We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise”
Review of AC Hotel Gava Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Gava Mar
Ranked #269 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We decided to end a transatlantic cruise with a beach day, staying at this hotel. It was almost too inexpensive, so we wondered about quality. It is great quality, has amazing views and facilities. It is right on the Mediterranean (beware that it has European-style bathing there -- but not at the hotel's very nice pool nearby). Nice restaurant. Helpful multilingual staff. Has free wifi in public areas, but not the room. Exceptionally wonderful room. It is also not far from the airport, which made flying out early the next morning easy. We are planning to take a cruise next year from Barcelona to Florida, and plan to begin it there on the beach. We had been to Barcelona previously so we were not so interested in touring the city, as just relazing at the hotel and beach. This is a great place for that. I rarely give a review anywhere near this positive, but as you can tell I think it is a bit of a hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    193
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
77
124
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had the opportunity to have some down time in Barcelona and picked this hotel due to it's location close to the beach in Gava Mar. Very pleasantly suprised at how nice the hotel was. Staff was very freindly, accomodations were clean and very up to date. Pool and bar area were very relaxing and very short walk across a bike path to a great beach. Hotel doesn't have restaurant for dinner, but plenty of restaurants are a 5 min walk to town along the beach. Absolutely fantastic hotel for relaxing and enjoying some down time. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTrvlerWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACHotelGavaMar, Dpto. Calidad at AC Hotel Gava Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear BizTrvlerWW

We love to hear you enjoyed the area and your stay with us.
I take this oportunity to inform you that we are reforming our facilities and, very soon, our customers will enjoy a new Bar, Restaurant and Pool Bar areas.
If you want to try it we'll be pleased to wellcoming you again.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a great hotel, nice rooms, nice pool, on the beach. This is a 5 star hotel if you're looking for peace, quiet, but still have proximity to Barcelona. The service is good, the beach is serene, quiet, not crowded, clean, and beautiful.

But its still a drive into the city - 15-20 minutes, maybe more in traffic. If you're looking to have a romantic, quiet getaway and head to the city a few times then this is the place for you. If you're looking to be in the center of it all, this definitely isn't the place.

Room Tip: Opt for ocean view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmisra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Received straight away an upgrade as a Marriott Platinum member which is always appreciated. The room was very nice and modern. Wifi was working fine. Hotel was clean and the breakfast buffet had enough choices. Perfect location for an airport break. The hotel is close to the airport (not in the city Center) and near the beach. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristof M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

we stayed at the hotel in room 203 with balcony . the hotel is nice . they have amazing view to the beach . the room was not bad . the breakfast was very poor . the hotel its not near the ramblas . ita about 30 euro by taxi . but the person who need quiet area he should stay at this hotel . the internet is chargeble by 12 euro per day . my self i enjoyed my stay cos i got relax .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kassem t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
723 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel lacks the spit and shine one would expect with a Marriott name. The location is outstanding as it is just in front of a beautiful beach. The rooms are OK, but small. The breakfast buffet is good, but one can not order eggs the way you might want them. The internet available for a fee in the rooms is terrible. The best connection is in the lobby.This hotel is close to the Barcelona airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dealmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACHotelGavaMar, Public Relations Manager at AC Hotel Gava Mar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mr. Dealmaker

I would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel during your recent stay in Barcelona.
It is very encouraging for us to receive your feedback, which provides a motivation for us to keep up the hard work and to further improve our level of service.
Thank you for your important comments like WIFI connection in rooms, on this moment we are working so hard to guarantee a good connection and we appreciate as well your detail about our breakfast, we take note to improve it.
I take this opportunity to thank you for completing the questionnaire and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you for your attention.

King regards,

Quality Department
Hotel AC Gavà Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here one night before an early morning flight. We had fairly low expectations and in some ways they were exceeded. As noted by others, the hotel is a bit worn about the edges. Our room had a slightly stale smell and no ventilation in the bathroom. Aside from that, however, it was well designed, clean and comfortable. We had a nice dinner at a restaurant about a block away followed by a very pleasant evening walk on the beach. On the negative side, wifi access is expensive (12 euros for 24 hours) and turned out to be not very reliable – I had to stand near the door of the room to get a strong signal. We had a slight scare in the morning when the taxi arranged by the front desk did not show up. (The area is very residential and there is no chance of hailing a taxi on the street.) We were able to get another one, however, and made it to the airport in plenty of time. (The trip is about 5 minutes.) Overall, the hotel served its purpose for us. It is expensive for what it is, but I doubt there is a better option so close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACHotelGavaMar, Public Relations Manager at AC Hotel Gava Mar, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mr. Dtk1,

I would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel during your recent stay in Barcelona.

Here at AC Hotel Gavà Mar, we strive to improve our level of service with every guest, providing you with the most comfortable accommodation during your stay and with an enjoyable overall experience.

We take note about your important comment like WIFI conection and we will work so hard about if.

I take this opportunity to thank you for completing the questionnaire and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

King regards,
Quality Dpt.
AC Gavà Mar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
1.7 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
1.6 mi away
Solifemar Aparthotel
Solifemar Aparthotel
#6 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#5 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
#7 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
13.6 mi away
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#206 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Gava Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Gava Mar

Property: AC Hotel Gava Mar
Address: C/ Tellinaires 33 - 35 | Gava, 08850 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#167 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Gava Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Gava Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Ac Gava Mar Barcelona
AC Hotel Gava Mar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing