We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Gava Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AC Hotel Gava Mar
Ranked #283 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at the AC Hotel Gava Mar recently and loved the hotel and it's proximity to the airport and the beach. The hotel was clean and in great condition. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful providing information about the area and reserving taxis.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick344515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACHotelGavaMar, Public Relations Manager at AC Hotel Gava Mar, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Mr. Rick344515,

Thank you for your comments and I’ll be waiting for you on your next stay in Barcelona.
Regards,

Quality Department
AC Gavà Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    182
    52
    16
    8
See reviews for
71
119
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located on the beach. Nice place to stay if you are not interested in the hussle of Barcelona. Hotel is relatively close to the airport. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and modern. Happy made the choice to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spartyvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were looking for a hotel in Castelldefels to spend some beach time near Barcelona, but incredibly no hotel in the Castelldefels accepted to include our two children with us in the same room (4 total). Well I decided to look in the nearby town of Gava and found that in this AC-Marriott hotel they were OK to accommodate the 4 of us in the same room...first hit!!! Well, nice surprise, the hotel is nice, clean, looks new, nice rooms, and like most ACs I've been at, modernly decorated. It has a nice swimming pool and just by a nice clean beach. Staff is friendly, very efficient at check-in and check-out. I got free complementary wi-fi during the whole stay and a nice breakfast buffet was included in my fare, all for a reasonable price. There is a restaurant in which food is OK, not being outstanding, but OK for hotel standards. Just two things to consider and not get surprised by: restaurant or food service is not available during the whole day, and the bar by the pool is there but you need to wait to somebody to take care of you after you ring a bell, and sometimes it takes quite a long time. Also consider that this is in Gava, about 20 - 30 minutes from Barcelona, depending on traffic. If you want to go out you either walk around, or you take a taxi that will take you to the nearest train station, that by the way is not at a walking distance. By train you can easily reach Castelldefels, Sitges or Barcelona pretty easily. Finally, hats-off to Giovanny, the waiter at the restaurant, great guy with great attitude toward the customers...pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We decided to end a transatlantic cruise with a beach day, staying at this hotel. It was almost too inexpensive, so we wondered about quality. It is great quality, has amazing views and facilities. It is right on the Mediterranean (beware that it has European-style bathing there -- but not at the hotel's very nice pool nearby). Nice restaurant. Helpful multilingual staff. Has free wifi in public areas, but not the room. Exceptionally wonderful room. It is also not far from the airport, which made flying out early the next morning easy. We are planning to take a cruise next year from Barcelona to Florida, and plan to begin it there on the beach. We had been to Barcelona previously so we were not so interested in touring the city, as just relazing at the hotel and beach. This is a great place for that. I rarely give a review anywhere near this positive, but as you can tell I think it is a bit of a hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had the opportunity to have some down time in Barcelona and picked this hotel due to it's location close to the beach in Gava Mar. Very pleasantly suprised at how nice the hotel was. Staff was very freindly, accomodations were clean and very up to date. Pool and bar area were very relaxing and very short walk across a bike path to a great beach. Hotel doesn't have restaurant for dinner, but plenty of restaurants are a 5 min walk to town along the beach. Absolutely fantastic hotel for relaxing and enjoying some down time. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTrvlerWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACHotelGavaMar, Dpto. Calidad at AC Hotel Gava Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear BizTrvlerWW

We love to hear you enjoyed the area and your stay with us.
I take this oportunity to inform you that we are reforming our facilities and, very soon, our customers will enjoy a new Bar, Restaurant and Pool Bar areas.
If you want to try it we'll be pleased to wellcoming you again.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a great hotel, nice rooms, nice pool, on the beach. This is a 5 star hotel if you're looking for peace, quiet, but still have proximity to Barcelona. The service is good, the beach is serene, quiet, not crowded, clean, and beautiful.

But its still a drive into the city - 15-20 minutes, maybe more in traffic. If you're looking to have a romantic, quiet getaway and head to the city a few times then this is the place for you. If you're looking to be in the center of it all, this definitely isn't the place.

Room Tip: Opt for ocean view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmisra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Received straight away an upgrade as a Marriott Platinum member which is always appreciated. The room was very nice and modern. Wifi was working fine. Hotel was clean and the breakfast buffet had enough choices. Perfect location for an airport break. The hotel is close to the airport (not in the city Center) and near the beach. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristof M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
1.6 mi away
Solifemar Aparthotel
Solifemar Aparthotel
#9 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Masd Mediterraneo Hotel Apartamentos Spa
2.6 mi away
Bel Air Hotel
Bel Air Hotel
#6 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marina Gardens
Royal Marina Gardens
#10 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel SB BCN Events
Hotel SB BCN Events
#1 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo
BEST WESTERN Mediterraneo
#5 of 16 in Castelldefels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Gava Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Gava Mar

Property: AC Hotel Gava Mar
Address: C/ Tellinaires 33 - 35 | Gava, 08850 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#171 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Gava Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your AC Hotel Gava Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Ac Gava Mar Barcelona
AC Hotel Gava Mar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing