We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Central
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casameva(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Suizo(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Colon Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jaume I(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Gotico(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (2,282)
Filter reviews
2,282 results
Traveller rating
1,688
460
93
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,688
460
93
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcity barmaster suitegreat locationgothic quartervia laietanapicasso museumel bornbarcelona cathedralnespresso machineamazing hotelloved this hotelbusy streettapassight seeingvisiting barcelonacity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,700 - 1,705 of 2,282 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is well placed for all the major sights and although it is on a main road has excellent sound proofing. It is contemporary in style, very modern, but quite dark inside. The rooms are well appointed and have tea making facilities and dressing gowns (but curiously no coffee). The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fine but not worth 24 euros, so it's worth considering room only and taking breakfast somewhere cheaper - there are plenty of options around the hotel.

Room Tip: We went for a superior double which was bigger and had two windows rather than one. Rooms on the side of the hotel are quiter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. The room category you had have tea facilities but not coffee. The following categories count with a Nespresso machine in the room for fresh coffee everyday.
I am happy to know that the overall experience was so good. Best Regards, Silvia de Blas, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've been to their terrace quite a lot of times and I always have a great time. The staff both at the reception in the lobby and on the terrace are really nice and professional.

The terrace is really relaxing, with low music and an infinity-edge swimming-pool which is perfect in the summer, since one can order cocktails/wine while having a refreshing bath. The views are nice, you can see the Agbar tower and also the Hotel Ars/Mapfre tower.

When the time of the year doesn't suit the usage of the swimming-pool the terrace is also great, since it has sofas and sunbeds all around and they serve great cocktails and wine, among other things. The cocktails are expensive but it's a hotel so it's something you can easily expect.

I totally recommend this terrace to anyone who wants to relax in a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCNNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The terrace is defintely a great relaxing place in the hotel after all day sightseeing in the city. Too bad the weather was not warm enough to swim but it is a relaxing period of the year to enjoy the terrace. Best Regards, Silvia de Blas G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent the easter weekend at the grand central hotel in barcelona, as soon as we got there, the reception staff were brilliant, room was fantastic with great views of the, the sky bar and city bar were great to have a drink in with really good music and also a great service, all the staff made you feel special and we cannot wait to go back, the Born is just around the corner and has great bars and restraunts, we also ate at the hotel restaraunt and the service and the food was first class. One of the best short breaks we have had and definately will be back. Thanks for making it special, much appreciated!!!! Darren & Joanne Swift

Room Tip: Room 605 is a fantastic room if you can get it, on the corner overlooking the catherdral
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for a few days prior to a cruise in October 2013. We found the staff very helpful whatever the time of our request, they have a good knowledge of the local area and directed us to a delightful fresh food market & supermarket around the corner. There was a problem with our toilet and the staff had it repaired quickly. Breakfast was sufficient, and the bar served great snacks, coffee & tea. We had a problem locating our friend in a nearby hotel and the staff went to the trouble of ringing their hotel & leaving a message for them, which we really appreciated.
I was intriqued by the Hotel entrance (grooves on the threshold & a kerb in the Hotel foyer) & the staff took time to explain the Hotel's history which I found fascinating ... when you stay there ask the front desk staff the story behind the grooves!
My only query is the dark grey paintwork on the corridor walls/doors - during a blackout etc it would be very dark with no lighter lines (skirting etc) to follow. But I would stay there again - oh & by the way - check out the amazing roof top pool!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is fantastic. Clean as a whistle. Trendy without being obnoxious. The MOST friendliest staff. They are willing to help you with anything. The rooms are a good size for a big city. The beds are comfortable. The 3 biggest pros about this place are the cleanliness, location, an staff. I cannot stress the staff thing enough. When we checked out the other day, there was a marathon that was starting in Barcelona. They closed the streets early. We thought we were going to be fine when we scheduled the taxi. Needless to say, the taxi was not able to pick us up for the airport. Eugeney....one of the bellmen, took our luggage as we walked about 10 blocks and did it so happily. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ckc10314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews