We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Central
Nearby Hotels
US$267
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$394
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$395
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$220
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$197
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
W Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$685
US$529
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$378
US$325
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,284)
Filter reviews
2,284 results
Traveller rating
1,690
460
93
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,690
460
93
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcity barmaster suitegreat locationgothic quartervia laietanapicasso museumel bornbarcelona cathedralnespresso machineamazing hotelloved this hotelbusy streettapassight seeingvisiting barcelonacity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,742 - 1,747 of 2,284 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Beautifully located and well-appointed. Well-staffed. We had 3 nights. An ideal spot for first-timers in the city. Front-desk staff were polite, considerate and well-informed. Hotel is spotlessly clean without any evidence of cleaning staff and no cleaning trolleys in the passages. The rooftop pool site is breathtaking despite the cold weather. Room size is adequate for a short stay. Very comfortable bed, but noisy street below despite the fact that we were on the 5th floorFree wifi/complementary water and chocolates/beds turned down in the evening with night mats laid out on each side/TV channels covering all necessary options and more/generous and tasty breakfast with delicious coffee options. Didn't like the bathroom arrangements with wash basin separate from the loo and shower. Bathroom door didn't close completely. No shelf in the shower cubicle for shampoo/shower gel. Personal slip-slops a welcome touch. Library with magazines and another TV option a lovely touch, as is the hotel lounge. A good design concept integrating new and old.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomiheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Location: great, near all the major sites, the beach is about a 20 minute walk away, and the camp now stadium was easily accessible.

Staff / Service: excellent at all times at the reception, and the city cafe / bar area.

Room 310: was quite nice, we have 2 beds that were supposed to be joined together, once we let the reception know they weren't, they got it sorted quickly. There is draft coming through the window, which is uncomfortable in the night, but i presume this wouldnt be an issue if it wasnt December. English channels including film 4 available, bathroom toiletries were included , theres a kettle in the room, so you could go to convenience store and get some coffee if you wanted. im not too fussed about not having any coffee. the milk for the tea was never refilled, which was a shame but again i think if i asked for it, the staff would have accommodated.

value for money: i booked through travago, and for 3 nights it came to about £415, this includes the full breakfast buffet (served till 11:30 which is great for us!!!!, the selection isnt massive, but it did the job) , and wifi (- not the fastest, but not too bad either infact im writing this review in the hotel using the wifi). we got little bottles of water and chocolate, everyday too.

I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zpmBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Excellent winter break at this lovely hotel. The weather was exceptional for December, dry, warm and clear blue skies, ideal for sight seeing.
We were thoroughly spoilt at this hotel. Everything was perfect. Our first trip to Barcelona we will definitely return again in the Summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enid290956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Six of us stayed here for one night in November - recommended by a friend who had stayed here before. I definitely recommend it!

It's in a terrific location very close to the Gothic Quarter and the cathedral (not Sagrada Familia). We were dealt with very efficiently when we arrived and took the nice glass lift up to our room. Rooms were a good size - we were on the 3rd floor. All the facilities you would expect in a really nice hotel - you didn't get free wifi though which I thought was a bit odd. but do look out for the flip flops in the bathroom - nice touch :0)

The bed was two beds pushed together to make one huge one - but somehow through the night they did manage to move apart! Despite that - ridiculously comfortable and with the black out curtains on we slept in to about 11am!

The rooftop terrace is fantastic. Unfortunately the bar wasn't open when we went (because it was November - but you could take drinks up there) - there's loads of lounge seats, brilliant infinity pool (small but great) and great views. I am pretty sure in the summer it will be fantastic.

We didn't have the full breakfast but one for 3 euros where you get a pot of tea, three little pastries and an orange juice which was perfect. It's a really nice bar actually - one you'd visit for a bit of lunch regardless of whether you stay in the hotel or not.

I'd love to go back here in the summer; I think it would be fantasticQ

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in October and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is excellent being right on the edge of the Born. A huge range of bars are within a couple of minutes walk, it's only about 10 mins to walk down to barceloneta and one minute to a metro station so the location gets top marks.

The hotel seems recently decorated and is done in a sort of minimalist but luxurious way. As soon as you step through the door there is a lovely fragrance and it's all very welcoming. (Incidentally , the building is very old and as you walk through the entrance you can see the stones from the original road where carts etc were brought into the courtyard - good to see they kept the original features).

We had one of the bigger rooms with five big windows - bright during the day but automatic blinds and shutters meant it could all be blacked out efficiently at night. Rooms were very comfortable - big king size bed, with a nespresso machine which was used constantly! The bathroom was fine, towels good, toiletries adequate, and the ubiquitous leaking shower which seems to be a feature of so many hotels here.

The bar off reception is very comfortable and serves food including items from the Ramon Freixa restaurant downstairs. We didn't try the restaurant but the nibbles in the bar were very tasty even though service could have been faster.

The pool on the roof is cool- an infinity pool with a view of barcelona.

Staff are multi- lingual and very helpful.

Overall, our stay was more than just the sum of the parts. The overall feeling was one of cosseted bliss from the moment you step through the front door. Sure,a couple of things were not perfect, but they didn't matter so much when everything else was so great. I will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Irishtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews