We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, so-so service”
Review of Allada Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Allada Apartments
Ranked #119 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location, so-so service”
Reviewed 13 June 2007

Last week we spent three nights at the Allada Apartment. The location is good (approx. 20 minute walk from Ramblas, less than 5 min. from Picasso museum and metro station). Our "duplex" was a small apartment with loft and balcony. The service is basically nonexistent with nobody readily available on weekends for questions, check-in or out. When someone was around they were very nice and helpful. You must bring all of your own toiletries including soap and shampoo. Based on price, I would stay here again, but only if nothing was available closer to Ramblas for a reasonable amount.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank klksboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    62
    32
    11
    16
See reviews for
79
45
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2007

We stayed in an apartment for 2-4people on the first floor.

Advantages:
1. great location to explore the old city, la ramblas, barcelonetta etc. Moreover many lovely places to eat just around the corner. Train station with direct connection with the airport is also about 10minutes walk from the hotel. Check a map before you arrive there, it can be little tricky to find the hotel.
2. nice apartment, well decorated, full-equipped.
3. kind and helpfull stuff.
4. very good prices

Disadvantages:
1. Inconvenient to check in and get the keys from another hotel at some hours.
2. The taxi driver couldnt find the adress on his map. Thank God he had a GPS navigator. Because the apartments are on a pedestrian only area you will have to walk little bit in order to get there. Thats why we'd recomment to use the train instead. Even though you must get the keys from another location the taxi would cost much less if you take it from the train station than from the airport (we paid 40 euros). The train ticket costs about 2,5 euros.
3. Paper-thin walls. You are going to hear everything your neighbours say or do. Noise from outside can sometimes considered annoying. If you want absolute quiteness to get asleep dont stay there.
4. The apartment is small when the sofabed is used. There is no space to walk from the one side of the apartment to the other when when the sofa bed is open, so you must climb over the bed or sofa.
5. You have to buy your own disk detergents and soap.

I would stay again in that hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coxsackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2006

Just arrived back from the Allada Apartments where my boyfriend and I had a great 4 nights break. Arriving in Barcelona late in the evening, we did have to collect our keys from a different location, which was fine as we were informed of this when we booked the apartments. Great location, great little square outside with typically Spanish bars. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbours, (but as we were partly in Barcelona to sample the nightlife I'm sure on several occasions we were the noisy neighbours!!) The apartments are probably not what the average person would class as 4*. They are clean, bright, stylishly decorated but small, no soap, and the shower did leak which was a bit annoying, but all minor complaints and for the price we had little to complain about. There is very rarely someone on reception, but then again when you go to a city with as much to offer as Barcelona has, you yourself wont want to spend much time in your apartment!! Ideal for young couples and young singles. Visit the near by Rouge Bar for a couple of drinks and tapas!! Great hol!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Meljo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2006

I was very impressed with these apartments, and have to say the location is just fantastic. Right in the heart of a beautiful area with cobble streets, lovely restaurants, bars and gorgeous shops.
You can walk every where from here, it takes about 15 mins to the Ramblas but to be honest, we stayed away from there and just soaked up the atmosphere of the lovely area we were staying in. Great little restaurant close by is Little Italy with live jazz music every night.
The only fault with the apartments was the noise from other guests, the walls are paper thin, and the housekeeper woke us up each morning cleaning the corridors and adjacent rooms. Also, our shower leaked all over the floor, the seal needed to be replaced, just a small thing really. But overall, great location, clean apartment, air conditioned, and super to have a little fridge to keep drinks cold. I would definitely go back.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank jldoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We had a wonderful stay at the Allada apartments. We travelled as a family of four, two adults and two children - one aged 7 and the other aged 5. The apartments were ideally situated - a 5 minute walk to the park, which had the local zoo located at the far end, 5 minutes to Las Ramblas with all the hustle and bustle of local life and tourists, 10/15 mins to the beach and there were a plethora of excellent restaurants and bars within walking distance. Having originally checked out the reviews on this site, I was a bit sceptical about booking this apartment but I was pleasantly surprised. It was awkward to get to; we had to collect the keys from a completely different location/my limited Spanish enabled me to ascertain from the taxi driver that he was unable to drive us up to the door of the apartment - it would have probably cost us another 10 euros by the time he had driven around the one-way system - and we had to walk but that turned out to be only about 100 metres (I suppose this could have proved difficult if you had too many bags but as we didn't, it was okay). The one downside was the fact that in the ground floor apartment we were allocated, the sofabed in the living area was on its last legs - literally - and wasn't very comfortable so I would say the owner should take note and replace it as it spoils an otherwise lovely, modern apartment. Also, the tip to take a tour bus was spot on - it enabled us to see a lot of the wonderful city for a small cost and minimum amount of fuss - excellent. I would definitely recommend Barcelona for a visit and the apartments are ideally situated for that. By the way, if you can be bothered (and don't have too many bags to haul), get the tube and bus back to the airport - it saved us over 30 euros and only took 40 mins!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank dkipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2005

I disagree with the negative comments of previous reviewers, I think they may have been unlucky. The decor was fantastic and aparment itself really cool and relaxing (very necessary after the steamy and loud atmosphere in barcelona). The definite negative was that the apartment for 3 was more like a bed sit with two beds and a sofa bed....
We also checked in on a Saturday but did nothing so insane as trying to walk it with luggage! The taxi from the Claris hotel to the apartment was pretty cheap between 3 people and when we arrived there were markets outside- very nice beginning to a great stay.
Close to the musee picasso etc, would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kavi_ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2005

Arriving on a Saturday we had to go to the Hotel Claris after 2pm which was a longish walk away from Metro station to pick up our apartment key, before we were able to head to Allada-2 metro stops away. We were given keys to a spacious, dark room on the ground floor with a CAFE with plenty of outdoor seating right outside our window! Internet website promised QUIET, LIGHT rooms so we had to call the manager, return to Hotel Claris to return original keys and collect new keys for a room that was already occupied. We then were made to wait another two hours-( we were told 15min) at the front entrance for keys to our original noisy room as they had nothing left. Keys arrived at 7:30pm, we missed first half of AC Barcelona match, we had 70E tickets(ouch!), 5 1/2 hours wasted. There were dogs barking, we could hear the conversations from the cafe way past midnight.
We were given another room higher up the following day, smaller, lots of light, and quieter, except at night when the slamming door noise, elevator noise, and the thin walls/ceilings(loud TV), bugs, kept us awake another night. Last day, is a Monday so there is a manager. We ask her to hold our bags until the afternoon. She said no, and not even at the Hotel Claris. As we were so inconvenienced the first night we asked if we could have late check-out, she agreed only after we made a scene in front of the other ten or more guests who also needed her services.
BYO sleeping pills. The immediate neighborhood is seedy, but is near the Picasso Museum and great eating establishments in Born.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 356LavaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#196 of 513 in Barcelona
656 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
740 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Mercer House Boria BCN
Mercer House Boria BCN
#324 of 513 in Barcelona
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Aramunt Apartments
Aramunt Apartments
#124 of 723 in Barcelona
243 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
AinB Picasso-Corders
AinB Picasso-Corders
#607 of 723 in Barcelona
38 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allada Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allada Apartments

Property: Allada Apartments
Address: Allada Vermell, 6 - 8, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 723 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allada Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allada Apartments are located next to the Born, one of the city's most modern districts. There is a vibrant nightlife but also a great deal of culture, such as the Picasso Museum and the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Mar, and an infinite array of designer shops, boutiques and shoe stores. The beach is just a 20-minute walk away, making it the ideal place to enjoy the city both day and night, both in summer and winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Allada Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Allada Barcelona
Apartamentos Allada Hotel Barcelona
Allada Apartments Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing