We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #24 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
bham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Winter Stay”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Location: great, near all the major sites, the beach is about a 20 minute walk away, and the camp now stadium was easily accessible.

Staff / Service: excellent at all times at the reception, and the city cafe / bar area.

Room 310: was quite nice, we have 2 beds that were supposed to be joined together, once we let the reception know they weren't, they got it sorted quickly. There is draft coming through the window, which is uncomfortable in the night, but i presume this wouldnt be an issue if it wasnt December. English channels including film 4 available, bathroom toiletries were included , theres a kettle in the room, so you could go to convenience store and get some coffee if you wanted. im not too fussed about not having any coffee. the milk for the tea was never refilled, which was a shame but again i think if i asked for it, the staff would have accommodated.

value for money: i booked through travago, and for 3 nights it came to about £415, this includes the full breakfast buffet (served till 11:30 which is great for us!!!!, the selection isnt massive, but it did the job) , and wifi (- not the fastest, but not too bad either infact im writing this review in the hotel using the wifi). we got little bottles of water and chocolate, everyday too.

I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zpmBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    418
    91
    20
    19
See reviews for
407
963
90
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Excellent winter break at this lovely hotel. The weather was exceptional for December, dry, warm and clear blue skies, ideal for sight seeing.
We were thoroughly spoilt at this hotel. Everything was perfect. Our first trip to Barcelona we will definitely return again in the Summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enid290956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Six of us stayed here for one night in November - recommended by a friend who had stayed here before. I definitely recommend it!

It's in a terrific location very close to the Gothic Quarter and the cathedral (not Sagrada Familia). We were dealt with very efficiently when we arrived and took the nice glass lift up to our room. Rooms were a good size - we were on the 3rd floor. All the facilities you would expect in a really nice hotel - you didn't get free wifi though which I thought was a bit odd. but do look out for the flip flops in the bathroom - nice touch :0)

The bed was two beds pushed together to make one huge one - but somehow through the night they did manage to move apart! Despite that - ridiculously comfortable and with the black out curtains on we slept in to about 11am!

The rooftop terrace is fantastic. Unfortunately the bar wasn't open when we went (because it was November - but you could take drinks up there) - there's loads of lounge seats, brilliant infinity pool (small but great) and great views. I am pretty sure in the summer it will be fantastic.

We didn't have the full breakfast but one for 3 euros where you get a pot of tea, three little pastries and an orange juice which was perfect. It's a really nice bar actually - one you'd visit for a bit of lunch regardless of whether you stay in the hotel or not.

I'd love to go back here in the summer; I think it would be fantasticQ

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights in October and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is excellent being right on the edge of the Born. A huge range of bars are within a couple of minutes walk, it's only about 10 mins to walk down to barceloneta and one minute to a metro station so the location gets top marks.

The hotel seems recently decorated and is done in a sort of minimalist but luxurious way. As soon as you step through the door there is a lovely fragrance and it's all very welcoming. (Incidentally , the building is very old and as you walk through the entrance you can see the stones from the original road where carts etc were brought into the courtyard - good to see they kept the original features).

We had one of the bigger rooms with five big windows - bright during the day but automatic blinds and shutters meant it could all be blacked out efficiently at night. Rooms were very comfortable - big king size bed, with a nespresso machine which was used constantly! The bathroom was fine, towels good, toiletries adequate, and the ubiquitous leaking shower which seems to be a feature of so many hotels here.

The bar off reception is very comfortable and serves food including items from the Ramon Freixa restaurant downstairs. We didn't try the restaurant but the nibbles in the bar were very tasty even though service could have been faster.

The pool on the roof is cool- an infinity pool with a view of barcelona.

Staff are multi- lingual and very helpful.

Overall, our stay was more than just the sum of the parts. The overall feeling was one of cosseted bliss from the moment you step through the front door. Sure,a couple of things were not perfect, but they didn't matter so much when everything else was so great. I will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irishtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here in October and it's perfectly located for sightseeing with the added benefit of a lovely rooftop pool to relax in the city !
Great size rooms and the bathroom was lovely ....
Great stay will definitely use again x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninjatania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs SA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great hotel. The hotel is in a great position easy to get everywhere, nice walk to the port. The staff are so friendly and very keen to help-always cheerful. The room was excellent. Clean comfortable, quiet, able to make so dark for sleeping, great bathroom.The highlight is the roof top although too cold to swim just sitting there enjoying that amazing view was a highlight of our trip. Amazing place to sit relax and enjoy Barcelona. It is well worth having breakfast here the selection is incredible.Would recomend this hotel too everyone it really is a great place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuefromLargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel was fabulous, being chic & contemporary, the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was extremely comfortable and the room was cleaned to a very high standard,we were delighted to find that most rooms now have tea trays. The bathroom was particularly luxurious, the toiletries were adequate but the water pressure was amazing, the superb shower in the en-suite bathroom pleased my husband and I enjoyed the bath. We booked a standard double which turned out to be two large single beds which did not link together, not a good start to an anniversary break.

The ground floor bar was generally quiet in the evenings but the central location meant we enjoyed eating out in a variety of restaurants close to the hotel. The roof top bar & pool was fabulous, we enjoyed coffee and the stunning view over the city. Service at breakfast was good and the breakfast buffet was pretty much four star international standard.

Situation of the hotel was perfect, quiet and central being on the edge of the gothic quarter. The Bus stop for the open top bus tours was just a few doors away, we could hop on and off at our leisure and the port area was just a stroll away. We explored the whole city using the two day bus ticket, great value and fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayneclifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,078 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,276 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 512 in Barcelona
4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#44 of 512 in Barcelona
1,626 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#32 of 512 in Barcelona
2,369 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing