We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of AC Hotel Gava Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Hotel Gava Mar
Ranked #223 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Although outside of the city this is a great beachfront hotel. Nice gardens and pool. The breakfast buffet is fine although not outstanding. Surprised that it didn't have the outside bar open on a summers evening but there is a great beach bar just a moments walk outside the gate.

We only stayed one night en-route to our holiday villa but enjoyed it. I didn't see an issue with the staff they were quite polite to us.

I would have no problem recommending this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Good location.

The hotel was clean.

The only thing in contra is a staff. We have been a couple of times in this hotel and we can confirm that the staff is not polite nor sympatic. We do not expect this kind of service in a 4 star Marriot hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A nice clean modern hotel with nice garden / swiming pool and gated access to the beach (2 mins walk). 15/20mins drive to the airport, though you dont hear any plane. Well away from the city so maybe good as a chill out after a manic few days in the city.
Rooms open and modern. Nice swish bathrooms with very powerful showers over baths. They have missed a trick by not having balconies as all rooms have garden and sea views.
Odd additions to the rooms - a 90s cd player (tho no ipod doc) / a flat screen oldschool free standing tv (this should be wide screen and on the wall, and all pictures appeared squashed).
Pet hate - they charge for wifi in the rooms (why? I have just paid 100 euros for a room. its 2013!!) but note before you pay - it is free in the lobby and terrace!!
Breakfast is very good with a nice selection.
Badly needs a bar facility. There is a 'ring for service' facility on the terrace - but too slow. Wake up Spanish!!! when you have 15 tired deligates from a conference sat there after a days work you could make mucho money!!!!!

Great tip - for an awesum evening meal, come out of the hotel - turn right and walk for about 2 mins. Suddenly you arrive at the most amazing glass/decked modern restaurant. Speciality of seafood but also serving all food. You wont find a better place within walking distance.

Room Tip: first or second floor you have a nice view of the sea and garden (ground floor you can only see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

If you are looking for a quiet stay not far from the airport THIS IS IT! Modern rooms, modern amenties, and great customer service..You are right on the beach which makes for great walk, sunset views and the sounds of the waves. There is a great restaurant within walking distance Restaurant Torreon I would recommend as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AZoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is a clean modern efficient Marriott hotel right on the beach in Barcelona and very close to the airport. It is not your usual choice if you want to be down town Barcelona for the usual sights. However, that is only a 15 to 20 minute cab ride away.

The AC Hotel is 50 yards away from one of Barcelona's best restaurants in my view, El Torreon, which you simply must go to for lunch or dinner. Ideal for a weekend stay Saturday dinner or Sunday long lunch. As usual in Spain dinner doesn't really kick off until 10pm.

The beach is also a lovely long walk with some great bars and cafes along the way to relax in. Gets nicely busy at weekends with the locals out having fun - roller blading, biking, fishing etc.

As for the hotel, it is modern and clean. Rooms have all you need but are certainly not plush or luxurious. Bathrooms are fine, shower pressure and temperature a little variable at times.
Fairly standard buffet breakfast.

The hotel has an underground car park for EUR15 per night as parking around there can be difficult.

If taking a cab to the hotel be sure to ask for Gava Mar near Castelldefels That is what the taxi drivers know.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMcBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel with a pool directly on the beach. If you're looking for a place near the tourist sites in Barcelona, this ain't it. However, it you're looking for a beautiful location to just chill, this is your place. Also, we stayed here on our last night in Barcelona because it's close to the airport.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

good location - i was there already three times.

THe taxi driver always have a problem to find it. The GPS does not recognize the street.

Anyway, close to beach - and the food is good. Excellent coffee.

However, it is not close to the center - but the taxis in barca are not expensive. So, the 15min ride does not matter.

Room Tip: the view is splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jörg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
1.7 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
2.5 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#4 of 17 in Castelldefels
271 reviews
13.5 mi away
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hotel Front Maritim
Hotel Front Maritim
#306 of 515 in Barcelona
996 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Playafels
Hotel Playafels
#12 of 17 in Castelldefels
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Solifemar Aparthotel
Solifemar Aparthotel
#8 of 17 in Castelldefels
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Gava Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Gava Mar

Address: C/ Tellinaires 33 - 35 | Gava, 08850 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £88 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Gava Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Gava Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Ac Gava Mar Barcelona
AC Hotel Gava Mar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing