We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel SB Diagonal Zero(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Vincci Bit(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,209)
Filter reviews
3,209 results
Traveller rating
1,401
1,165
377
161
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,401
1,165
377
161
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungemall across the streetdiamond membersea viewpool areamediterranean seaconvention centerlobby barcorner roomhigh floortapastourist bushop on hop off busmodern hoteljunior suitemetro stationsagrada familia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,315 - 1,320 of 3,209 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have stayed at the Hilton DM many times over the years. This year I feel that the normal standards you expect in Hilton's have slipped somewhat at the DM. Also there was no recognition or benefits whatsoever for being HH Gold except the Wifi as an executive room was booked.

However the Hotel still has some plus points which I will start with:

Large modern rooms (some better than others) with good views of the sea or City from the higher floors.
Super fast Wifi in the room.
Friendly and mostly helpful staff and especially professional Cecelia in the Executive lounge.
Excellent exec lounge with panoramic views but very busy in the early evening especially with uncontrolled young children, however the re-introduction of spirits was appreciated.
Perfect location in a nice area away from the multitudes and close to to the beach, the Mall and various modes of transport to the City (also nice walk along the beach to the bottom of the Las Ramblas, (avert your gaze when passing the nudist beach!)

Negative points.

The large Pagoda (built last year and totally unused during my 10 day stay) has significantly reduced the pool area for sunbathers by 60-70% and subsequently on most days there were no sun beds available after 11.00 am.
Monotonous synthesised nondescript music is continuously played excessively loud around the pool area.
The Breakfast selection in the restaurant is poor value for 25€ and not consistent with other European Hilton's mainly:
Only Chicken sausages (yuk) available for the whole of my 10 day stay.
Cold meat Ham and Turkey plastic in appearance and obviously low grade from a tin.
Fruit mostly tinned except melon and pineapple (fresh strawberries one day) and only one item of fresh whole fruit each day.
No yoghurt pots and reduced selection of cakes and pastries on a number of days.
The egg/omelette cook station was conspicuous by its absence during the whole of this stay.

To summarise, at this time of year the Hotel caters for mainly Holiday makers where as the majority of the time the clientele is business orientated and as such paying much higher room rates resulting in the possibility that overall service is being tweeked accordingly during the main Holiday period.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PnMLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We truly appreciate your opinion as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

We are truly sorry to hear that this time; we have not met your expectations and fell short of fulfilling your expectations as a guest. Our commitment is to provide the best food, the best service and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For this reason, we are deeply sorry to know your disappointment. You are a very valuable guest for us not only because we have had the honour to have you, but because you are a Golden card holder. The last thing we want is to lose your trust in us.

The problems you have mentioned regarding the outdoor space has been brought to the attention to the relevant manager. Your satisfaction is our priority, for this reason, please accept our deepest apologies for any inconvenience suffered, we can assure you that we will take in consideration your review to improve our service.

In the same way, we are truly disappointed to receive such a bad feedback about our breakfast selection in the restaurant. We would like to express our most sincere apologies if we have not meet your expectations since our main objective is to provide the best food, the best service and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. In this respect, we highly appreciate your comments and we can assure that we will take relevant actions.

We really hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future, whereby we will be able to provide you with the highest level of service for which we are internationally known for!

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hotel is ok. Nothing special. Stayed in better Hiltons. Food is very expensive and quality not worth the price. Go outside and find some local restaurants. Same quality of food but only much cheaper. Service is good. Rooms are average. Beds are good. Nice pool. 5 min walk from the beach. Mall across the road. Nice to buy some cheese and bread. Better than lunch at hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Alexia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We truly appreciate your feedback as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

In this sense, we are truly sorry to hear we haven't met your expectations because of our food. Our commitment is to provide the best food, the best service and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For this reason, we are sad and we will take in consideration your review to become better. Please, accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience suffered.

We would be incredibly grateful if you would give us another opportunity to change your opinion and to show you that your feedback has been heeded.

We really hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future, whereby we will be able to provide you with the highest level of service for which we are internationally known for!

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel and were very pleased with our room, service and especially the executive lounge. We travel a lot and this hotel, by far, had the best selection we have come across. It is not located in the city center, however, there are sight seeing tour buses or the metro within walking distance. We did the bus tour one day and it was totally worthwhile. One of the hotel staff helped us get tickets online for the La Sagrada Familia and it saved us a few hours waiting in line without tickets! There is so much to do in Barcelona, the beach was also very nice, lots of people trying to sell items, but did not bother you if you were not interested.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alsdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. It is a pleasure to know we have met your expectations.

Our commitment is to provide the best food, the best service and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. In this sense, it is particularly pleasant to receive your kind comment regarding our team members. They are always available to provide an excellent service.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The entrance to the hotel is very impressive but the check-in was a slow and dismal experience, no welcoming smiles just a long wait while our reservations and passports were checked from cover to cover. I am currently a Hilton diamond member and we were upgraded to a room on a high floor with a sea view - whilst we could see the sea the outlook is mainly office blocks, the motorway to the city, and the car park. I'm glad I didn't pay for the view!
As a diamond member, we had access to the Exec Lounge. A relatively small lounge given the size of the hotel, hence it was frequently overcrowded - at peak hours there was a queue for seating.
The exec lounge breakfast was poor for a Hilton, very limited choice of hot or cold food and cheap machine coffee. It was so bad we only went a couple of times. In the evening the lounge provided FOUR hours of free drinks - although people were sensible this meant the rather sterile lounge was the busiest place in the hotel. No wonder the main bar was always empty. We had a late drink in the bar one evening$and felt sorry for David - great bar tender, welcoming, informative, great cocktails, but no customers. Why no customers - the prices - wow! The Hilton bar is three times the price of all surrounding bars, and there are many to choose from in the neighbouring streets.
The positives about the hotel - the pool and gym areas of the hotel are new and kept to a high standard. The location is probably not for everyone being at the Northern most reaches of the beach, but you can walk along the beach to the main city beaches in under an hour, The hotel is also close to PobleNou which has a great selection of bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
In summary - I don't think the hotel is worth the premium price tag. In my opinion the other Barcelona Hilton is a nicer hotel and much better value, I'd recommend staying there and getting a cab to/from the beach.

Room Tip: Sea facing high floors attract a premium but probably not worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BristolFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We truly appreciate your opinion as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

We are truly sorry to hear that this time; we have not met your expectations and fell short of fulfilling your expectations as a guest. You are a very valuable guest for us not only because we have had the honour to have you, but also because you are a Diamond Card holder. The last thing we want is to lose your trust in us.

We completely understand your disappointment and we deeply apologize for it. Please, be sure your comments will be taken seriously in order to avoid these occurrences in the future. We would be incredibly grateful if you would give us another opportunity to change your opinion and to show you that your feedback has been heeded.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel and to offer you the high quality service that you did expect and in fact deserve.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Service Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at this property while attending a convention. The hotel is located right around the corner from the convention center and near a number of local restaurants. The rooms are medium sized, large for Europe. The bathroom was large and clean and had plenty of water pressure as well as modern amenities. The overall hotel needs updating, but all in all it was still modern enough. The concierge lounge, if you can get access is fantastic. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, afternoon happy hour featured wine and beer as well as light snacks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We are truly happy to know you had an excellent stay to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona.

It is particularly pleasant to hear your positive feedback regarding the hotel overall. Our commitment is to provide the best food, the best service and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For this reason, we are glad to know we have met your expectations, thank you very much.

Even though, we will take in consideration your suggestion as a good way to improve our guests' experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews