We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price for centrally located hotel”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2009

A great place to relax while still being in the heart of La Rambla and walking distance to many attractions/restaurants. Large room for Europe. Nice amenities. Basic pool/exercise room/spa. Parking garage incredible steep and windy. Staff adequate. Great rooftop bar. Computer and printer available free of charge. Don't waste money on breakfast or breakfast included or any packages.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacoba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,546)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1898
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,960 - 2,966 of 4,550 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2009

Located right on Las Ramblas, which is either a good or bad thing depending on what you're looking for. This is a very classy and well designed hotel. Rooms are very spacious and have all the finishing touches- robes, slippers, flat screen tv. We went in Winter and it was too cold for the rooftop pool, but we had a look and it would be fab in summer.
Very central and friendly- would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The staff was wonderful. They spoke English and was very social. The staff provided assistance regarding directions to various places, great sites; and recommendations to the best eateries, clubs, and shopping areas. I must say they were very accommodating. The rooftop bar was the highlight of the hotel, during our down time. The drinks were a little pricey. However, the view from the Roof Top was beautiful. The hotel was in the perfect location.

My only issue with the hotel is that the rooms were pretty small. However, this appears to be the norm with European hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We spent 5 nights at Hotel 1898, having chose it based on its location and great reviews on this site, and had a lovely stay. We were very fortunate to have a room ready for us upon our early arrival at 11:00am. The hotel staff was very friendly and provided good service overall.

The location is right on La Rambla, which is bustling at all hours (be aware of this when choosing a room facing the street). We were just a short walk to Plaza Catalunya, another busy area where you can find a number of shops, restaurants, tourist buses, and a metro station. We also found a number of restaurants along the side streets near our hotel. You can walk to the Barri Gotic area, which also offers great restaurants and sights. A bonus was having a supermarket a block from the hotel, but be aware it and many shops are closed on Sunday! We always felt safe, despite all of the reports of crime in the area.

The "classic" room itself was a bit small, but the bathroom was quite roomy and provided a nice variety of complimentary amenities. The maid service was excellent and the room was very clean. We had a really nice surprise and found a small terrace off our room (room 205- and all along our hall had them), so we were able to enjoy a bottle of wine night outside, enjoying the night air. The only downside was that our room backed up to a building with a restaurant, and we could hear the clanging sound of dishes and some voices on and off through the day and up until around midnight. We live in a small city, so these noises were not too disturbing.

We only had a few criticisms about the room involving its lack of a clock, no ironing board or iron, and minimal TV channels. We really enjoyed the hotel rooftop terrace/bar, although the service was a bit slow and distant. We didn't use the restaurant or spa, so I can't comment on them. The free wi-fi worked well.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a great stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This is well designed hotel in a central and convenient location. Located on the Ramblas and a short walk from the Raval and Barri Gotic, this hotel served as a convenient base for exploring Barcelona. We were booked in a "Classic" room, which was small but thoughtfully laid out and attractively furnished. The room had a small flat screen television that got a couple English language channels, a writing desk, a closet and a small bathroom with one vanity and a tub/shower combination with glass enclosure. The water pressure in the shower was quite weak, but other than that, there wasn't much to complain about. Those who like larger hotel rooms should definitely look into a higher room category.

The best feature of the hotel was certainly the rooftop lounge and pool area and basement pool and spa area (including steam and sauna). These recreation areas offered different experiences--lots of sun on the roof and a sort of quiet zone in the basement--that we greatly appreciated after spending the day touring the city. There is a small but completely serviceable gym that looks onto the indoor pool in the basement. I would come here again solely because of the rooftop and basement recreation areas. I think few hotels in the city offer such a wide range of options for swimming and relaxing as this hotel does, particularly at this price point and in this central location.

Service was good--they made reservations at restaurants when we asked them to and aslo answered other questions that we had. Housekeeping was also seamless--they made a morning and evening visit to the rooms. Everything was spotless.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Ok i booked this hotel as a treat for my girlfriends birthday, and i thought it was excellent throughout. Stayed in 5* hotels around the world and have to say this up there with the best. I believe its the small things that make a hotel great. Arrived at 10am, room wasnt ready however they took my number and phoned me an hour later on my mobile to tell me room was ready for me. Fantastic room that overlooked the ramblas. Very spacious and all rooms have their own style. Had knock on the door in the afternoon to ask if we required any fresh towels even though we still had fresh ones from the morning. Staff very helpful throughout. Was given free cocktails on the wonderful roof terrace as bar staff were busy and apologised for delay in serving my drinks. Although its a fairly big hotel you are made to feel special.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntotheblueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We were 4 friends visiting Barcelona for 4 days. For the two of us it was our first visit to Barcelona. I can truly say that we all were very pleased with the hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. The room was large and very clean. We were also very pleased with the breakfast, and the tapas we had for lunch at the roof restaurant. The roof was an quiet oasis in the middel of the city. We would absolutly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrondheimNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
882 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
2,067 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
732 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £156 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing