We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely recommendable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paraiso Travellers Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
Ranked #450 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Definitely recommendable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The explore Barcelona, this is the place to be!

Not only the location is great, very central to everything-sights-Ramblas-restaurants-nightlife-, but also the rooms and shared shower and toilet were very clean ( thank you very much housekeeping!!!).

Especially when you are visiting for the first time, this hostel is recommendable. Verónica, Andrés and Monya were the sweetest and the most patient, helpfull receptionists the hostal could have!
We didn't know anything about Barcelona and really did not come very well prepared, but these 3 were really taking the time to explain, had fun explaining it and talking to me, had the knowledge about the city, and if they didn't know, they looked it up, I didn't even need to ask! In breve, they are people who know what hospitality means!!!

So Thnx again Verónica, Andrés and Monya!!! Thnx to them we didn't miss a single but of beautifull Barcelona and had a wonderfull stay at Hostal Paraiso!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soenayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    44
    31
    13
    18
See reviews for
6
45
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

When we booked a hostel for a cheap weekend in Barcelona, we really didn't hold our expectations too high. We found Paraiso and it was within our price range for this trip so took a chance. it's located about a 15 minute walk from La Rambla and 20 from the harbour in the Sant Antoni area. The area seems to be a residential area so there are lots of neighbourhood eating and drinking options, The hostel itself is situated in dated building which is a bit rundown inside but a cheerful voice buzzed us in and we steadied ourselves for whatwe would find. Firstly, the lady on reception was very welcoming, showing us around the hostel, and then spending time with a map showing us all the main sights and getting us orientated. We had booked a room without a bathroom but were nicely surprised to be told we'd been upgraded to a private bathroom! The room was basic but clean but had a fan, a shower and a toilet and the beds were comfortable enough. There was a big lock on the door so we felt safe leaving iPads and passports inside. the building is old but they've kept it maintained and with the thick walls it meant we hardly heard any noise once the windows were closed. There is a nice terrace at the back of the building where on one of the nights they threw a free spaghetti party! Didn't really see many other people but the ones we did were chatty and polite. All in all, if all you need is a safe comfortable place to bed down when spending a couple of nights in the city, you could do a lot worse than the Paraiso.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Paid for a double room with shared bathroom and kitchen--excellent value for such nicely built accommodations. Didn't feel like a hostel so much as a hotel, except for the front desk and entrance. Must buzz in downstairs and make your way up, ring a buzzer again to get in. The woman at check in was a bit sullen and abrupt but not extraordinarily so and not to the point of being rude. The room was clean, had a balcony, and had nice floors and doors, almost a rustic feeling. The bathroom was nicely designed and decorated; kitchen was stocked with items for cooking and was also clean. One almost drawback: the enclosed balcony had a wall only three quarters to the ceiling, in effect being open to the neighboring balconies as well. Not a privacy issue if you close the doors to the balcony, but when the neighbors smoke (as at least one did during my stay) the smell will enter your room.

It is a few minute walk to the metro so could be convenient for seeing the rest of Barcelona. Borders an almost dodgy neighborhood, not suitable for the timid, but if you don't go on the side streets it is not an issue. Many interesting bars and restaurants in the vicinity. I felt comfortable at Paraiso and would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed in Barcelona for a week, 4 persons and we choosed this hostel.This was a nice hostel, clean, friendly, nice decorated but some of the rooms are too small. BUt if you tal with the staff they can give you a bigger room if available.
It also has a nice and large terrace.
The bad thing is that is situated in a bad location - we had a small incident one night when getting back to the hostel. There are some streets along the hostel that are not advised to walk on. The staff at the reception told us after about that area.
But overall it was ok, we had a nice vacation there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I am a frequent traveler. I frequently stay at hotels across the world. Here is why this is the worst hotel I have ever encountered:

ROOM: My small room had no windows. It was just 4 walls, a mattress, a dresser, and a small sink. It was extremely hot in the room as there was no air circulation whatsoever. Although the fan was put on maximum power, it was useless as it was still extremely hot in the room. I asked the reception desk for another fan and he refused. There is no air conditioning. There was a fan bolted to the ceiling, very far from the bed, so I never felt any of the air. It was unbearably hot in the room and I was unable to sleep or stop sweating.

BED: The mattress was about 4 inches thick and felt like cardboard. There is no box spring, as it is more like a cheap cot. I found many strands of hair on the sheets.

TV: There is a very small TV bolted to the ceiling, but my TV did not work.

TOWELS: Towels cost 2 Euros a piece.

SOAP: Soap is not offered. Bring your own soap.

BATHROOM: The shared bathroom was ugly but mostly clean. The shower worked fine (as long as you don't mind moldy shower curtains).

INTERNET: The wireless internet did not work. I tried several times to connect, but no luck.

COFFEE: The coffee machine charges about 1 Euro per liquid tablespoon of coffee.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DERICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Venice
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Traveling by yourself can be a nerve wracking experience, particularly the first time but this place made me feel right at home. The staff were friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable and security is great with a buzzer, locked doors, 24 hour reception, key to your room and lockers. Nice area just off La Rambla so not too noisy but walking distance to lots of exciting things to see and do in Barcelona. I love to walk and get lost in a city and this was the perfect location to do that, I walked to La Rambla, Plaza Catalunya, Barceloneta, and Monjuic's Magic Fountain. Also a great place to meet fellow travelers with a common room and rooftop terrace. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian in London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

The best thing about Paraiso is that it was always very clean and tidy. Bins were emptied regularly, the bathrooms were always clean and the common room very clean and tidy. It was a little noisy overnight (our room was near the reception area) but that would be my only complaint. We had a double room which had a basin and a TV. Very small but adequate. Staff were really friendly and welcoming, they have one computer with free internet and 24 hr reception. The location was really good; walking distance from the metro and La Rambla.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzziTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Art City Hostel
Art City Hostel
#398 of 760 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Montjuic
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
#139 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#81 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
Ona Paseo De Gracia Hostel
#72 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Eixample
Barcelo Hostel
Barcelo Hostel
#300 of 760 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#149 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Travellers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Travellers Hostel

Property: Paraiso Travellers Hostel
Address: Ronda de Sant Pau, 55 - 57 | Principal 1°, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 760 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Paraiso Travellers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the sightseeing, culture, restaurants area of Barcelona city, Paraiso Hostel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. Situated in the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. For those of you who want to venture out, Sant Antoni MArket, MACBA Museum, and the Old Port are just some of the attractions available to visitors.There are two subway stations that allow you to access all the others: Paral-lel (L3, Green) and San Antoni (L2, Violet).At Paraiso Hostel, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are laundry service/dry cleaning, safety deposit boxes, elevator, Wi-Fi in public areas, tours.Our large bright common room includes a huge LCD Satellite TV featuring channels in French, English, Spanish, German and Italian and a wide selection of DVDs. There is also 24 hour Internet access and free Wireless access if you bring your laptop!In addition, all guestrooms feature a variety of comforts such as television, shared bathroom, satellite/cable TV, desk, shower to please even the most discerning guest. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Paraiso Hostel is your one-stop destination for quality hotel accommodations in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Paraiso Travellers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Travellers Hotel Barcelona
Paraiso Travellers Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing