We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located, comfy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelona City Centre Hostal
Ranked #252 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well located, comfy place”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Hostal is located on Balmes which is close to the hub from where you can get the metro and the hop-off, hop-on buses. Las Rambals is less than a 10-minute walk. The room we had was cosy enough and if you like to have breakfast before you set off for the day, you can get a good one at the Hostal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing your opinion about Barcelona City Centre. Reviews as yours help other travelers to get an idea of our accommodation.

The location of Barcelona City Centre is one of the most valued things of our accommodation. We are glad you liked it, as well as our rooms.

Thanks also appreciating our new breakfast service. We are offering it since a few months ago and it has been a success.

We hope to see you again in some of our accommodations in Barcelona. Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    48
    25
    12
    21
See reviews for
21
50
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Nice place with a great location and very nice staff. Good for the money it costs. Shared kitchen but all else is private,very nice bathroom and bed. Free wifi with good speed. Downstaris 24hours supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adifirgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much sharing your opinion with us and all other users of Tripadvisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and you liked the attention of our staff. We love our job and we love Barcelona, so we try day by day to communicate this enthusiasm to our customers.

Thanks a lot appreciating our value for money and the good wi-fi internet connection. Wi-fi speed was good probably because since June of this year we multiplied per 10 its speed (high speed fiber optic!), as we know how important it is for our guests.

Finally, just let you know that now all rooms enjoy a private fridge!

We wish to welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port d'Alcudia, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Hi,I Have been meaning to write this review since we visited in January this year.
When you first arrive you have to walk upstairs, the lift looks a little scary.!!
We called the number on our voucher and nice gentleman came to let us in our room , he was very pleasant , room was very nice big enough for 2 people, shower good, overall rooms very good.
Location is excellent no need to get taxis as you are 5 minutes walk from most areas ie, ramblas.
Lots of restaurants and bars in near by area.
Overall for what we paid which was 106.00GBP total for 3 nights very impressed.
Keep up the good work, when we return to Barcelona we will be definatley be returning.

Room Tip: When you arrive in Barcelona Airport get the local bus, it stops outside the airport and its only ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor. It is important for other users to be able to read other experiences in order to make a good choice of their lodging in Barcelona.

The lift in Barcelona City Centre is ancient as a lot of other buildings in this quarter (Eixample). The important thing is that it does its function.

We are glad you liked our accommodation. Barcelona City Centre’s location is one of the best things valued of our lodging. Thanks also appreciating our value for money. Don't doubt we will keep up the good work, trying to offer always a better experience when you come back.

Just let you know, that since your staying we have begin to offer a good breakfast service and we have put a little fridge in all our rooms. We hope you will love it!

We wait to welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

I was really pleased with this place! My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights, it was a wonderful location, central to everything. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Maria. Internet was easily accessible on wifi and computer in lobby, the place was smal and often quiet, the street, despite being in the center of town, was very quiet. The only thing I didn't like was that very little light got in through the window, but this was really no problem at all. I don't know if all the rooms were like that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with other people. Is a pleasure for us that a Senior Reviewer in Tripadvisor gives us so high score.

We tried, as we always do, to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Since you slept with us we made some improvements: listening to our guests suggestions, now all our rooms enjoy a little fridge, for example.

Regarding the light, some of our rooms face to the street (in spite of having unsoundproofed windows, they are noisier, but with more light) and some of them to backyards (less light, more silence), that is very usual in Barcelona, as it is a very compact city.

Finally, just hope to see you again in any of Barcelona City Hotels' chain place and hope your experience will be as good as the last one.

Best Regards,

María
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argostolion, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Cheap in comparison with other hotels and located in a really nice spot (supermarket next to it, nice places to eat close to the hostel and 10 minutes walk to Placa Catalunya)! Almost all of the most known tourist attractons are within walking distance and there is a metro station close to it (Passeig de Gracia). The staff is really friendly, we arrived after midnight but there was someone there to welcome us, although it was past time for the check in. They gave us a map and marked for us the metro lines, the best things to see and even the places where pickpocket was usual. Clean enough, has big rooms, a shared kitchen and is really quiet (the structure of the room was such that we weren't annoyed at all by the traffic noise). The best choice for those who want something cheap and nice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioanna-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience in Barcelona City Centre Hostal.

I saw that you loved our privileged situation in the city, that is the most valued thing by all our guests, as well as our facilities and friendly service.

I think, sincerely, that we are not a cheap hotel. We just try to give the best value for money and I think that it is what you appreciate.

I hope to see you again in this or some other accommodation of our chain.

See you soon!

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Had to wait for them to arrive to allow access to our room since we arrived in the evening but service was good and atmosphere was very good and relaxing. Rooms were big enough for three people but not much time was spent there since Barcelona is such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi!

First of all, thank for taking your time sharing your experience in Barcelona City Centre Hostal.

Regarding your arrival, sometimes specially arriving late in evening or night, guests have to wait for some time as we don't have 24 hours reception. We are testing now to give this "out-of-time" check-ins in a hotel we own just three blocks away from the Barcelona City Centre.

Anyway, we provide all the guests with a confirmation e-mail where we ask their arrival time and we provide also an emergencies phone in order to advise us in case of unexpected delays and to agree the check-in time and place. I see it worked also this time!

Thanks again for your opinion and very proud that you loved our city (we too).

Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a hostel right in the heart of Barcelona, well almost. You can reach La Ramblas in 5 minutes on foot, or take a bus which stops right in front of the hostel. Rooms are average size but clean, and they are cleaned everyday. Bed sheets and towels are changed everyday as well. You get AC, wifi and a common kitchen where you can do some basic cooking and heating. Owner is very helpful and on the day of arrival, she explained all places of tourist interest and how to reach there by metro. Would definitely suggest this place for people looking for a nice place to stay within budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starmayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#383 of 513 in Barcelona
256 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#479 of 513 in Barcelona
519 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Ciudad Condal
Hostal Ciudad Condal
#149 of 723 in Barcelona
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Somnio Barcelona
Somnio Barcelona
#112 of 723 in Barcelona
219 reviews
Barcelona City Rooms
#455 of 723 in Barcelona
19 reviews
Eixample
Casa Maca Guest House
Casa Maca Guest House
#127 of 308 in Barcelona
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Centre Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Centre Hostal

Property: Barcelona City Centre Hostal
Address: Balmes, 60. Entresuelo, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelona City Centre Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcome to Barcelona City Centre! This accommodation allows you to enjoy a privileged location in Barcelona that will allow you to sleep one step away from everywhere. Just three blocks away from Catalunya square, Las Ramblas or the gothic quarter; near Passeig de Gràcia, the touristic bus, Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and the modernistm route. The rooms offer you everything necessary to have a pleasant stay, an experience you will wish to repeat. All rooms are air-conditioned and enjoy private bathroom, tv, satellite tv, free wi-fi acces to internet, hairdryer, refrigerator...Furthermore, any of our guest rooms include access to all the services and facilities of the common area, with the possibility of using a computer with internet acces for free, microwave, kettle, cups, vending machine…Enjoy the city, sleep easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona City Centre Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing