We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercer House Boria BCN
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Suizo(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Gotico(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Jaume I(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Casameva(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
116
81
25
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
81
25
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomfull kitchengothic quarterpicasso museumel bornseparate bedroomroof terracesperfect locationshops etcborn districtnarrow streetssecond bedroomtiny elevatora small boutique hotelgreat boutiqueupgraded to a suitebarcelona cathedral
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked this hotel even after reading some not so favourable reviews, but as these seemed to be in the minority we were content to proceed.
We were really pleased that we went with our instinct. The hotel really is a hidden gem. Situated well within the Gothic Area and a maze of small alleyways is a fantastic little hotel, don’t be put off by Google Street View, the lanes are not narrow and drab as depicted but as you would expect for an historic area of the city.
The hotel itself was far better than we expected. Every member of staff we had the pleasure to meet was courteous, friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and local area; in fact, we were recommended what turned out to be our best meal by a staff member.
The room was really clean and what is becoming more rare now, there were no little niggles or nuances with it.
We had breakfast included, the chef and the breakfast area were of the same high standard. If you go to Barcelona, which itself is a wonderful city, I would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director de Recepción at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

I want to personally thank you for sharing with us and with our future guests your excellent stay at the Mercer Bòria BCN.

I am very proud to know that our staff help you all the time and enjoyed our breakfast show cooked. Your comments encourage us to improve daily. Thank you again for your kindly comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Edurne Oyarbide
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On our recent 2-week trip through Europe, our family stayed at the Boria BCN. The location was perfect and we loved our stay. The winding alleyways made for interesting exploring of cafes and shops for parents and teenagers alike, and it was walkable to the Picasso museum. The front desk staff was so calming and helpful in providing directions and assistance. Our room was clean and spacious (which had not been our experience in other cities or hotels on our trip). We hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KingArthursGhos... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director de Recepción at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for sharing with us your great comment.

We like to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercer Hotel Boria Bcn. I will get your feedback to the entire team.

We hope to see you soon at Mercer Boria BCN.

Thank you!

Warm regards

Edurne Oyarbide
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Boria BCN last week for 4 nights. The hotel is in a perfect location. The Metro is across the road & a stop for the tourist bus is around the corner. Also walking distance from some excellent cafés & restaurants. The hotel is superb. We stayed in the Superior Double & it was huge! A very stylish room which was extremely comfortable. If we ever go back to Barcelona we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director de Recepción at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your great comments. These encourage us to continue working in the right direction.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon at the Mercer Boria Bcn

Warm regards

Edurne Oyarbide
Fornt Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week in the Mercer Boria. A great location at the edge of the gothic quarter and walking distance to many major attractions.Spoilt for choice for bars / restaurants.

Room was big and comfortable.Staff were extremely friendly & helpful and assisted us with directions / restaurant and taxi bookings.

The location of the hotel in a narrow "old world" street does mean there is noise at night mainly at the weekends. This was not an issue for us.

I would also point out that the hotel appears to have worked hard to resolve any issues in any earlier negative reviews.The wifi for example is excellent.

All in all an superb base for our family holiday and we would happily return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hector M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director de Recepción at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Sir

It is a pleasure to receive comments like yours.We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
As you have realized, thanks to the opinions of our customers, we have improved all that is in our hands, as beds, pillows, wifi, etc... and we are currently taking the soundproofing in some of our rooms.

Thank you very much!

Hope to see you again in Mercer Boria Bcn

Warm regards

Edurne
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We loved your hotel! What a neat boutique hotel you have created, and a perfect location for our family to base out of for our summer visit to Barcelona. Really neat area of Barcelona, close to everything, very easy to find you way around via foot or subway. Your front desk assistants were wonderful, thanks for all of the help and assistance. You were a bit hard to find as no real signage, but with google maps, and peeking into the window, then asking, we found you. Just a hint, if you are tall, some of the ceilings/doorways in our large 2 room family room, are a bit lower than usual, and our oldest son is (who is 6'5"), had to watch his head. When we go back to Barcelona, we will definitely stay with you again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13Francesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesc H, Director de Recepción at Mercer House Boria BCN, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Madam

Thanks for your comments so positive. Comments like yours encourage us to keep working hard to offer our customers an unforgettable stay in Barcelona.

Thank you!

Hope to see you again in Mercer Boria Bcn

Warm regards

Edurne
Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews