We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #22 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 6 days from end of April to the beginning of May. The hotel is in an excellent location, two minutes walk from the Cathedral and the Gothic Quarter. The decor is contemporary luxury, relaxed and restrained. The staff are friendly and helpful. We had a loft room which was huge. Giant California king bed, masses of space in the room. A room with a bath. Another annex with a full double shower. Our room faced the main road and we were only on the second floor so we did hear some morning traffic but it wasn't intrusive. rooftop bar has a small infinity pool and an absolutely peerless view. The tapas tray special was generous. The hotel prides itself on its music - different for each area. In the roof top bar, in the restaurant, in the lobby, in the cafe it creates a very relaxing atmosphere. All of the food was thoughtful, the strawberries at breakfast were macerated in orange juice, the fried eggs were in a tray but all perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lornimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences with others. I am very happy to hear that your stay was so relaxing and enjoyable. As well that your find the hotel facilities and room comfortable apart from the street buzzing. Our rooms have triple glazed windows that should not let pass noise into the rooms, being in the city centre is hard to avoid it completely, specially in the front rooms.
Music plays and important part of the overall hotel experience and we keep it up to create the right atmosphere in every corner of the hotel.
Bes Regards, Silvia de Blas, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a modern, stylish hotel in a great location. We walked everywhere and this was the best central location. The staff are really friendly, they even drove us back to the airport. The rooms are very practical & simplistic, with a very modern style. Quite masculine! The best bit is the roof terrace, so cool and great to relax there after walking around all day, makes the hotel special. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannimccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Your nice comments are highly appreciated. I am happy to know that your overall experience was very satisfactory, so much that you will return to Barcelona and the hotel. I will look forward to welcome you. Best, Silvia de Blas. G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a very modern and fresh update of an older hotel. Rooms are open and spacious, and very clean. Maybe could do with some more lighting, but overall meets all needs. The roof terrace is ideal for an evening drink, could do with swifter service at the busy moments of the day. Location is ideal, and gives access by foot or a short taxi ride to all of the key places. Staff were wonderful, always with a smile .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinenow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

I appreciate your nice comments, location is ideal to sightseeing, almost every main attraction are walking distance from the hotel: Ramblas, Picasso Museum, Sea Shore, Cathedral, shopping areas...
I will look further into the pool service to become more efficient on peack hours.
Best, Silvia de Blas. G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Highly recommend the Grand Central Hotel! It is really well located being a short walk from the Jaume I Metro station and a 15 min walk max (with luggage) from Placa de Catalunya where the Aerobus dropped us from the Airport. All the staff were fantastic, really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable - they gave us some great recommendations for dinner and booking tickets online to beat the queues and make the most of time in Barcelona. The hotel was stylishly decorated and our room was very comfortable - the bed was huge! The rooftop deck and pool was gorgeous, a perfect setting for a sun-downer before heading out for dinner - the Mojitos were delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sacha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your nice comments.
Location is indeed very convenient and close to major attractions in the city. I am very happy to know you found the hotel comfortable and nicely decorated. Looking forward to welcome you in a near future. Best, Silvia de Blas, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We have just got home from a five night stay at the Grand Hotel Central. There were so many good things about this hotel I just couldn't wait to write it all down! First of all, when we arrived the staff were so friendly and we were so impressed by the stunning style and atmosphere of the reception and our room. When we visited the rooftop pool and bar we were blown away. Amazing views and could relax up there all day and night!! Only downside was the pool is not heated and it was bloody freezing! We continued to be impressed throughout our stay, the restaurant serves lovely food and isn't too expensive. The cleanliness of the room is great, they are cleaned in the morning and also in the evening where they prepare the room for sleep and put water by your beds! A lovely touch. Another thing to keep in mind is that the hotel offers a DVD and play station service where they bring a DVD player to your room with a selection of films for when you want to relax! Lovely staff, lovely room, amazing rooftop and excellent location! Best hotel we have ever visited.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us!!!
Your words are a great encouragement to us in our daily work.
Best Regards, Sivlia de Blas, G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lovely, chic hotel. Loved the rooftop pool and bar area, Mojitos aplenty! Clean and comfortable rooms, great location, loved it! Recommend doing the open top bus tour, great way to see Barcelona. Highly recommend the hotel, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fletch1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April 2014. The location is excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and the facilities are modern and in good condition. We did not use the restaurant so can't comment on that. There is a small cafe off the lobby which we used several times and found charming. We found the room very dark and the layout a little quirky. The bath/closet area is squeezed into a small space and is all the way across the room from where the suitcase stand is. Not a big deal but a little annoying at times. We would stay at this hotel again although we might try something else just to see what there is out there.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor facing the street but had no noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karllBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you have enjoyed the hotel apart from finding your room with not enough space. Te hotel has different types of rooms to choose from. Is always worth asking at reception for another room type if you are not too happy with the allocation but I will take a look what you see so maybe we can improve that room and rearrange it differently. For your next trips to Barcelona I would love to help to make your stay more comfortable. Best Regards, Silvia de Blas. G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
4,591 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,129 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 515 in Barcelona
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
891 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#38 of 515 in Barcelona
2,479 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £179 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing