We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is only one place to stay in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2006

This is the third trip i have used tripadvisor to help pick my hotel. Each trip has been a roaring success. My advice would be that if you cannot get a room in Casa Camper, rebook your flights to a day you can get a room.

Casa camper is run by the friendliest (and some of the prettiest) people in Spain. This is in stark contrast to the museum staffwho are generally curt and unhelpful (but not necessarily ugly). The hotel is spotlessly clean. You use your keycard to access the lobby. This safeguards a multitude of free snacks available 24hours a day. The central location allows you to drop shopping bags off, and recharge on salads, juice and redbull in the process. Alteratively take a trayful of food upto the 6th floor to relax on the terrace, or take it across the corridor from you room, where everyone has their own individual mini lounge for reading about Barcelona in the provided colour guidebook, lying in the hammock or lazing on the foldout sofa (which could accommodate a third sleeping person).Try the camper owned Foodballs cafe two doors down once you've emptied the kitchen of its delights.

Your room has the perfect shower experience. There are trendy hotel slippers, flat screen TVs, a radio, safe and bizarrely a step ladder in the room.

Only complaints are that the beds were twin, but were easily pushed together. It took me 2 days to work out the light switches and how to unplug the basin (little knob behind the tap!). I also read somewhere that the rooms have a CD player, so i brought some discs. This was the not the case, but i didn't have time to listen to them anyway.

Holidaysnaps and hotel pics are available on my website via www.shoddyweasel.com

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank zchav52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 1,942 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cork, Ireland
115
Reviewed 2 May 2006

We decided to treat ourselves as we usually go low budget and we are so glad we did. The hotel is wonderful and everything said about the staff is true. The little details and the quirky design is what firstly appealed to us, but, the friendly staff, wonderful food and relaxed atmosphere were the icing on the cake. The location is fantastic, don't even consider getting a cab from the airport, hop on the bus and for €3.75 it takes you directly to Place de Catalunya. From there, stroll down La Rambla and it is literally the 2nd right which is a little alleyway called Plaça dels À'ngels that is very safe. Keep going and you will end up on Carrer Elisabets which is where the hotel is. It takes about 5 minutes to walk from Place de Catalunya.
Back to the hotel! The showers are heaven (a small but often overlooked part of hotels). We loved looking out to the garden of plants in the morning and it is completely private. We rarely used the room across the hall but it is nice. The only down side was that our beds were 2 single beds which we didn't realise and I'm not sure was there an option of a double. The terrace is lovely to relax on in the evenings with the sun shining down on you and you can bring snacks from the bar up which is great. The food was fantastic and all free and the soup was home made. The breakfast was delicious too. All in all we loved casa camper and we will return there without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2006

Just got back from a 4 day stay at the Casa Camper. We booked the hotel on the strength of the reviews on this site and were not disappointed.

It has a superb location in a quiet street just off La Rambla. The staff are excellent. Nothing is too much trouble and if you are happy to do your own thing they are happy to let you. A major pluspoint for us is that it is a non-smoking hotel. In a country where it seems it is compulsary that you smoke this is truly superb.

The rooms are different. We had a suite which comprised a living room, a bedroom and a bathroom and we found it very modern and very luxurious.

A particularly nice touch is the free snacks. 24*7 you can get free tea, coffee, soup, soft drinks, fruit and snacks. This is particularly nice if you pop back to the hotel at points during the day.

There is a terrace on the roof which is nice to just sit and chill. The view isn't the best but that's hardly the fault of the hotel.

One particular nice touch was on checking out in the morning we asked about leaving our luggage as we had a late flight. This, as in most hotels, was no problem, however, they told us that on our return we could still help ourselves to the free snacks. This kind of customer service goes a long way to explaining why they are so highly rated.

We would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank AAA Trip Advisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2006

I can't add any more than the other reviewers. This is the best experience of staying in a hotel that I have ever had, and I've stayed in a fair old few, including a 5* in Barcelona on a previous trip. Everything is so well thought out, and all the details made our stay just perfect, the only problem was enjoying the hotel and the room as much as we did that we were in danger of never leaving the front door and exploring all that Barcelona has to offer! The 24 hour free cafe is fantastic, I wasn't expecting such variety and quailty of food - to the extent that we didn't explore the local tapas bars as much as we expected as we always seemed to be within easy reach of the hotel!

If you want a bog standard corporate soulless hotel with the usual trappings such as a mini bar in the room and gym or swimmimg pool, then this probably won't be for you. If you want a 'quirky' ambiance, perfect location, excellent personal service with friendly, helpful staff, rooms that provide everything you could ever want including the most comfortable bed ever, then you will not do better than Casa Camper.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2006

I can confirm virtually all of the previous reviewers comments. We arrived tired after a difficult trip from the airport, trains are not operating normally from El Prat at the moment, and were welcomed with a friendly intro and the opportunity to grab free drinks. The rooms are as good as described, though if you are someone who likes fabrics and freebies, you will be disappointed.

The roof terrace is very pleasant and gives a good view over some of the city. However, if you are seeking an escape from the piped music, it is louder here than in the lobby.

Some reviewers have underplayed the snacks, in my opinion. If you like organic juices, salads, sandwiches and home made soup, this is your kind of place. The only drawback to this is that they are so good we were tempted to eat in on a couple of nights and did not sample what the city had to offer. My tip would be the organic mandarin juice and the Vichy Catalan - possibly an acquired taste.

Staff are young, pleasant and mulit-lingual. My wife tells me the young men must have been selected for looks as well as ability but I don't feel fully qualified to judge. At any rate all staff will take time to discuss your stay and give you excellent advice.

I only have 2 quibbles. Firstly we couldn't get our air conditioning to work on the first night and neither could the hotel staff. (You can open a window but those skaters don't let up until the early hours of the morning.) Secondly, it was slightly expensive for a three star hotel - though we had a suite so you could stay more cheaply. That said , if you were staying with childern it would work out very well.

My final point would be to agree with others that this is a little like staying in a friend's flat whilst they are away, in all the best ways. If you seeking a relaxing, friendly, centrally located hotel and don't mind paying a little more for it, than this is an ideal hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TomSleaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2006

Have just returned from a three-night stay at Casa Camper. We booked it after reading the reviews on this site and were expecting to be disappointed as I couldn’t believe it could be that good! It was. Everything about the hotel was excellent; it’s very cool (without being overly modern) well located, quiet, clean and with the biggest most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, we arrived a little early but our room was ready, and checked out after lunch (as our flight was not until mid afternoon) and none of this was any problem.
It’s the little things that make it the best hotel I have stayed in though. Free computer and internet access, all day food and drink, an enormous shower, a separate living room overlooking the pretty street (see photo) and best of all a tiny permanently illuminated light by the toilet so you can visit in the night without having to fumble for a light switch. Genius!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Baggie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2006

My wife, daughter (16) and I stayed at Casa Camper from 06-10 April 2006 primarily due to the reviews posted on Trip Advisor. We couldn't have been more pleased. Some specifics:

1. Service - We had an overnight flight from JFK to BCN and reserved the room for a day rate so we could sleep when we arrived. We had three people and the lounge was not made up as a bed. The staff did that immediately (within five minutes). That response is typical of the service you will receive. Gemma, at the front desk, was particularly helpful in getting us dinner rreservations and giving us maps. Quick point: mention "La Rambla" to the taxi driver at the airport if they don't know the location, as ours didn't.

2. The Room - is very quiet, despite the location so close to La Rambla. It is also extremely functional. The wall has 27 hooks (I counted them) for hanging various objects. By the sink is a double-paned window that opens into a courtyard with six floors of large plants, which make it very pleasant when you use the sink. At night, a green industrial louver comes down and that makes the room very dark and excellent to sleep in. The shower is overhead, large and has plenty of hot water. I used the lounge to sleep in while the ladies had the bed. It worked out just fine. You can try the hammock in the lounge if you wish. Final point - check out the roof. The view is wonderful.

3. Food - Breakfast was much better than most other hotels where we have stayed. Eggs are cooked to order. Fresh fruits are sliced thin. There are a variety of croissants and breads. The food area is used as a snack bar from 1100 on. This is a great idea. We used it for a late snack once and it worked out well.

4.Location - For walking tours off La Rambla, it is terrific. It is also close to the tourist buses, which I would recommend. Finally, there are a good number of restaurants within walking distance. We ate at La Cariocoles and La Fonda, both on Carrer dels Escudellers. The latter prix fixe is a good bargain. Line up at 2015 for a table. El Pinafor was more formal. Get a reservation here. Sagardi, Carrer Argenteria near the Cathedral, has excellent tapas.

5.Trip Advisor - We found this hotel through Trip Advisor. It was an excellent choice. We found the previous reviews to be very helpful, and hope this one is helpful also. We are two for two with Trip Advisor (Paris - Hotel Saint Louis Bastille) and will continue to use this service.

33  Thank jacknavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 517 in Barcelona
324 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 517 in Barcelona
1,419 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 517 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 517 in Barcelona
480 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 517 in Barcelona
1,793 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 517 in Barcelona
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona

Address: Carrer Elisabets 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#1 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £173 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Camper Barcelona
Barcelona Casa Camper Hotel
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing