We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“*** +”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunotel Aston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunotel Aston
Ranked #362 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“*** +”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

+ Location good, quite near supermarket, underground stop, cafés, restaurants.
+ Sunbathing area was small but enough to get a nice tan.
+ Clean room.
+ Staff was quite helpful.
+ WiFi in your room and free!

- Swimming pool's water was very cold.
- Sheets weren't changed in a 5-day trip
- Bed was hard, but after a long day you just fall asleep so it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    172
    139
    52
    29
See reviews for
63
215
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

The people who work here are so helpful and friendly, so we think of this hotel quite fondly, even though the beds are less than comfortable and the elevator sound is constant (a deep swishing sound, not too annoying but it's hard to ignore).
When we complained about the bed after the first night, the management immediately moved us to a better room. Ok, so the next bed wasn't much better, but we improvised with blankets/padding and the maids knew not to mess with our careful set-up for the rest of our stay.
They offered to give us an even bigger room if we weren't happy with the second room, but we decided to stay put since the hotel is not the place to spend time in Barcelona. They cleaned extremely thoroughly, were very polite/unobtrusive. No nice views from this hotel (from what we could tell)
Another perk is the cafe at the corner- where one can sit outside and enjoy delicious pastries and sandwiches...the orange juice will set you back about 13 US dollars. (so good though!)

Overall, we would recommend this hotel for budget travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for help is you need anything, the staff is very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel,breakfast is good,rooms are clean,better to choose backside room because of noisy street,metro is close to hotel,close to street diagonal,close to nou camp,we asked to change room in two minutes they give us another room,good service!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travel_points_059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

we stayed in Sunotel Aston for 7 nights.
The accommodations was OK. clean, quite, no balcony, right next to a street.
Staff was kind a very helpful.
the only problem is bit far from the central city(Ramblas), you can go by the metro 7 min walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nizar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The accommodations at the Sunotel Anston were a bit modest, but the staff more than made up for it. The rooms were dated with the basic amenities, but it was extremely clean. The general area around the hotel was safe with lots of restaurants nearby, and walking distance to shopping! The hotel was reasonably priced and a good value, but If you're looking for an upscale hotel for your visit, this hotel is not for you. However, if you are on a budget and plan to be out and about exploring this beautiful city, than this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked this hotel as part of an airfare/hotel package. The front desk staff were very helpful. They gave us suggestions for dinner, flamenco shows and how to get to the town center by bus. The room was spacious (which surprised me because most European hotel rooms are the size of a shoe box). Plus, we could get to the town center by bus (stop was across the street). We opted for daily breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised by the nice selection. We did walk to the town center from the hotel and that took about 30 minutes or so. It was a good walk and was a great way to get some cardio into the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JK_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

My mum booked this hotel for me and my boyfriend. what can I say! It's such a beautiful place for me, and for him too. It's cheap enough, food was great, staff were very kind and attentive. Nice rooms... convenient location...
I think you wouldn't regret if you booked this hotel.
Greetings from Russia =)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherokee805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#356 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#366 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#231 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Glories
Hotel Glories
#317 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
#298 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunotel Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunotel Aston

Property: Sunotel Aston
Address: Calle Paris 101, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunotel Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunotel Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Aston Hotel Barcelona
Aston Hotel Barcelona
Aston Barcelona
Barcelona Aston
Sunotel Aston Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing