We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #3 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is down a side street off the main street. It is in a quiet but very handy location. You can walk (5 minutes) to the main square and the hop on hop off buses. Plenty of shops and restaurants all within 5-10 minutes walk. Extremely friendly, helpful welcome. We arrived at 11.00am from our cruise and they were able to check us in immediately. The hotel has subdued lighting throughout and is modern, clean and trendy. The bedrooms are a reasonable size and freeflow into the bathroom (there is no door), however the toilet is separate and has a door. There is a large shower. There is no bar fridge in the room as non alcoholic drinks and snacks are available 24 hours per day in the lobby area free of charge. The bedroom has plenty of room. The bed was strange. There is no headboard, instead two very large pillows are used as the headboard and then two long thin pillows to actually sleep on. We found this uncomfortable and removed the large pillows and pushed the mattress up against the wall. Across the corridor from your room is a mini lounge for our exclusive use. It has a couch, a small table, a chair and a hammock in the room as well as another tv (one in bedroom too). We didn't really use this room as hammocks not for us and couch a bit hard. Would be good for families although a larger couch would be better. Overall it is a lovely hotel, with great staff, reasonable breakfast and fabulous location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    197
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
363
953
101
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Right in the centre of things but tucked into a quiet street with all bedrooms backing onto a courtyard. Very helpful staff, Terrace upstairs was ace, as was the free snacks + drinks. Loved the lounge area of the room.

Room Tip: All rooms good, go for more expensive one for a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Have to write an excellent review of this hotel.
Location: excellent. Located on a pedestrian only street 3 minutes from La Ramblas. Very quiet rooms with an effort toward insulating you from any outside noise.

Staff: Excellent. Multilingual and very fluent. Incredibly knowledgable and enthusiastically friendly.

Feel/ambience: Modern but not minimalistic. Comfortable with all the amenities (first hotel in all of Spain to have conditioner) including robes, a sparse workout facility and plenty of outlets for charging our phones and tablets. Bikes provided for guest use, as well.

Unique features: Many rooms have a bedroom/bathroom with separate sitting area with pullout bed across the hall. Sounds weird but is very cool. Our teenage son loved the space with included hammock, and we loved the minutes privacy. Also, breakfast is served in a small food court area with made to order dishes available. After breakfast service is completed, the area becomes a self service snack bar with prepared sandwiches, hot soup, coffees, fresh bread, juices, soft drinks and much more. All "free" and available 24 hours a day. Yes, this could substitute for lunch and dinner quite easily. Alcohol is also available 24 hrs. This is all a wonderful substitute to the traditional mini bar concept.

Price: the quotation marks around free above simply eludes to the fact that this place is not cheap and some of the service is certainly recovered in the base price. But staff and amenities are top grade and, if used to full effect, the food service could save you 100€ per day. Have fun. 4 stars only because 5 are reserved for four seasons, mandarin, ritz carlton, etc., for me.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurofunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

In the heart of the old town in Barcelona. This trendy accommodation has a statement to say. Extremely friendly stuff, helpful and generous . You will get your room which is very clean and nice but you get as well an additional complementary lounge. You can enjoy as well the free snack area in the main lounge while you will be planing your day trip. It s not cheap , but once you want to pamper yourself in Barcelona , you know now where to go .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Schashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location app.two blocks from the top of the Ramblas. Reservations include either a suite or a totally quiet bedroom with included sitting room across the hall where someone could sleep. After breakfast, they prepare delicious salads, sandwiches, wraps, and snacks free for guests to enjoy anytime during the day. The people who work there are exceptionally friendly and accomodating! Very highly recommend. Casa Camper may be pricey (like many things in Barcelona), but the service and the complimentary food would save a family a lot of money, especially if traveling with children. Ask for directions before arrival because the taxi driver will drop you off at a usually pedestrian-only street and it may be confusing. Reserve one of their bikes for touring the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TNlikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Camper in April & were more than happy with the hotel. The rooms were quirky - we loved looking out over courtyard of potted plants, & the separate sitting room was a bonus to enjoy after a day out in Barcelona. The location is excellent as a base for exploring the city, & the all day buffet kept us going. The kitchen team provide excellent & interesting snacks, & truly delicious breakfasts. Overall, we would highly recommend the hotel & would definitely stay again! It has to be said that the best feature of this hotel is the service - the hotel team are great & made our stay memorable. Special thanks to Georgiana & Alessandro.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Casa Camper simply ticks all the boxes for a tourist in Barcelona. It obviously prides itself on being a small boutique hotel and understands that service to guests is paramount.

Most importantly, the staff clearly realize their importance to travellors and were spectacularly good. When we arrived, I made some general enquiries about how to visit Sitges by train. I was provided with a map with the stations marked and advises as how to get there. The next time I passed the reception, I was given (without having asked) an envelope containing a train timetable for the Barcelona/Sitges train and return. They could not have been more helpful generally or given a greater appearance of enjoying their work and of wanting to help. They are also blessed with the cheeriest chef I have ever come across.

The position is excellent. It is only a short distance from La Ramblas and train stations. Many Barcelona sights can be reached on foot. Taxi's are quick and cheap and on our limited use, the trains were fine. Our room was quiet despite being on a low floor overlooking the street.

The promised 24 hour snacks were far better than the feared stale sandwiches and a cup of tea. They consisted of real variety including a daily changing menu of wraps and similar, soft drink, water, or coffee or tea. A cooked breakfast was also provided.

The down-sides were mere quibbles. The rooms are very red and the lighting is moderate. Also in the everlasting dispute with my wife, she found the bed too hard while I thought it was great. (It doesnt matter where we go, the bed is either too hard for her or too soft for me).

The price for what was provided was exceptionally moderate. We certainly hope to visit Barcelona again and would not stay anywhere else if this was available.

Room Tip: The suites have more space and probably more light in the bedroom without the inconvenience of cross...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona

Property: Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Address: Carrer Elisabets 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Camper Barcelona
Barcelona Casa Camper Hotel
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing