We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“M whelan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #29 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“M whelan”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel gud friendly staff reccomend.nice clean room gud food two mins walk too beach.would stop there again.breakfast amazin.wishedb i could dtp longer I will b bk soon .good rates and and the bestbin bundoron

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Micheal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    411
    91
    20
    19
See reviews for
391
932
88
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's well after midnight here, but I promised myself not to postpone this any longer. They say LOCTION LOCATION LOCATION, and they're right, it is fabulously located right opposite the (Old) Gothic City.
FACILITIES: Sweet 'City Bar', which is just a very nice place to sit at, and a lovely spot if one's into watching soccer games live on decent plasma screen...; Library - didn't use it, but looks nice; Roof-top swiming pool, with the Terrace and bar (anyone into chilling out?!), GREAT breakfast and the EXCELLENT Avalon restuarant which opens @ around 5 p.m. (and which we enjoyed at least twice).
Staff: I apologize 4 not remembering most of the very welcoming and helpfull staff's names (Phede and The Dutch and Argentinian girls, all at the front desk; Oliver "and associates" (again, apologies...) at the pool side bar and the City Bar. Last but not least, there's SAUL (named after the Biblical King no less). Above all and everywhere, whether it was the Lobby, the Avalon restuarant (during breakfast AND dinner) or the rooftop...(well, you get the pic.) - this guy is practically everywhere and whenever (morning, night, weekend), interacting and offering help and guidance with a radiating smile, sheer professionalism and splendid english. In a way, his presense literally upgraded our stay in Barcelona...MANY THANKS!!!

Room Tip: Can't really say, as I asked for higher floor and got one, I have no other rooms to comper with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you to you!!!!
Wow, your remember enough, everybody´s nationalities. I am going to thank personally all the team for making your stay so special.
By the way the names you are missing are: Luz ( the argentinian) , Talissa ( the dutch), of course Fede, Oliver, Saul and many more....great team work. We will keep it up!!! Looking forwards to welcome in your next Barcelona Trip. Best Regards, Silvia de Blas. G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is well placed for all the major sights and although it is on a main road has excellent sound proofing. It is contemporary in style, very modern, but quite dark inside. The rooms are well appointed and have tea making facilities and dressing gowns (but curiously no coffee). The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fine but not worth 24 euros, so it's worth considering room only and taking breakfast somewhere cheaper - there are plenty of options around the hotel.

Room Tip: We went for a superior double which was bigger and had two windows rather than one. Rooms on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The room category you had have tea facilities but not coffee. The following categories count with a Nespresso machine in the room for fresh coffee everyday.
I am happy to know that the overall experience was so good. Best Regards, Silvia de Blas, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've been to their terrace quite a lot of times and I always have a great time. The staff both at the reception in the lobby and on the terrace are really nice and professional.

The terrace is really relaxing, with low music and an infinity-edge swimming-pool which is perfect in the summer, since one can order cocktails/wine while having a refreshing bath. The views are nice, you can see the Agbar tower and also the Hotel Ars/Mapfre tower.

When the time of the year doesn't suit the usage of the swimming-pool the terrace is also great, since it has sofas and sunbeds all around and they serve great cocktails and wine, among other things. The cocktails are expensive but it's a hotel so it's something you can easily expect.

I totally recommend this terrace to anyone who wants to relax in a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCNNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The terrace is defintely a great relaxing place in the hotel after all day sightseeing in the city. Too bad the weather was not warm enough to swim but it is a relaxing period of the year to enjoy the terrace. Best Regards, Silvia de Blas G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent the easter weekend at the grand central hotel in barcelona, as soon as we got there, the reception staff were brilliant, room was fantastic with great views of the, the sky bar and city bar were great to have a drink in with really good music and also a great service, all the staff made you feel special and we cannot wait to go back, the Born is just around the corner and has great bars and restraunts, we also ate at the hotel restaraunt and the service and the food was first class. One of the best short breaks we have had and definately will be back. Thanks for making it special, much appreciated!!!! Darren & Joanne Swift

Room Tip: Room 605 is a fantastic room if you can get it, on the corner overlooking the catherdral
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for a few days prior to a cruise in October 2013. We found the staff very helpful whatever the time of our request, they have a good knowledge of the local area and directed us to a delightful fresh food market & supermarket around the corner. There was a problem with our toilet and the staff had it repaired quickly. Breakfast was sufficient, and the bar served great snacks, coffee & tea. We had a problem locating our friend in a nearby hotel and the staff went to the trouble of ringing their hotel & leaving a message for them, which we really appreciated.
I was intriqued by the Hotel entrance (grooves on the threshold & a kerb in the Hotel foyer) & the staff took time to explain the Hotel's history which I found fascinating ... when you stay there ask the front desk staff the story behind the grooves!
My only query is the dark grey paintwork on the corridor walls/doors - during a blackout etc it would be very dark with no lighter lines (skirting etc) to follow. But I would stay there again - oh & by the way - check out the amazing roof top pool!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is fantastic. Clean as a whistle. Trendy without being obnoxious. The MOST friendliest staff. They are willing to help you with anything. The rooms are a good size for a big city. The beds are comfortable. The 3 biggest pros about this place are the cleanliness, location, an staff. I cannot stress the staff thing enough. When we checked out the other day, there was a marathon that was starting in Barcelona. They closed the streets early. We thought we were going to be fine when we scheduled the taxi. Needless to say, the taxi was not able to pick us up for the airport. Eugeney....one of the bellmen, took our luggage as we walked about 10 blocks and did it so happily. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ckc10314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,253 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#40 of 513 in Barcelona
1,606 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
2,318 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
153 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing