in a hotel with no irons.
And €12.5 for a standard drink!
Not a bad looking hotel but average for the price... Disappointed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 25 July 2016
Dear Maddy,

We appreciate your time on TA sharing your opinion with us.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

We would like to inform you that our cleaning schedule is from 9h00 to 17h00 (plus 17h00 to 22h00 for additional assistance and turning down service). We always try to have all rooms ready as soon as possible and if the service is requeired on reception or through the 'Please clean the room' card we prior this service. Counting also on all the departures we do have daily.

We would also like to inform you that we do not borrow irons for security reasons. Our hotel has a colonialist style and all the furniture in the rooms is made of wood and colonialist decor. This is why we do offer a laundry service available from 9h00 to 22h00 that can wash and iron your clothes. And also we do have an external service for dry cleaning.

About your experience on the rooftop bar the first night, we apologize if you were not informed, it is not our normal procedure. We take note and report to all departments to improve our procedures.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

H1898 is first class, from the moment you enter the air conditioned lobby and are met by the friendly staff you know that they will do their very best to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The rooms are spacious , very clean and quiet , in spite of being on the Ramblas.

We didn't dine in the hotel any evening but the breakfast choices were very extensive and well prepared. The Rooftop terrace is a real treat and a quiet,relaxing haven from the bustle of the Ramblas. The perfect place to chill out and enjoy a cocktail, with lovely views over the city. I would certainly recommend it for couples wanting to explore Barcelona

Room Tip: I chose an interior room, thinking it would be quieter as the hotel over looks the Ramblas. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeFromMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,345 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing