We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop over before the cruise”
Review of Hotel Advance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Advance
Ranked #325 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“stop over before the cruise”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hotel rooms were small but beds VERY comfortable, great rest after walking all day in the Ramblas. Is it just me but I really miss no tea and coffee in the room :-( great , red hot shower which again was a great comfort at night. Felt safe and happy here but just needed a few more "home touches" to make it a place to return to.
Reception and taxis all very helpful.

Room Tip: rooms at the back were quiet but no views just roof tops and other peoples balconies etc , looked li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    153
    48
    27
    13
See reviews for
47
191
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel is located 3-5 minutes walk from University Pl and 8-10 min walk from Katalunia square. It is on a side street so it is quite quiet. Metro is 2 min walk- so the location is very good.
The hotel looks like it was recently renovated. Very nice contemporary art deco style. Very clean. The beds are among the best I had in hotels- nice firm matress. Rooms are small but it is common in hotels located at the center of big towns all over Europe and America.
WiFi is free in the room as well as public areas. Breakfast is complimentary- variety of cheese, breakfast meats, yogurts, scrambled eggs with bacon and freshly prepared capucino. Excellent! Very close is a superb bakery!!!
The rooms staff leave the room very nicely cleaned and organized. The front desk staff is knowledgable and willing to help although it will be done without a shadow of compassion - you feel like you disturb them.
All together we had a great say and would recommend it warmly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MShamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My daughter (14 years old) and I stayed here a few weeks ago on a 5 day trip to Barcelona. The hotel is in the Universitat section of Barcelona, and is about a 5-10 minute walk from where the AirLink bus from the airport stops. It is close to restaurants and shops, and about a 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas (the main pedestrian walkway through Barcelona that leads down to the beach). It was a very convenient location and not noisy since it was not right in the heart of town. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Our only complaint was the wi-fi which was very flaky and often didn't work. We did not eat at the restaurant so we can't comment on that (there are so many food offerings nearby, we didn't see a need to eat at the hotel). Breakfast was not included with the room, but there is a small supermarket across the street from the hotel so you could get food there as well. The staff were friendly and helpful and gave us directions whenever we asked (and put up with my pathetic attempts at speaking Spanish). I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay in Barcelona , would recomend this hotel to anyone so stylish & comfortable in great location for exploring this city close to metro & las rambles could not find one fault BRILLIANT

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear v quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Great hotel and location , the service is great, staff is very friendly and helpful always, internet connection can be a bit faster but it is ok it is a small and cousy, breakfast varieties can be increased and do some additions I will also stay for my next stay by the end of november this year.....

Room Tip: Will be a wise choice to stay in the hotel as teh hotel is pretty nice and cousy, good for couples a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gulnldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Currently staying at advance hotel. Rooms are TINY, theres no water boiler not alone coffee or tea. At night its freezing and there is no heating. The only solution we were given was an additional blanket.
Location is good, but definetly NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvHazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is a small boutique style hotel, about 7 minutes walk from Las Ramblas.
The hotel is spotlessly clean. Our standard room had a large double bed, excellent Air Con and a shower room with a powerful shower.
There is a small QUIET lift serving all floors.
There's free wifi and a digital safe in the room.
A kettle in the room would be a good idea.
The hotel reception staff were the most helpful and obliging we've experienced anywhere.
The breakfast room is only small and can be a bit crowded at times.
I would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
504 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#79 of 513 in Barcelona
885 reviews
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#144 of 513 in Barcelona
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#93 of 513 in Barcelona
1,606 reviews
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#258 of 513 in Barcelona
476 reviews
El Raval
Sunotel Central
Sunotel Central
#317 of 513 in Barcelona
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Advance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Advance

Property: Hotel Advance
Address: Sepulveda 180, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Advance 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and only 10 minutes walk from La Fira and 5 minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and Paseo de Gracia, and next to the historic and charming neighborhoods of El Raval, Gothic and El Born,hotel Advance brings you closer to museums and major attractions where you can get lost and discover Barcelona. The 1888 building was the old familiar "Casa Farmis" which later became the home of the Marquis of Framis where they lived until 1990. Designed by interior designer Santi Nin and some family members Bondia, you will receive a magnificent entrance doors, fully restored, dating from the late nineteenth century. The Hotel Advance, combines elegance, modernity and comfort, the hotel has 38 rooms, some with nice terraces where you feel the authentic Barcelona. All rooms are equipped with T.V. hairdryer, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. The Hotel Advance, all equipment will serve you with professionalism and attention that our guests deserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Advance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Advance Hotel
Hotel Advance Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing