We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercer House Boria BCN
Ranked #301 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Steventon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a lovely stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

On arriving at the other mercer we discovered that we ( well HE ) had accidently booked us in here instead . The lovely staff at the Mercer . ( not BoriA ) still gave us a glass of cava and escorted us on the short walk here / We were rather apprhensive but our fears were not realisd as we upgraded to a suite ( 302 ) and enjoyed our stay . The staff were very helpful in getting taxis to the door and were genearally very pleasant . Breakfast was included but as others have said you could get cheaper elsewhere ,but we enjoyed our eggs on toast made fresh by the breakfast lady .
Some noise one night but we were so tired and slept so well that it wasn't a problem ! brilliant location . No bar or restaurant or pool here which is why we wanted the othe \mercer but The resaurant there is not open on sundays nights like a lot of places in Barcelona . Would be happy to stay here again . The only thing i waas uncomfortable with was that when we left our luggage as our flight was evevning . It was left in the reception area , althought a receptionist was there all the time we did come back once and find no-one actually at the desk and were let in by another guest coming out . so there is potential for theft .I think they should find a room or secure space at the back . We loved B arcelona. thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    74
    23
    11
    11
See reviews for
84
65
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

As the title suggests, this hotel is in a great location for most things but particularly for the port area which is lovely; but generally the hotel is in a great location to walk to most places. We had a junior suite on the 4th floor - this was very big and spacious with a separate kitchenette and a separate fridge and freezer, handy if you need to use them, we didn't as we were staying b&b. The hotel room however was very dark with not much natural light and the lighting was inadequate. The rooms are also in need of some care. And although we had a room on the 4th floor it was still very noisy (but then people in Barcelona like to party, especially Fri & Sat night) - it felt like we were with the 'crowd' of people at floor level singing "let's get this party started" at 2am one morning! The terrace above the 4th floor is also not nice at all. The breakfast is also ok and just average - not sure if its worth E15 each! For example, there is fruit to eat but no knives to cut it up with - how we were expected to cut an orange or kiwi fruit without a knife I don't know? The lady who is in the kitchen had to cut our fruit for us in the end. The breakfast facilities are also inadequate - there are simply not enough tables or chairs to accommodate everyone, when the hotel is full, which it was on Saturday. You need assistance if you want to use the hot water/tea/coffee maker. There was only one small toaster; and one salt & pepper shaker - if anyone is having eggs, which were lovely and made by the lady in the kitchen, then it would be good not to have to share salt & pepper. But there is sufficient cereal; bread rolls; yoghurt and bits of ham, cheese and also eggs, if you want them. A positive to the location of the hotel is that there is a newish tapas bar that also sells wine (called Can Cisa or Bar Brutal) - the tapas they serve is different to most places that are serving tapas. The food is quality and freshly cooked. None of your bits of stuff on a stick. Of course with that comes a price tag - but if you like and appreciate good food; coupled with some lovely organic wine (which again is not as cheap as other bars), this is a great place and it also has a great atmosphere. We loved Barcelona, loved this area and would definitely go back to Barcelona, but probably not back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLSWIRRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husban and me were in this hotel during our honeymoon in November 2013 for 3 nights. It was a great time :)
Hotel has a perfect location - very close to everywhere!! Metro is only 1 minutes from the hotel, Rambla street is 700m from the hotel, on the beach or in port you are in very short but very nice walking tour :) Around the hotel is really a lot of shops, bars and restraurants.

Staff was very nice - they help us with the information about tickets and sightseeings.
Breakfast - nice small breakfast room with kind lady (cook) who will take care about you and will cook you eggs, coffee or tea. Every day was ham, a lot of sweets, jam, cheese,..
Room was modern, very clean and nice. Only little bit more dark (only a few lights). Also the bath room was OK.

I can only recommend this hotel in the centre of Barcelona.

Room Tip: I think that is not better to book rooms with window to the main street. It would be more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetrunaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here on Oct 13 for 4 nights and had a junior suite. The room was really lovely, clean and well appointed. Only minor downside was that the room was a little on the dark side and I needed the lights on in the lounge area even during the day. With 2 small balconies and a kitchenette I had a great stay. Reception and breakfast staff attentive and helpful. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Traveling with my family (mother and sister) we arrived late at night. As others mentioned the taxi driver wasn't sure where to enter and brought us through a slightly seedy looking area. While the hotel is not for everyone, those looking for a boutique style that is unique, small, and personable, this is absolutely the place for you. We stayed in the loft on the fourth floor in a larger beautiful room with high ceilings. The front desk manager Edurne was EXTREMELY helpful, kind, and warm. She made the experience great, giving us wonderful recommendations and easing my moms nerves about the area. The hotel is central, comfortable, and unique. I'd stay here again over a chain hotel in a heartbeat. Those looking for looking comforts of a larger hotel chain won't find it here. Those who don't enjoy large hotel chains- you'll love this place.

Room Tip: As for the loft on the 4th floor if traveling with more than 2 ppl. Large with beautiful high ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisf345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here 4/10/13 for 2 nights and were expecting a small luxurious 4* boutique hotel...not so! Tiny room, air con broken, light bulbs not working and bathroom door that required your full body weight to open or close due to warped flooring. We couldn't work out quite how no one had noticed these drawbacks! There was no fridge, mini bar, telephone,and little enthusiasm from the staff to help. A free breakfast was offered as the hotel was full and we couldn't change rooms hardly made up for any one of the problems.
Finally it was impossible to tell if it was morning or night as there was no natural light in our bijoux room..no decent lighting made it an effort to even read a book by torchlight!

The good points..the location was great but there are plenty more hotels in the vicinity worth a try before this one!

Room Tip: Reading everyone else's reviews book a suite, but we still wouldn't chance it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We loved the location, perfect for couples. Walking distance from great food and shopping feels like the trendy "lower east side" of new york. BIG room, very beautiful and clean inside. Wish we could stay longer. It felt like our private apartment! We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Small elevator, we usually took the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#106 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#21 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#142 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#262 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#67 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#43 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer House Boria BCN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer House Boria BCN

Property: Mercer House Boria BCN
Address: Calle Boria, 24-26, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#166 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#181 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercer House Boria BCN 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Mercer House Boria BCN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boria Bcn Barcelona
Boria Bcn Hotel Barcelona
Mercer House Boria BCN Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing