We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious, central and very friendly”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious, central and very friendly”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Located right on Las Ramblas, which is either a good or bad thing depending on what you're looking for. This is a very classy and well designed hotel. Rooms are very spacious and have all the finishing touches- robes, slippers, flat screen tv. We went in Winter and it was too cold for the rooftop pool, but we had a look and it would be fab in summer.
Very central and friendly- would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,238
    876
    143
    54
    50
See reviews for
574
2,633
121
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The staff was wonderful. They spoke English and was very social. The staff provided assistance regarding directions to various places, great sites; and recommendations to the best eateries, clubs, and shopping areas. I must say they were very accommodating. The rooftop bar was the highlight of the hotel, during our down time. The drinks were a little pricey. However, the view from the Roof Top was beautiful. The hotel was in the perfect location.

My only issue with the hotel is that the rooms were pretty small. However, this appears to be the norm with European hotels.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We spent 5 nights at Hotel 1898, having chose it based on its location and great reviews on this site, and had a lovely stay. We were very fortunate to have a room ready for us upon our early arrival at 11:00am. The hotel staff was very friendly and provided good service overall.

The location is right on La Rambla, which is bustling at all hours (be aware of this when choosing a room facing the street). We were just a short walk to Plaza Catalunya, another busy area where you can find a number of shops, restaurants, tourist buses, and a metro station. We also found a number of restaurants along the side streets near our hotel. You can walk to the Barri Gotic area, which also offers great restaurants and sights. A bonus was having a supermarket a block from the hotel, but be aware it and many shops are closed on Sunday! We always felt safe, despite all of the reports of crime in the area.

The "classic" room itself was a bit small, but the bathroom was quite roomy and provided a nice variety of complimentary amenities. The maid service was excellent and the room was very clean. We had a really nice surprise and found a small terrace off our room (room 205- and all along our hall had them), so we were able to enjoy a bottle of wine night outside, enjoying the night air. The only downside was that our room backed up to a building with a restaurant, and we could hear the clanging sound of dishes and some voices on and off through the day and up until around midnight. We live in a small city, so these noises were not too disturbing.

We only had a few criticisms about the room involving its lack of a clock, no ironing board or iron, and minimal TV channels. We really enjoyed the hotel rooftop terrace/bar, although the service was a bit slow and distant. We didn't use the restaurant or spa, so I can't comment on them. The free wi-fi worked well.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a great stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This is well designed hotel in a central and convenient location. Located on the Ramblas and a short walk from the Raval and Barri Gotic, this hotel served as a convenient base for exploring Barcelona. We were booked in a "Classic" room, which was small but thoughtfully laid out and attractively furnished. The room had a small flat screen television that got a couple English language channels, a writing desk, a closet and a small bathroom with one vanity and a tub/shower combination with glass enclosure. The water pressure in the shower was quite weak, but other than that, there wasn't much to complain about. Those who like larger hotel rooms should definitely look into a higher room category.

The best feature of the hotel was certainly the rooftop lounge and pool area and basement pool and spa area (including steam and sauna). These recreation areas offered different experiences--lots of sun on the roof and a sort of quiet zone in the basement--that we greatly appreciated after spending the day touring the city. There is a small but completely serviceable gym that looks onto the indoor pool in the basement. I would come here again solely because of the rooftop and basement recreation areas. I think few hotels in the city offer such a wide range of options for swimming and relaxing as this hotel does, particularly at this price point and in this central location.

Service was good--they made reservations at restaurants when we asked them to and aslo answered other questions that we had. Housekeeping was also seamless--they made a morning and evening visit to the rooms. Everything was spotless.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Ok i booked this hotel as a treat for my girlfriends birthday, and i thought it was excellent throughout. Stayed in 5* hotels around the world and have to say this up there with the best. I believe its the small things that make a hotel great. Arrived at 10am, room wasnt ready however they took my number and phoned me an hour later on my mobile to tell me room was ready for me. Fantastic room that overlooked the ramblas. Very spacious and all rooms have their own style. Had knock on the door in the afternoon to ask if we required any fresh towels even though we still had fresh ones from the morning. Staff very helpful throughout. Was given free cocktails on the wonderful roof terrace as bar staff were busy and apologised for delay in serving my drinks. Although its a fairly big hotel you are made to feel special.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntotheblueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We were 4 friends visiting Barcelona for 4 days. For the two of us it was our first visit to Barcelona. I can truly say that we all were very pleased with the hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. The room was large and very clean. We were also very pleased with the breakfast, and the tapas we had for lunch at the roof restaurant. The roof was an quiet oasis in the middel of the city. We would absolutly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrondheimNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I booked us at Hotel 1898 mostly on the strength of the reviews here. We were looking for comfort, style and a convenient location in Barcelona. I had phoned the hotel about a month in advance to let them know that our Delta flight would be arriving at 8am, well before check-in, and asked them to accommodate us. The second person I spoke with assured me it would be no problem. When we arrived we were told there was no way we could check in early and were basically told to amuse ourselves for three hours. We were not offered breakfast or even coffee - nothing. We sat in the lobby then moved to the rooftop when it opened, where we were simply ignored. You can't get just coffee up there, they make you order a very expensive full meal or nothing.

Our first day, the room was cleaned TWICE, which is great in a hotel of this caliber - I mean, we paid about $300 a night. The second day, the room was not even cleaned once, we arrived back at 7pm to no towels or clean sheets. We were not given an apology, just a lame excuse and not a very polite one at that. This time I said, "so, can you maybe buy us a drink or something so we have something to do while you clean our room?" We were given a voucher for the rooftop, which is indeed a nice place to hang out. But I would definitely characterize the staff as less than pleasant, especially when compared to most people in Barcelona, who are generally very kind and friendly to foreigners who are cool to them.

Our room itself was comfortable, but yes, the Rambla is EXTREMELY noisy. Please don't delude yourselves folks, even if the bars close at 3am the noise continues until dawn EVERY NIGHT (we were on the 4th floor and it actually kept us up even with the windows closed). If you are the partying kind it may be just the thing you want but we didn't dig it at all. Very popular hangout for football hooligan-types of every nationality. Also, the street is sprinkled with shady types and street kids, BE AWARE. The market is lovely, get your breakfast there instead of paying 22 euros (as of this writing, about 30 dollars) for a relatively decent breakfast. Loved the electric kettles in the rooms and the complementary tea and coffee.

We are an adventurous, but not ultra-partying couple in our 40s who came for the art, food and beautiful architecture. Next time we'll stay somewhere in the Born and I would recommend that if you have similar interests.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulumary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing