We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona City Centre Hostal
Ranked #269 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The staff were super helpful and friendly, the rooms were good and the location was fine. I haven't stayed anywhere else in Barcelona so I can't compare it with other accommodation. I would certainly use it again if I were to return

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi!

A big thank you for sharing your impressions about Barcelona City Centre Hostal with everybody.

Many guests tell us how useful are all the opinions that see in this website in order to choose their accommodation.

We are proud that you prefer to not compare or try some new place and that will book us again if you come back. Thank you very much!

Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Pros: Great location, inexpensive, friendly staff, computer in lobby.
Cons: No Frills, Uncomfortable beds, poorly lit entrance, noisy, staff not always on hand.

This hostel is right in a great location close to La Rambla, public transport and a variety of restaurants. Neighborhood is quiet, but I found the hostel noisy at night. Entrance to hostel is easy to miss if you're not paying attention and the only way up is either the creaky old elevator (we took it only once) or the dimly lit stairway. The rooms are small, simple and clean. There is a wardrobe for storing your clothes and a small table. Beds are very uncomfortable.

One of my biggest issues with this hostel is the fact that front office is rarely staffed. Someone comes for about two hours in the morning or when it is known that a guest is checking in. Otherwise, you're on your own. I prefer hostels with someone on staff who can provide assitance when I need it.

Rooms are cleaned daily and the cleaning staff seems to do a wonderful job in general; however, there was a bottle cap under my bed when I checked in that was still there when I checked out a few days later.

If you're looking for a no-frills, inexpensive hostel in a good location, then this will probably work for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichTrvlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great location, proximity to attractions, public transport and trains wonderful. Close to good eats. The rooms we had is very decent and with a patio.We have good space for our breakfast. The maid cleaned the room daily even we told her not to. Will I recommend it...Oh yes! One thing we had problem, clogged sink for few days, after using sign language with the maid, she finally fixed it, but we are to depart the next day. We stayed for several days and quite satisfied. It is a very basic hotel, but excellent wi-fi and internet access.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi!

First of all, thanks a lot sharing your experience in Barcelona City Centre Hostal. These opinions are very useful to help other people getting an idea what they can expect in our accommodation.

We are sorry about the problem with your sink. Fortunately you told it to us in order to fix it. Never doubt to speak with the staff if something is not working properly, sometimes is the only way we can know it and fix it as soon as possible.

Finally, just tell you we are not a hotel, we are hostel with -I think- very high standards, that is why many people confuse us with a hotel. Thanks appreciating our cleanliness and our internet access (from two weeks it comes from optical fiber, so know is faster than before!).

Hope to see you again in any of our chain accommodations.

Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

wi-fi is pretty good as well as location. staff was nice and english speaking. beds not too good, and noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mikhail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi!

First of all, thanks a lot sharing your opinions about Barcelona City Centre with other travelers in order to help them choosing their accommodation.

Just let you know wi-fi is now even better than before, as now it comes from optical fiber and by wi-fi is possible to reach speeds of 30, 40 or even 50Mb! Depending on the room you have the signal can be weaker, but as the speed has been multiplied per 10, theoretically it is pretty fine everywhere in the hostel.

About the noise, we do everything is in our hand in order to have an accommodation as silent as possible, like having soundproof ceilings or new soundproof windows. This year we want to change all the doors of the rooms in order to put unsound proof doors. Anyway, we do our best, but that is a thing that depends on our guests, we always call them for to be respectful with the rest of the guests.

Thanks appreciating our staff attention. I hope you will be able to come back some time and see our constant improvements, the last ones are to have a private fridge in all the rooms or to serve good breakfasts.

See you soon! Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were extremely impressed not only by the location and service, but the immaculately clean rooms! Hostels definitely imply some sacrificed comfort, but this place was unusually nice. Our room was cleaned daily, with fresh sheets and towels. There is wifi for the rooms as well. The staff were very helpful and always greeted us with smiles. It is a bit noisy with people coming and going, but that is to be expected. Overall it was money well spent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi!

First of all, thank you for you comments about our place, they are very useful for us and for guests looking for some place to sleep in our city.

About the noisy, it depends mainly on our guests. It is usually a peaceful place, but you know that sometimes... Anyway, I suppose you saw all the windows are soundproof and we are thinking now about putting some kind of "bunker" doors in the rooms. We always try to make it better...

We look always to be between is expected from a hotel and a hostel, as you can see in our website. We are proud that you appreciate it and you found your money well spent.

Thank you and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It is a nice hostel. Very convenient and friendly staff. The location is perfect and walking distance from the most popular sightseeing spots. i had a single room and it was nice. The information provided by the staff was great. They spoke english.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdinbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hi!

Thanks for your short and positive opinion about Barcelona City Centre.

A lot of people (practically all our guests) value the staff attention and the hostel location as the most strong points of our place.

We hope to see you again. We know that coming from China is a bit difficult to make so much kilometers, but don't doubt to come back and enjoy our city and our hostal again.

Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed in this hostal for four nights during New Years Eve. The hostal is freshly painted and rooms redecorated. We had a double room on the fromtside (number11), which had very good isolation from traffic sound and a nice cityview. Shower was hot and strong and staff is very helpful and friendly.
The best of the hostal is the location, close to metro and everything and away from the noisy pickpockety Ramblas. The rooms itself are quite small, but hey! you don't expect a four starr hotelroom for this price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hi!

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience in Barcelona City Centre with other guests!

Thanks for appreciating our efforts to isolate rooms from traffic noise, the hot water availability (more than 400 litres for 10 rooms) and our privileged location.

It is true that rooms are more little than a four stars hotel. We try to give budget accommodation with facilities as good as a good hotel. I saw you understood that perfectly.

Hope to see you again in a next visit. Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#66 of 517 in Barcelona
1,629 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#342 of 517 in Barcelona
864 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#210 of 517 in Barcelona
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#396 of 517 in Barcelona
271 reviews
Barcelona City Seven
#135 of 308 in Barcelona
90 reviews
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#51 of 308 in Barcelona
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Centre Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Centre Hostal

Address: Balmes, 60. Entresuelo, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £35 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelona City Centre Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcome to Barcelona City Centre! This accommodation allows you to enjoy a privileged location in Barcelona that will allow you to sleep one step away from everywhere. Just three blocks away from Catalunya square, Las Ramblas or the gothic quarter; near Passeig de Gràcia, the touristic bus, Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and the modernistm route. The rooms offer you everything necessary to have a pleasant stay, an experience you will wish to repeat. All rooms are air-conditioned and enjoy private bathroom, tv, satellite tv, free wi-fi acces to internet, hairdryer, refrigerator...Furthermore, any of our guest rooms include access to all the services and facilities of the common area, with the possibility of using a computer with internet acces for free, microwave, kettle, cups, vending machine…Enjoy the city, sleep easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona City Centre Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing