We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,000)
Filter reviews
5,000 results
Traveller rating
3,738
972
168
65
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,738
972
168
65
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool la rambla basement spa tobacco company superior room classic room privilege room sauna and steam room pillow menu tapas perfect location private terrace side street street noise gothic quarter the heart of the city small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,239 - 1,244 of 5,000 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

From check in to check out, this establishment is awesome! Enjoyed their rooftop pool and bar area, lounging late in the day after touring the city. Front desk staff were extremely helpful in making our stay a fun one. Monica gave great suggestions and directions, and Jamie's recommendations on restaurants were perfect. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eileen065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon, and it was the best hotel we stayed in the entire trip. The place is beautiful, clean, and well-appointed. The location (close to La Rambla and within walking distance of Sagrada Familia) was great for us. We stayed on the fifth floor and had a gigantic private balcony that overlooked a row of cafes below. Best of all was Maria, our concierge, who made us feel very welcome (we were mildly worried being a lesbian couple on our honeymoon, but that was no problem at all!) and who helped us find vegetarian restaurants and book local tours. We had a great experience and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kathryns826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Although a bit pricey, 1898 was worth every penny. The hotel itself offers every comfort and the staff goes out of their way to make your stay special. We especially want to comment on monica, one of the desk clerks. She was amazing in every way. She is so personable you feel as if she is family. All of her recommendations were spot on. It was our 30th anniversary and we were greeted to a complimentary bottle of champagne in our gorgeous room. The location is perfect for everything. You only live once! Treat yourselves. This is the place!!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sherrilynhumphreyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Hotel 1898 is a piece of heaven and right in the heart of La Rambla, few minutes from Plaza Catalunya. The hotel is absolutely perfect to relax after a working day or sightseeing around Barcelona. The rooms have all comfort and terraza La Izabela is a must for a fantastic view at sunset sipping a nice cocktail and enjoy some contemporary tapas. Save some time for the SPA too and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vanfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We have stayed at h1898 a few times now but our latest visit was by far the best !
Free upgrade on arrival and a free bottle of cava suprise in our room with gift card from hotel as they realised that it was my birthday !
10 out of 10
Superb
Ben
Morpeth

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank benjaminw517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews