We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,great information”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona City Centre Hostal
Ranked #269 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2011

this hostal is only 4 block walk to all the interesting places,la ramblas ect,bars and restaurants just outside the door,metro station 100mtrs,perfect for the price.
the staff are great,made us very welcome.valeria suggested places to visit,made our trip much better.
the rooms are comfortable and clean,what more do you need?
we will return to explore more of barcelona in the spring.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike1948_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi!

Thanks a lot sharing your excellent experience in Barcelona City Centre Hostal. Many guests tell us how useful are all the opinions, positive or negative, in order to get an idea about us and to help them deciding where to book.

We always try to give value for money depending of the how busy is the city and our place.

Hope to see you again. We always to make little improvement in order to not fail your expectations.

Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We travelled to Barcelona for the Mercé Fiesta and again stayed at Hostal Barcelona City Centre and as usual it was clean and tidy and the staff their usual friendly helpful selves, in particular Anna. This time we were with our mentaly disabled son, who was always treated with great respect and understanding. The room we had, (a triple bed room) was a tad on the small side, and after some re-arrangement of the furniture seemed to grow larger. As a place to stay, close to all the action it could no be better close to Placa Catalunya, Placa Universitat, (always better for the metro than Catallunya, far less crowded) Glories and many of the architectural wonders all only minutes walk away.
I cannot recommend this hostal highly enough, OK it is difficult to find the on the first visit, and the entrance to the building is somewhat unwelcoming, and the vintage lift a bit of an adventure,but once you get up to the hostal on th first floor the change is unbelievable.
you get your own keys to the entrance to the building, the hostal and of course your room, so you are free to come and go as you please.
we will deffinately be back again and again and again.............

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi!

First of all, thanks, thanks and thanks again for a so much positive review. Is the second one coming from you in five years! Sincerely, we think we are not perfect and we have always things to improve in order to give more pleasant stays to all our guests.

Just tell you we cannot do anything with the entrance, the lift... as we don't occupy the full building and just we can improve our place, not the common spaces of the building. We know that is the thing our guests less like of our place, but it is not really our place and it is out of our hands to improve it...

I have already answered other review coming from you titled "best kept secret", from December of 2006, about your first staying in Barcelona City Centre. We still find this review as a perfect, probably the best description of what people can expect from our accommodation. Many times, people likes an accommodation only if it reaches the created expectations and if it is the type of accommodation they're looking for. Opinions like yours help people to get an idea. We really appreciate it.

As I told you in my other answer, just add that now the guests enjoy fridge in their own rooms and we have renovated several things since you came in our place. Now we are definitely giving cheap and good breakfasts (not buffet breakfast, but similar to it with personal service of our staff, don't miss our cakes and our tortilla!) and we are working the presence of our chain Barcelona City Hotels in social networks (a bit late, as our involvement with Tripadvisor).

Finally, just let you know now Anna is working in Barcelona City Hotel, just two blocks away, in our hotel and central office of our chain. She is now the Assistant Manager of all the chain! Her good work in the last eight years deserves it!

Hope to see you again! Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Barcelona City Centre Hostal is in a great spot close to all the action on the Ramblas but also close to Guadi, tourist buses and traditional tapas bars. The owner, Maria, will greet you and give you all the information and support you require to enjoy your stay. The rooms are very clean and the linen is changed daily. We felt extremely welcome and comfortable. The negative review from redhotninja must have been written by some deluded fool who thinks you get a 4 star hotel with swimming pool in this price range. I agree the main hall to the building is scruffy but the hostal is clean and well looked after. Also be reminded that this hostal is at number 60 Balmes and the label for the establishment is on the bottom of the list on the door buzzer. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Just look out for the door buzzer at number 60 Balmes. It is opposite Hostal Eden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Hi!

First of all, thanks rating us with an "Excellent!" and sharing your experience in our place in this website.

A lot of people value our kind attention, cleanliness and the location of the hostel. These are, probably, the most repeated positive things in all reviews.

Just announce you that from your staying we have improved some things, as we always try to do. Now we have breakfasts service and all rooms enjoy a private fridge.

We are agree that the main hall of the building is not nice, but it is out of our hand to improve it, as we are responsible of our place, we don't own the full building. I see that you understood that perfectly.

Finally, you are mentioning the review of another person (redhotninja). We just can tell everybody that before booking a place the best thing is to check two very bad, two very good and two average reviews anywhere. That is normally a good way to get a good idea of what can be expected of a place and what not, but never book a place without reading some review and the place information, because you will be making simply a blind booking.

Hope to see you again! Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This has to be the most horrific hostal experience ever. Not only did my boyfriend have to walk blocks up and down to actually FIND the place- but there is NO SIGN on the door that tells you that you've arrived to the hostal.

Let me get started by saying that I have stayed in hostals before- I highly recommend the MareNostrum Hostal in Barcelona- and I have been travelling since I was 2. The moment I walked into this place, the walls were all mossy and needed some serious painting, and lacked cared. The elevator looked like a torture chamber- a kind of Texas Chainsaw Massacre-like setting. I would honestly not be surprised if someone got caught in there once or twice.

The beds looked old (and stained) and the room faced an old broken wall from the other building. THIS IS NO WAY IS CENTRALLY LOCATED. There are far better places that you can get for what this place tried to charge us (250 euros for three night). For that price, you can stay at the Zenith Borrell hotel which is 6 blocks away and a four star hotel.

Please note that this place DOES NOT refund your money if you are not satisfied and/or decide to cancel your reservation.

Hideous place, not to mention scary. I can only image what people go through trying to find this place in the middle of the night.

Oh and here is the best part- the "manager on site" is a nearly barefooted 27 year old nerd with dirty feet who will not HELP YOU AT ALL. Do not trust the pictures on their website and if you do end end up coming and getting charged an obnoxious amount of money for such a craphole, call your credit card company and start a dispute process.

These people are fraudelent and not willing to even help you out if you are in a bind. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little_Wiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I were moved here from another hotel and were so pleased to receive a pleasant welocme having been robbed on the Metro that day (take care in Barcelona folks)

The rooms were modern and we had a triple for the same price as a double. There was a spotless tiled bathroom. We liked the reception area witha computer to use and a seating area. The breakfasts were 5 euros and really brilliant. Unlimited croissaants and pastries fruit ,cereal yoghurt juice, coffee, cheese and ham.
We had planned to stay in Gracia but this was central with some evening tapas bars. We would return here as it is so well run.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melaniehookuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi!

Thanks a lot for your positive opinion about our place. These opinions help a lot other people to get an idea what they can expect from Barcelona City Centre Hostal.

I see you appreciated our cleanliness, welcoming service...

We think we can always improve some thing. For example, we have just put a fridge in each room of our place, something that our guests have really appreciated.

Our breakfasts may change from one day to another, so maybe one day you find a good spanish ham and the day after instead of it you find a good tortilla... You can have them included in your room price only booking in our website! If not they can cost from 3,5€ to 7€, depending if you buy them for all your staying, just one day...

Hope to see you again! Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

+Nice location near a metro station and not so close to the Rambla which is too noisy.
+Clean room and fresh towels, free wifi, plenty of hot water.
+Friendly staff, especially Maria
+Super-market and coffee shops just around the corner.

-The room was too small with almost no natural light and very small-no space to undress.
-The same thing with the shower, you had to put your shampoo between your teeth, because it was impossible to pick it up from the floor.
-The doors let in too much noise, we were just lucky because we didn't have noisy neighbors.

Room Tip: you can ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Μαριάννα Ο
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hi!

First of all, thanks for sharing your opinion with other people in this website.

We are glad that you liked so much the location of our hostel. The truth is that it is in a privileged place. Thanks also appreciating our cleanliness and friendly staff.

On the question of the room size, Barcelona City Centre Hostel complies with the regulations, which determines the minimum square meters must have the rooms of an accommodation. Think that being in the center of Barcelona, we adjust best to provide the best value for money, so you don't pay for unused spaces.

We hope see you again in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards!

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

This is a terrific place to stay if you're the traveler who doesn't focus on hotel amenities. The rooms and common areas are clean and well-kept. Air conditioning is controlled by room. The hotel about a 5 minute walk to La Rambla and is just blocks away from Barcelona's gay nightlife. My partner and I were able to enjoy Barcelona while staying at this small, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polgmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hi!

Thanks a lot for your feedback, it is very useful for everybody!

We know many people loves that the air-conditioned in the room is controlled individually.

Thanks appreciating our location and cleanliness.

Hope to see you again! Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#68 of 516 in Barcelona
1,621 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#341 of 516 in Barcelona
863 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#210 of 516 in Barcelona
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#395 of 516 in Barcelona
271 reviews
Barcelona City Seven
#136 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#51 of 308 in Barcelona
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Centre Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Centre Hostal

Address: Balmes, 60. Entresuelo, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £35 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelona City Centre Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcome to Barcelona City Centre! This accommodation allows you to enjoy a privileged location in Barcelona that will allow you to sleep one step away from everywhere. Just three blocks away from Catalunya square, Las Ramblas or the gothic quarter; near Passeig de Gràcia, the touristic bus, Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and the modernistm route. The rooms offer you everything necessary to have a pleasant stay, an experience you will wish to repeat. All rooms are air-conditioned and enjoy private bathroom, tv, satellite tv, free wi-fi acces to internet, hairdryer, refrigerator...Furthermore, any of our guest rooms include access to all the services and facilities of the common area, with the possibility of using a computer with internet acces for free, microwave, kettle, cups, vending machine…Enjoy the city, sleep easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona City Centre Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing