We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here twice - excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paraiso Travellers Hostel
Ranked #480 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Stayed here twice - excellent”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed at Hostel Paraiso twice, once in May and again in June. Great location, convenient for everything and the staff couldn't be more helpful - great people. There's a nice living room and free wi-fi. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    44
    35
    13
    20
See reviews for
6
47
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were on a three night trip to visit friends in Barcelona and because we weren't going to be spending a lot of time in the room, we went cheap and cheerful. Or so we thought. We'd booked one of the rooms with its own bathroom - other rooms had shared bathroom and kitchen facilities. The room we had was small but functional and we thought would be OK for our stay. I wasn't entirely sure how old/clean the bedding was, it was a dark patterned mis-match of sheets and bedcover and it looked like it had been slept on, (and washed I hope) many many times.

We went to bed the first night and were awoken at 8.00am by the sound of a Kango construction-strength power tool which they were using to hack tiles off the room right next door to us. This was accompanied by lots of shouting and hammering. I thought it would stop but it carried on... all day. We left around 10.00am because we could not stand it - we had wanted a lie in after a heavy night - we complained to a young member of staff who said he'd see what he could do.

We returned around 5.00pm to shower and get ready to go out for the night and they were still hammering away... when we arrived back there wasn't anyone around so we thought we'd shower first. No water in our room.

I went to the front desk and by now the staff member was there again - we told him there was no water and the construction was still going on - he offered us to shower in another room and an "upgrade"in room to the shared facility options. This is not my idea of an upgrade.

We were so frustrated we said we were leaving. They should never have let us in that room in the first place if they knew there would be that volume of work going on from 8.00am.

To their credit, they did give us our money back for the 2nd and 3rd nights and they discounted our first night too.

Room Tip: ask if they're doing construction in any of the rooms and if they are,swerve every room and go e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My boyfriend and I were on a Spanish road trip and so on a budget for accommodations in each city. This hostel had decent prices and was centrally located (15-20 min walk to Las Ramblas). The woman at reception spoke English and was smiling & friendly.

Very awkward moment was when she took us to our room, opened the door and continued talking about amenities while my boyfriend and I were confused as the bed was unmade and dirty towels were hung up to dry...the room hadn't even been cleaned yet! Thankfully while she was talking she turned and noticed it herself. We had to WAIT for it to be "cleaned" as there were no other rooms available. Very awkward and unprofessional moment (but hey, it's a hostel). Was given advice about a parking garage to keep our car that gave discounts to the hostel's guests. Was about 20 min walk away. (This was helpful as parking in Barcelona is expensive!)

Our room shared an area with two other rooms (4 other people). We all shared a common eating area, kitchen and a bathroom. This place is PERFECT for a backpacker on a budget that wants to meet other people. Only complaint was wanting to use the toilet while others were showering. Bathroom and other areas were kept clean.

Room was on a busy street so was noisy at times but nothing that interrupted our sleep. Nice flatscreen TV in room and small wardrobe to hang clothes. Lots of space in room and nice high ceilings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissF0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This place was a wonderful surprise! My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights and we are in our late twenties. The room was HUGE and had a nice balcony. The rooms and shared bathroom were super clean. The place was pretty quiet at night when we were there, which I have found rare for hostels. The location is also very good, close to metro stations and restaurants. This place is a total steal and I highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The explore Barcelona, this is the place to be!

Not only the location is great, very central to everything-sights-Ramblas-restaurants-nightlife-, but also the rooms and shared shower and toilet were very clean ( thank you very much housekeeping!!!).

Especially when you are visiting for the first time, this hostel is recommendable. Verónica, Andrés and Monya were the sweetest and the most patient, helpfull receptionists the hostal could have!
We didn't know anything about Barcelona and really did not come very well prepared, but these 3 were really taking the time to explain, had fun explaining it and talking to me, had the knowledge about the city, and if they didn't know, they looked it up, I didn't even need to ask! In breve, they are people who know what hospitality means!!!

So Thnx again Verónica, Andrés and Monya!!! Thnx to them we didn't miss a single but of beautifull Barcelona and had a wonderfull stay at Hostal Paraiso!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soenayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

When we booked a hostel for a cheap weekend in Barcelona, we really didn't hold our expectations too high. We found Paraiso and it was within our price range for this trip so took a chance. it's located about a 15 minute walk from La Rambla and 20 from the harbour in the Sant Antoni area. The area seems to be a residential area so there are lots of neighbourhood eating and drinking options, The hostel itself is situated in dated building which is a bit rundown inside but a cheerful voice buzzed us in and we steadied ourselves for whatwe would find. Firstly, the lady on reception was very welcoming, showing us around the hostel, and then spending time with a map showing us all the main sights and getting us orientated. We had booked a room without a bathroom but were nicely surprised to be told we'd been upgraded to a private bathroom! The room was basic but clean but had a fan, a shower and a toilet and the beds were comfortable enough. There was a big lock on the door so we felt safe leaving iPads and passports inside. the building is old but they've kept it maintained and with the thick walls it meant we hardly heard any noise once the windows were closed. There is a nice terrace at the back of the building where on one of the nights they threw a free spaghetti party! Didn't really see many other people but the ones we did were chatty and polite. All in all, if all you need is a safe comfortable place to bed down when spending a couple of nights in the city, you could do a lot worse than the Paraiso.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Paid for a double room with shared bathroom and kitchen--excellent value for such nicely built accommodations. Didn't feel like a hostel so much as a hotel, except for the front desk and entrance. Must buzz in downstairs and make your way up, ring a buzzer again to get in. The woman at check in was a bit sullen and abrupt but not extraordinarily so and not to the point of being rude. The room was clean, had a balcony, and had nice floors and doors, almost a rustic feeling. The bathroom was nicely designed and decorated; kitchen was stocked with items for cooking and was also clean. One almost drawback: the enclosed balcony had a wall only three quarters to the ceiling, in effect being open to the neighboring balconies as well. Not a privacy issue if you close the doors to the balcony, but when the neighbors smoke (as at least one did during my stay) the smell will enter your room.

It is a few minute walk to the metro so could be convenient for seeing the rest of Barcelona. Borders an almost dodgy neighborhood, not suitable for the timid, but if you don't go on the side streets it is not an issue. Many interesting bars and restaurants in the vicinity. I felt comfortable at Paraiso and would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Factory House Hostel
#165 of 728 in Barcelona
128 reviews
Les Corts
Dream Cube Hostel
Dream Cube Hostel
#128 of 728 in Barcelona
83 reviews
El Raval
Poprooms Barcelona
Poprooms Barcelona
#297 of 728 in Barcelona
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Be Sound Hostel
Be Sound Hostel
#354 of 728 in Barcelona
138 reviews
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
#211 of 728 in Barcelona
122 reviews
Eixample
Barcelo Hostel
Barcelo Hostel
#242 of 728 in Barcelona
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Travellers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Travellers Hostel

Property: Paraiso Travellers Hostel
Address: Ronda de Sant Pau, 55 - 57 | Principal 1°, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #480 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Paraiso Travellers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the sightseeing, culture, restaurants area of Barcelona city, Paraiso Hostel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. Situated in the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. For those of you who want to venture out, Sant Antoni MArket, MACBA Museum, and the Old Port are just some of the attractions available to visitors.There are two subway stations that allow you to access all the others: Paral-lel (L3, Green) and San Antoni (L2, Violet).At Paraiso Hostel, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are laundry service/dry cleaning, safety deposit boxes, elevator, Wi-Fi in public areas, tours.Our large bright common room includes a huge LCD Satellite TV featuring channels in French, English, Spanish, German and Italian and a wide selection of DVDs. There is also 24 hour Internet access and free Wireless access if you bring your laptop!In addition, all guestrooms feature a variety of comforts such as television, shared bathroom, satellite/cable TV, desk, shower to please even the most discerning guest. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Paraiso Hostel is your one-stop destination for quality hotel accommodations in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paraiso Travellers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Travellers Hotel Barcelona
Paraiso Travellers Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing