We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but should provide free wi-fi in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Ranked #199 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel but should provide free wi-fi in rooms”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for the final couple of days of a trip to Barcelona with some friends. A few unstructured thoughts about my stay:

-A nice, modern hotel with big, comfortable rooms, very good standard of cleanliness and presentation. Only a very discerning person woul;d have found fault with the quality and presentation of our rooms- I was very impressed.

-We used the hotel pool, this was very pleasant, and one friend used the gym and apparently had a reasonable workout. As we stayed in a suite this gave us access to the executive lounge, which was excellent, with a very good terrace with great views over the city and some small freebies (snacks/ drinks/ newspapers) available for free.

-The buffet breakfast was pretty decent, although I have experienced better at a couple of places (one a small independent, and the otehr a medium-sized chain) - there is some room for improvement but to make a big deal of this would be unreasonable.

-However wi-fi is only freely available in a few public areas of the hotel and NOT in the rooms themselves. Given that every other non-budget hotel I've stayed in lately (many of them a lot smaller and less well-resourced than Hilton) have been able to offer free wi-fi in all rooms, this is a poor show and not what I expected of a Hilton. This seems to me like the hotel equivalent of Emirates airline "doing a Ryanair" and charging extra for assigned seats, meals, hold bags etc. It's just not what you'd expect.

-Location is OK-ish for getting to city centre or other parts of the city- the hotel is in the Forum area to the east of the city, so to get into the centre involves a metro or tram ride of maybe 10-15 minutes. The metro/tram stations are a block away from the hotel (<5 minutes walk) so this isnt too big a deal

-The location is better for getting to slightly quieter parts of barcelona beach, although if you want really good beaches, you need to get a tram+train up to Badalona (15 -20 minutes away)

-Staff were generally efficient and reasonable

-Given the standard of the hotel, I feel it was good value for money although the lack of wi-fi in rooms was a significant irritant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your unstructured thoughts about your stay to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona. We are truly happy to receive your feedback as a good way to become better.

First of all, we are sorry to hear our Wi-Fi policy was a huge inconvenient. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we offer free internet service to all our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honnors members as one of their benefits. We really invite you to become a member and to start getting points. You will find more information in our web.

Despite your disappointment regarding our Wireless service, it is an honour to hear you were impressed with our rooms presentation. Our commitment is to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For that reason, we cannot thank you enough for your positive feedback.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    1,068
    351
    151
    92
See reviews for
642
927
141
851
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel and Rooms are clean. Staff have been friendly and helpfull during the times, that i have spend here (5 trips, 4weeks.). The lounge is really nice and there are tastefull snacks and beverages. The restaurant is a little bit expensive comparing to average prices in similar kind of restaurants in Barcelona.

I have been here few times and will come again, when i visit next time in Barcelona

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Markus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments regarding your stay to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona. It is an honour to hear you will continue choosing us.

It is particularly pleasant to hear you found our team members friendly and helpful. They are always available to provide excellent service and we can see that we have met your expectations, thanks to your positive feedback.

We truly hope welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel during June 2014 on a personal trip with my wife.

Good points:
Location to a nice beach: 3-4 minutes walk to a relatively quiet beach (compared to Barceloneta beach), which has a pool side bar just on the ramp down to the beach
Very clean hotel
Rooms were a good size by European standards with separate table/chair area in one corner of the room
Rooms were air conditioned by your own in room controls
Free WiFi was available in public areas ONLY
Public WiFi was available at the pool area
Service in terms of porters, check in and out was good
Wonderful view of the beach/harbour/city from the pool area or hotel room
Buffet breakfast was really good. It had a good mix of fruits, cereals, bacon, eggs, croissants, pastries etc.

Bad points:
Very expensive for a beer or alcoholic drinks e.g. €9.50 per pint/large beer. This price was out of sync with much of city centre Barcelona even in the tourist 'hot spots'
Room service - we asked on 3 separate occasions to have our mini bar activated and each time it didn't work or the person sent to fix it didn't arrive
No free WiFi in the rooms - there was a charge for non Hilton diamond/gold members in room
Public WiFi in the restaurant was awful and impossible to connect
Service at the pool side bar was dreadful, even though one expects service in certain Spanish hotels to be slower, this was awful by American/British standards. One person covering 20-25 people and serving drinks to others in between my drinks order.
Water was not complimentary in your room

Things to look out for:
If you want to experience Barcelona beach or La Rambla then this location is €12-15 in a taxi one way and therefore trips in and out to the city centre can add up. It can be more expensive in busier traffic times
The area is very quiet and appeared to be very business focused rather than tourist (FYI)
There are a few bars, cafe's etc. near the hotel but not many and certainly not as many as other tourist areas
The pool area is very quiet - this can be a pro or a con depending on your requirements
It is €25-30 in a taxi (one way) from the airport
Across from the hotel is a medium sized shopping centre, which was really useful and convenient for picking up bits n pieces http://www.diagonalmarcentre.es/en/
A snack at the hotel pool bar was pricey relative to city centre Barcelona

All in all, this hotel was exactly what we were looking for during our trip and given that we had no kids with us, this was peaceful, relaxing and what we needed.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view have a spectacular view of the beach and down towards Barcelona harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you valuable feedback with us. We truly appreciate your opinion has a good way to improve our guests' experience.

First of all, we would like to apologies for all the inconveniences you suffered. Your comments have been immediately forwarded to the relevant management for their attention. Our commitment is to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For that reason, we are truly sorry to know you found all that inconveniences, despite you had an overall pleasant stay.

On the other hand, we are glad to read you had a positive visit at the hotel and that you will return again.

We look forward welcoming you back soon, whereby we will be able to provide you with the highest level of service for which we are internationally known for!

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a mixture of 3 and 4 stars hotels in Madrid and Barcelona and never had a problem with wifi connection until I checked in at Hilton diagonal. All the other hotels offer free wifi in the room except for Hilton Diagonal which offers free wifi in the lobby only. That's fine as I was aware of that restriction at the point of booking. However, the connection to the free lobby wifi was very troublesome. I couldn't connect it on my own but got to seek help from the front desk who then had to call someone to help with the connection. I have to wait at the front desk for at least 10 mins to get the free lobby wifi connection sorted out. While the front desk staff was very helpful and professional, I can't believe the staff have to put in time and work just for wifi connection.

The check in and check out to the hotel were also exceptionally slow as compared to all other hotels I had stayed.

The redeeming points were that the hotel is located near to a nice beach and the bed was very comfortable. It's a nice hotel to stay in if you want to be near the beach. The breakfast was average with variety of food.

If you want to be near to the major attractions e.g. sagrada familia etc, there are other nice and more centrally located hotels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona.

First of all, please, accept our most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you suffered due to our Wi-Fi connection. We will take in consideration your experience and comments to improve our service and become better.

On the other hand, we are glad to know you had a great impression of our breakfast. Our team are always available to provide excellent service and we can see that we have met your expectations, thanks to your positive feedback. We are also happy to know you enjoyed our location close to the beach.

We look forward welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a practical ( easy access, well designed, well managed ) hotel in Barcelona. It is a bit far way from downtown; which is good for the traveler looking for a place to wind down. For those just looking for a central location, this is not the place to go. It very close to the convention center near Diagonal Mar. In fact, it is the best choice for the traveler that has business in that part of Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luismurguia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your opinion. We are truly happy to hear you had an overall great stay.

It is an honour to know you will choose us again, and we cannot thank you enough your kind comments regarding our service. Our team are always available to provide excellent service and we can see that we have met your expectations, thanks to your positive feedback.

We truly hope welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Recently built hotel in a modern district. Décor is contemporary and bright. Rooms are very spacious with amazing almost panoramic windows. You will get amazing views to the sea if you room is high enough (starting from c10th floor). Comfortable bed and good soundproofing. Due to the location hotel is more oriented to business or conference guests. You have to get a taxi or car to get to the centre. You can find a shopping across the street. Restaurant (dining) was disappointing – service was slow and inattentive and dishes were below average. However breakfast was superb and with some local Spanish specialities.
*Stayed in February 2013

Room Tip: Rooms from 10th floor will benefit from amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrainAndAnastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

First of all, please, accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience suffered in our restaurant. We will take in consideration your comments to improve our guests' experience and become better.

On the other hand, we are glad to know you found our rooms comfortable and spacious, and you had an overall great stay.

We truly hope welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had a great stay at the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona. I stayed for three nights in September 2013, for business.

Check-in was easy and problem-free. I don't speak a word of Spanish and the staff were all great! The concierge was very helpful. I stayed in an executive room, which was very spacious and clean, and modern, with a great view! The internet (unlike the other Hilton in Barcelona) was fast and without problems! The executive lounge was a bit of a squeeze inside, but also had a large terrace outside, which offered wonderful views of the ocean.

The hotel has a not very central location, so is not close to anything sight-seeing wise, but has public transport access nearby. Additionally, the hotel, despite the name, is not "on" the beach, but a block away, with a complicated road crossing. Nevertheless, a very, very positive experience, and I can definitely recommend the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona anytime!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryMorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We truly appreciate your opinion as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

Our team are always available to provide excellent service and we can see that we have met your expectations, thanks to your positive feedback.

It is particularly pleasant to know you found our team members great and helpful. We have immediately shared with them your positive review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#176 of 513 in Barcelona
3,576 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#110 of 513 in Barcelona
6,298 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#166 of 513 in Barcelona
1,840 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#185 of 513 in Barcelona
2,989 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#62 of 513 in Barcelona
4,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Property: Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only at a 10 minutes’ walk from the beach, the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and spectacular morning rising sun, the perfect place if you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, to have a cultural city break in Barcelona or to spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia’s capital. 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by the Tram and Metro to reach the city center in just a few stops, the hotel is also facing Diagonal Mar Shopping Centre, one of the biggest malls in Catalonia with 240 shops. Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea the hotel has 433 comfortable and spacious rooms of which 110 are newly renovated premium ones, styled in serene and calm tones inspired by nature, cooled with air conditioning and featured with flat screen LED TV, safe and minibar. In the 2nd floor takes place an urban oasis called Purobeach Barcelona which was voted one of the best beach clubs in the world by Conde Nast Traveler. It invites to spend the day at the pool and enjoy the sun on the sunbeds while having a nice cocktail or smoothie. In addition the possibility to enjoy a relaxing treatment at the Spa while listening to the unique Puro Music with the resident DJ’s, and having the opportunity to discover the M3 cuisine concept with influences of Miami, Marrakech and Melbourne. A modern well equipped fitness center completes the leisure facilitate of the hotel. The Hilton Indigo's restaurant serves also delicious International and Catalan food. The Pistaccio Lounge bar is the perfect place for cocktail lovers wishing to start or end their evening in a relaxed atmosphere or simply enjoy the complimentary WI-FI to plan their next visit. The guest staying at the Executive Rooms can enjoy access to the Executive Lounge, a spacious place to relax, read or use complimentary internet access, also as all day refreshments, breakfast, afternoon snacks and Liquor and wine selection in the evening. Fancying spectacular city and sea views from its 15th floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing