We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton like a Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Ranked #182 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Majorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hilton like a Hilton”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I spent 2 nights at this property end of August. I got special deal, so I can say it was really a value for money for me. Room standard Hilton as you could used everywhere in Europe, which I think not bad at all. Room was well kept - clean and well stocked, although a bathrobe would have been a nice touch to use, while visiting the pool (A/C continously on everywhere in the hotel). The bed is comfy and the mirror in the bathroom had a heating, which is definitetly a positive! Also the shower curtain, finally a proper one in a hotel. Minibar did not have Red bull, which is pretty minor I know, but still a room for improvement! Pool area is great to relax & chill yourself. The bar at the pool is very easygoing with a very knowledgeable bartender, had a very delicious G&T, he played very well with the sweet, bitter, sour flavours! I think there is way more potential in the pool area - like creating a beach club atmosphere & so on...The lobby bar is a functional Hilton bar with low staffing level - which is not necessarely bad at all. The service is very friendly, timing and drinks are ok. Breakfast is usual Hilton breakfast with a local touch - I was able to find everything I need for a great start of the day. The "service" is very minimal - Saturday in the morning was hard to grab a clean table, but the issue was sorted out very quickly. The take away coffee cups are a very customer friendly idea, but a fitting top would be more useful!!!
Check in & check out was pretty quick, the agents both times were very effective - no issues happened. Front of the reception you can find 4 computers to check your emails or surf on the internet, printing your boarding pass, etc. The printer did not work properly, while I was there, actually I fixed both times by myself, small thing, but once you are in a hotel, probably you would expect, that somebody else (from the hotel staff) is going to own the "problem" and sort it out for you. By the way Wi-fi worked very good in all areas. All in all a good hotel in a nice location, but do not really expect a special, personal touch, just stay there and enjoy the amazing and beautiful Barcelona. Would I return & offer to friends & family? Yes, I would.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B4Drinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know you had an excellent stay and you would return to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding our team members. It is a pleasure to hear you had a great impression and we have met your expectations with their excellent service.

Even though your positive feedback, we will take in consideration all your suggestions as a good way to improve our guests' experience and become better.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    1,035
    335
    141
    82
See reviews for
607
898
136
843
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Now that I'm here and spent just one night, I can tell you that I was really intrigued by the recent reviews I've read before arriving here.

The staff are so welcoming, helpful and nice.

The rooms are spacious and very clean.

The bathroom is clean with plenty of toilet paper. So it doesn't smell of pee like I've read. Thanks to the reviews I had to carry a roll of toilet paper, which looks like I don't need.

Breakfast buffet is a vast variety and the egg making guy is there. Some reviewer complained there wasn't one!!!!

I'm on the 13th floor and elevators cannot be faster.

The only drawbacks are: no free wifi in rooms :(
Windows aren't clean on the outside, a little bit annoying when trying to view sunrise.

End result: trust a hilton no matter what reviews you've read!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Egyptiantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona. It is an honour to know you had an excellent stay and you will continue choosing Hilton.

It is particularly pleasant to hear your positive feedback regarding our team members. They are always available to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For this reason, we are truly glad to know we have met your expectations, thank you very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Yet again the Hilton proved reliable and an excellent choice for a recent stay in Barcelona. Not in the center of the city but close to the cruise port and with all the amenities you need including an awesome pool and outstanding lounge overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. It is an honour to know you had such a memorable stay in the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona.

We are truly glad to know we have met your expectations. Our commitment is to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. For this reason, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Disappointed by recent 10 day stay at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona. Location is not very convenient to older and more charming parts of city. Very few good restaurants nearby - the only one I can recommend is Raco de la Villa (about a mile from the hotel). Rooms were clean and comfortable, but the entire hotel is serviced by only 4 elevators resulting in long waits and crowded lifts. There is a $33USD/24hr charge for WiFi (ridiculous!!). Front desk staff is rather indifferent (likely because they are used to complaints). MAKE SURE THAT YOU REVIEW YOUR BILL AT CHECK-OUT. We found $75USD in mini-bar charges that were never consumed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower floors as you will likely need to take stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poway_Traveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. Even it is not the kind of review we would like to have, we truly appreciate your feedback as a good way to improve our guests' experience.

First of all, we are truly sorry to hear you were disappointed with our Team hospitality. The Hilton standards and our team members aim to consistently deliver a professional and hospitable service to our customers because your satisfaction is our priority. In this sense, we are deeply sorry to know we felt short of fulfilling your expectations.

Regarding the Wireless network, we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we offer free internet service to all our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honnors members as one of their benefits. If you are already member you will upgrade your status adding nights to your account, if not I really invite you to become a member and to start getting points. You will find more information in our web. Otherwise, in the public areas you will find free WIFI.

We would be incredibly grateful if you would give us another opportunity to change your opinion and to show you that your feedback has been heeded.

We really hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona in the near future, whereby we will be able to provide you with the highest level of service for which we are internationally known for!

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The staff at this hotel needs to be re-trained on how to treat and talk to customers. Locked out of my room for 8 hours with a child and no money. In the last 2 hours (12-2 am) was offered free drinks while they fixed my door. At the end of the night was told I had to pay for 2 of them. Had no money or credit cards as they were locked in the safe in the room. Rude manager. Toilet paper is never put in the rooms. Everyday had to call house keeping to get toilet paper. Bathroom smelt like urine even after it was cleaned. All rooms are only for 2 people have to order a cot for 3 (if they get around to it you might get the one you ordered in your room). Food and drinks are very expensive and not good. Not worth the money we spent here. Save your money and stay at the Princess just down the street from this hotel and get treated like the Princess or Prince. At the Hilton Diagonal Mar the only thing you can count on is rude staff that don't resolve any issues. Also, had friends that stayed there with kids (with asthma) were given a smoking room. When our friends complained about the smokey room just looking to be moved to another room the staff said they were just looking for problems. Then my friend said if my child stays in this room tonight they will end up in the hospital. The Hilton staff replied "I guess you are going to the hospital tonight". DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank 859sherieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We truly appreciate your opinion as this allows us to continually develop and improve our guests´ experience through our service.

In this sense, we must say that we are truly sorry to hear that this time; we have not met your expectations and fell short of fulfilling your expectations as a guest.

First of all, we would like to inform you that your comments make sense and we are already working with the different head of departments to analyse and redirect all what has been unsatisfactory for you in order to improve the services and products we offer. These are obviously not the kind of comments that we would like to receive from our guests as we would have preferred that your stay with us surpassed your expectation and at this stage we have no words to express our sincerest apologies. We sincerely regret the way in which your complaint was handled during your stay, certainly this is not the kind of service our guests expect from us and we would like to try, in the best way, to renew your faith in our hotel.

Referring to the problems with the room key, sometimes we need to remake it due to the deprogramming. We are deeply sorry for all the inconveniences caused during the resolution of the situation. As you should wait a while during the battery change and to compensate for the inconveniences he invited to you and your children to have a drink in the Pistaccio Bar. Maybe he did not express clearly but the invitation was only for the people staying in your room and for that reason we requested the payment of the beverages consumed by your friends staying in other rooms.

Regarding our Team attitude, we are really amazed and surprised that someone in our Team could give this kind of answers to a guest. Please, accept our deepest apologises. We can assure you that this kind of behaviour will not be allowed and we will take the relevant actions to assure that such situations are never repeated.

We have considered all your comments like a constructive criticism and in this sense, we have to thank you for letting us know your concern and your point of view about your experience during your stay. Our commitment is to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order, for this reason we feel sad knowing that we have not been able to fulfil your expectations.

We can assure you that we took the commitment of taking the relevant actions to improve in the areas mentioned, especially in all the related with the staff and their hospitality which we consider is a basic tool for the full satisfaction of our guests. We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and we hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.

The problems you have mentioned regarding the unpleasant odors in your bathroom although the cleanliness have been brought to the attention to our maintenance department, so that this may never occur again. The Hilton standards and our team members aim to consistently deliver a professional and hospitable service to our customers because your satisfaction is our priority, so once again, please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience that you suffered.

Thank you again for sparing some time to give us your feedback and for staying with us at the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel and it did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location made it easy to get to sites in the city as well as enjoy the beach. I highly recommend this hotel for its standards, service and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. It is a pleasure to know we have met your expectations and you had an excellent time in Barcelona.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members. Our commitment is to provide the best service, the best food and all the equipment and conditions in perfect order. In this sense, it is a pleasure to hear you have found our team helpful and friendly.

We truly hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Guest Service Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston,Ma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Great spot to end our European vacation . Near the beach with sweeping ocean view from higher floors . Great pool area . Rooms and bathroom are large and well furnished . Outside the main old city area so planing taking taxis , which are abundant outshine and reasonable . Also long block to the Metro line L4 , which we used a lot , Food and drink is expensive at the hotel , but the large Diagonal Mall is right across the street . It many restaurant and bar choices . This is where we had most meals . They have a Starbucks and a believe it or not a Dunkin Donuts ( first we saw in Europe ) This is a very busy hotel with lots of groups and cruise passengers , so the lobby can be congested at times . Overall was an enjoyable stay . Lounging by the pool and walking the beach was a great respite after sightseeing .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfadmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrique A, Director General at Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with other travellers.

We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. I am sure that all your suggestions will help other guests to enjoy even more their stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Services Dept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#106 of 512 in Barcelona
6,211 reviews
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#158 of 512 in Barcelona
1,807 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#164 of 512 in Barcelona
3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelona Princess
#187 of 512 in Barcelona
2,956 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#57 of 512 in Barcelona
4,522 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona

Property: Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
Address: Passeig del Taulat 262 - 264, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only at a 10 minutes’ walk from the beach, the Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona offers stunning views of the sea and spectacular morning rising sun, the perfect place if you wish to enjoy a fun family beach holiday, to have a cultural city break in Barcelona or to spend an unforgettable romantic weekend in Catalonia’s capital. 25 minutes from the airport, conveniently served by the Tram and Metro to reach the city center in just a few stops, the hotel is also facing Diagonal Mar Shopping Centre, one of the biggest malls in Catalonia with 240 shops. Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea the hotel has 433 comfortable and spacious rooms of which 110 are newly renovated premium ones, styled in serene and calm tones inspired by nature, cooled with air conditioning and featured with flat screen LED TV, safe and minibar. In the 2nd floor takes place an urban oasis called Purobeach Barcelona which was voted one of the best beach clubs in the world by Conde Nast Traveler. It invites to spend the day at the pool and enjoy the sun on the sunbeds while having a nice cocktail or smoothie. In addition the possibility to enjoy a relaxing treatment at the Spa while listening to the unique Puro Music with the resident DJ’s, and having the opportunity to discover the M3 cuisine concept with influences of Miami, Marrakech and Melbourne. A modern well equipped fitness center completes the leisure facilitate of the hotel. The Hilton Indigo's restaurant serves also delicious International and Catalan food. The Pistaccio Lounge bar is the perfect place for cocktail lovers wishing to start or end their evening in a relaxed atmosphere or simply enjoy the complimentary WI-FI to plan their next visit. The guest staying at the Executive Rooms can enjoy access to the Executive Lounge, a spacious place to relax, read or use complimentary internet access, also as all day refreshments, breakfast, afternoon snacks and Liquor and wine selection in the evening. Fancying spectacular city and sea views from its 15th floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hilton International Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
Barcelona Hilton
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing