We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
ny, ny
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“AWESOME!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Just stay here. You will be thrilled.

The pics tell it all. loved everything from the locations, to the pool, to the service (english no problem), to just the look and feel.

Walk to everywhere. The vibrance of Barcelona is right out the door and even come into to the hotel with you as this is such a great spot.... I guess the ammenities are expesive but the only thing we cared for was the interest which was in-room Wi-Fi which was COMPLIMENTARY and FAST.

Travel Tip --- TAKE BLUE AEROBUS from airport (4.25 e, departs every 10-15 minutes from each terminal, and takes 20-20 minutes) right to Plaza Catalunaya... This is the lively hub of activty and is at the the begining of LA RAMBLA... just walk down La Rambla for 2 bloack and you are at the Hotel 1898... sooo easy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samdogNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,160
    857
    143
    52
    48
See reviews for
560
2,574
116
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

As good as it gets...Im affraid not. we stayed at this hotel and found it to be just average. the spar is nice after a day of walking, and the roof top breakfast was very good. the room was ok but not 5 star. Breakfast served in the resturant was cold, yes cold eggs, along with poor service and any additional food or drink taken on the roof is very expensive. their web site is not a good representation of how your stay will be. Clean and in a good location that all it has to offer, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrblain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 22 July 2016
Dear Mr. Blain,

First of all we would like to thank you for your time on TA sharing your opinion with us.
We would like to apologize if anything was not of your convenience. We take note to improve our service.

Also, we would like to mention that since you visited us we did change our breakfast buffet on the first floor and also many itemd of the rooms have been changed. As the furniture, mattress, TV and more.

We kindly ask you to give us a second chance if you come back to Barcelona to change your impression.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Just completed a 3 day stay at the 1898. Fantastic location for all of Barcelona's main sites. We walked everywhere and it was never more than a nice 30 minute stroll.

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooftop pool and deck area is a fantastic place to unwind but be warned the drink prices are high! We had a very good breakfast one morning on the rooftop and it was also pricey. The views however make you forget the cost.

Our room was always clean and the bed was very comfortable. We faced to the side street and had no problems with noise from the Ramblas at all. Bathroom was spacious and the room was a decent size as well. Only complaint was a foul ordor in the bathroom that came and went. Others have commented on it as well.

Couple of hints...Have breakfast at Cafe Lobo behind the hotel. Very good and not expensive. We also scored at a great outdoor cafe at Placa Real named Les Quinzenites. Marvelous food especially the chicken croquettes and a wonderful atmosphere. It's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

All in all an excellent value for the cost and a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getarounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Honestly, I am very surprised that this hotel only has 4 stars as it is more luxurious than many 5-star hotels! The standart room is reasonable in its size, has a great spacious bathroom. You can be dissapointed if you book superior room as it is just the same as standart one. The breakfast is a little bit expensive but very good. The Rambla is not very noisy - we were staying in standart room and we could not hear any noise from the street. The location of the hotel is really excellent!!! I was really amazed by colonial style of this hotel. I have stayed there only for 3 nights but I would like to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squirrel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

A great place to relax while still being in the heart of La Rambla and walking distance to many attractions/restaurants. Large room for Europe. Nice amenities. Basic pool/exercise room/spa. Parking garage incredible steep and windy. Staff adequate. Great rooftop bar. Computer and printer available free of charge. Don't waste money on breakfast or breakfast included or any packages.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacoba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

Located right on Las Ramblas, which is either a good or bad thing depending on what you're looking for. This is a very classy and well designed hotel. Rooms are very spacious and have all the finishing touches- robes, slippers, flat screen tv. We went in Winter and it was too cold for the rooftop pool, but we had a look and it would be fab in summer.
Very central and friendly- would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

The staff was wonderful. They spoke English and was very social. The staff provided assistance regarding directions to various places, great sites; and recommendations to the best eateries, clubs, and shopping areas. I must say they were very accommodating. The rooftop bar was the highlight of the hotel, during our down time. The drinks were a little pricey. However, the view from the Roof Top was beautiful. The hotel was in the perfect location.

My only issue with the hotel is that the rooms were pretty small. However, this appears to be the norm with European hotels.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#12 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing