We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”
Review of Barcelo Montserrat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barcelo Montserrat
Ranked #392 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 5 August 2006

Our holiday here was spoiled by the fact that despite how this hotel is advertised it is totally inaccessable by public transport. We did not have a car but booked for 4 nights thinking we could use the local train station to explore Barcelona and surrouding areas = THIS IS NOT THE CASE. Taxis cost up to 20 Euro to the nearest train station so it would have been much better if the hotel had available a courtesy bus or taxi service. One evening we had a couple of drinks in the local town of Sant Esteve Sesovries and had to rely on the police station to find us a taxi back to this hotel. This was only 10pm. On trying to discuss this with the manager we found him to be very defensive and unhelpful = not willing to accept any responsibility . We would never stay here again or recommend that independant travellers without their own transport stay here either. In fact we booked elsewhere for our 4th night thereby cutting short our stay as we could not get around.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingawarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2006

I was with my friends in Barcelona, and we really wanted a hotel with a view, golf wasnt that important. But good food and hot people. And seriously at first we doubted it- But the girls at this hotel, and the girls that work @ this hotel are amazing!- We found the accomodations perfect, the food is great Great buffet, im a fan of luxury foods, and the food is very good.. Hotel's decor is nice, big. somewhere to hang out in the middle of the night if your like us.. Lots of young people. Were from miami florida.. and we felt pretty satisfied here.. A++

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MrMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
St Andrews,Scotland
13
Reviewed 3 June 2006

Stayed for 4 nights before taking a cruise from Barcelona. Please note this hotel is quite difficult to find and is secluded area-EXACTLY what we wanted but not for everyone. Rooms are first class with great contemporary decor and huge bathroom/dressing areas. Pool area was great too and always quiet. Golf available (except mondays) though expensive at 100 euros a round. Food on buffet nights was first class...great quality with huge choice (I have eaten in fine restaurants around the world and fail to imagine why anyone would be disappointed with the dinner buffet in this hotel....and its only 21 euros inc wine !!!) Loved breakfasts too with great choice. Disappointed though with table d'hote dinner on two nights (No real problems with food though portions could have been better) as service was dreadfully slow...lack of staff and at one point one rather large and surly waitress was serving 10 tables on her own. Besides this we always had crisps and nuts with drinks (maybe the last reviewers complaints about this have paid off fo us ?) and found the lunchtime snacks menu good with choice of sandwiches, burgers etc. Will definitely stay here again but will dine locally (in Capellades or Martorell) a few nights too,

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2006

I stayed in this hotel over the Formula 1 grand prix weekend as everything in downtown Barcelona was full. The setting is absolutely stunning with the rooms having a view over the mountains. It is a long way out of the city and you don't want to be stuck here without a car as you will never get a taxi to bring you back to the hotel.

The rooms are large and clean with both wired and wi-fi internet connections (wired is free).

That is where the good stuff ends. Quoting from their brochure: In its exquisite a la carte restaurant you can enjoy a select mediterranean cuisine adapted to each season and with a large open bodega with an extensive offer of wines and cavas from the Penedes region. In addition, in the 19th Hole Bar you will find the ideal space to enjoy a snack or drink.
With me so far? None of the above is actually true. The restaurant is not a la carte. It offers a rather poor buffet which is very over priced for what it is. The bar does not offer snacks of any description, not even crisps or nuts. I know this is Spain and English is a foreign language, but in a hotel which describes itself as 'Premium' you would expect the quality of spoken English to be better. There was a group of American seniors staying here on my first night and they had enormous problems communicating with the staff in the restaurant, even when trying to order a few bottles of wine (which were already on the tables).

I would stay here again, but only because of its ease of access to the F1 circuit some 30km away.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank f1photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2006

It is far, but it should be a shame not to try it. A good 30 mn to Barcelona city center, with a fair amount of motorway to get there. But once there, you'll like it. Huge room, huger bathroom still, very contemporary decor and fabrics, balcony with a lovely view of the Monteserrat mountains. The outside pool was lovely - but chilly, the inside pool was lovely - but not of free access, which is perhaps a little mean in a 5 stars property. Huge breakfast buffet, yet again in a splendid decor. Very helpful staff. A lovely retreat after a few days in the city center.

4  Thank toutoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rancoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Likorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Balmes Residence
Balmes Residence
#369 of 515 in Barcelona
46 reviews
Travelodge Barcelona Fira
#357 of 515 in Barcelona
83 reviews
Hotel Torino
#386 of 515 in Barcelona
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apartamentos Turisticos Marsol
#390 of 515 in Barcelona
27 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#432 of 515 in Barcelona
166 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#398 of 515 in Barcelona
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Montserrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Montserrat

Address: Ctra Matorell Capellades, Km 19.5 | Sant Esteve de Sesrovires, 08635 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £30 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Barcelo Barcelona Golf Hotel is located in a superb setting in the midst of the Mediterranean sea and Montserrat's mountains, a hotel of recent construction, following the modern yet elegant style of the Pened's. This newly built property has its own GOLF course on site. designed by the renowned player and architect Jose Maria Olazabal. As an addition the Hotel offers top of the line facilities for incentive groups, meetings and conventions. The hotels also has a SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Montserrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Montserrat Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Montserrat
Barcelo Montserrat Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing