We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied”
Review of Hotel Marvi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marvi
Ranked #332 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Pros: Very very clean (they cleaned and changed towels, toilet paper, shampoos every day). Very comfortable room (big room and bathroom, also had a mini desk). Very good location, in the centre (just in front of a central metro station, but you could easily go in so many places on foot). Very friendly and helpful staff (spoke english, made you feel very comfortable, helped you with the city, plus when we booked the room and the credit card didn't work, they suggested immediately that we pay them when we arrived). They had a place to leave your baggages on your last day as long as you wanted (since our flight was late). Had wifi and we used it just fine, but i'm not sure it would satisfy someone who would need internet for work or many hours.

Cons: Poor breakfast. No mini fridge in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpapag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    213
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
56
165
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed five nights in Hotel Marvi. Great location just five mins walk from Las Ramblas. Good wifi connection, clean room, very helpful receptionist. As per other reviews the breakfast is basic (coffee, juice, bread, small portion of fruit) but it's better than nothing! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank durx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel-Islands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hotel Marvi is in a really good position. Walk out of the entrance to the hotel, turn right along the street and Plaza Catalunya is at the end of it; just a few minutes easy walk away. When you are there you will also be at the top of the attractive and famous Las Ramblas, the wide, tree-lined street which leads down to the Port (Barcelona City slopes gently down towards the sea).
Hotel Marvi is a clean, well-run, 2 star hotel with access to the reception desk on the first floor by the stairs or the lift. The reception desk is manned 24/7. When you go out, you leave the key at reception, you don`t take it with you. If you return later in the evening the door is likely to be locked so you press the buzzer and look at the camera lens and they will open the door for you - then you pick up your key from the receptionist who speaks English.
As a single traveller I was fortunate to have use of a twin bedded room with an en-suite bathroom, both of which were very clean. Soap, shampoo and tissues were supplied as well as a hair dryer. There was a TV in the room but I could only get one English channel, The room had a safe but you have to pay a deposit at reception to get a key but you get the money back when you return the key as you check out at the end of your visit.
By the way, if, like me, your flight is in the afternoon and you want to spend the morning in the city, the hotel has a room next to reception where you can leave your luggage for collection later. The guys on reception are really helpful and do everything they can to meet your needs.
I have read many of the reviews about this hotel and a frequent comment has been that the breakfast is a very basic continental one. This is true but you have to put it into perspective ......... hotels in most busy, tourist cities tend to be on the pricey side, even the "cheaper" ones. You can stay in hostels in Barcelona and some of them are more expensive than the hotel Marvi. I have stayed in two similar Barcelona hotels in the past and the breakfasts have all been basic. If you want something better you have to pay more for your hotel, its as simple as that.
I shall be visiting Barcelona again within the next 18 months and I expect to book into the Hotel Marvi again.
Thank you all at Hotel Marvi for your attention and help, you have got it right!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the building (mine was 205) as these rooms are quieter and face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights recently in this hotel and to be honest I'm quite disappointed with it. Yes it is in a good location but this is the case for many hotels around the area. I stayed in different hotels in Barcelona before, again central, cheaper and in better quality.
The hotel is very old, looks like a dormitory. The bed sheets had several holes in them. Even if the rooms are clean it does not show it as there are many stains. At least they can paint the walls which look really dirty. The breakfast is another low point. It's just bread and pre sliced fruit. No proper coffee, no cheese, nothing! You have to drop the keys to the reception all the time, there was 24 hours staff and they were friendly and helpful.
Overall when I'm next in the city I will find a better hotel for this price range.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel Marvi is in fantastic location 2 minutes walk from La Ramblas and Plaza Catulunya.
We got the Aerobus from the airport costing 5.80euros. The stop is Universitat ( third stop - ask the driver to tell you the stop as there are no notifications on the bus to tell you which stop). To get back to airport we took the Aerobus again from placa Catulunya which is 5 mins walk from hotel Marvi.
The Universitat metro station is in front of the hotel , we chose to walk most places to enjoy as much of the city as possible - we walked to Sagrada Familia in 25mins, La Padrera(Casa Mila), Casa Batlo and famous placa de Gracia in 20mins. Magic fountains was 20 minutes walk.
Our room was on first floor facing the street and right next to the reception desk - it was a little noisy but fine for me, for light sleepers maybe a room on the higher floor would be more suitable. The decor in the room is a bit dated but everything was clean and spotless which is what matters most to me.
The breakfast is very basic -: coffee, a little sponge cake, prepacked toast with choice of two jams, orange juice(not pure juice I think) and prepacked fruit with four pieces of chopped fruit. It is ok if you just want to grab something quickly, there are lots of little cafes nearby who do cooked breakfasts costing under 10euros.
The staff were all friendly and spoke good English and always willing to help with directions. At night the entrance is looked and guests are buzzed in by reception. Room keys are left with reception when you leave hotel.
For the price, location, cleanliness and staff - I would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Light sleepers try higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Marvi Hotel is centrally located near Plaza de Catalunya.
Hotel is basic with clean small and very basic rooms. Street is noisy all day, which is the case with central hotels. Next to it is subway station and all buses that can take you anywhere in Barcelona. Breakfast is very basic. This hotel is good for tourists who want a night or two in a hotel that is in the centre and is not expensive. Reception person was extremely helpful and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrAbdallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We only stayed one night and arrived very late. The staff were friendly and the 24 hour reception good. The breakfast was very basic, continental bread roll and jam. The rooms were clean and had all the basics necessary, however ours was very smoky. An excellent facility of free luggage storage is provided after checkout so that you can go and explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank CJ_sunshine_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#372 of 513 in Barcelona
327 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#224 of 513 in Barcelona
838 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#215 of 513 in Barcelona
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#238 of 513 in Barcelona
733 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#197 of 513 in Barcelona
763 reviews
Eixample
Gran Ducat Hotel
Gran Ducat Hotel
#374 of 513 in Barcelona
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marvi

Property: Hotel Marvi
Address: Calle Pelayo 6, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marvi 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are provided with central air conditioning and heating, safe box, complete bathroom, public digital TV and direct phone lineChildren minor than 12 years-old don't pay, older are considered adults.Baby cot for free (under availability)■air conditioning■Wake-up Service■Daily cleaning service■Hairdryer■Wi-Fi For Free ■Television■Iron and ironing board (on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvi Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Marvi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing