We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, helpful front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #31 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly, helpful front desk staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Three of us stayed at the Grand Hotel Central for the weekend of June 6-9, 2014. Our luggage never made it as a result of a technical issue that also affected several other guests at our hotel from various countries. Albert at the Front Desk patiently listened to our repeated questions as to whether our luggage had arrived, and even called the airline on our behalf multiple times. On our last night in Barcelona, we received a letter under our hotel door stating that our luggage was still in the UK. All other staff was also helpful & friendly, with bottles of water delivered to our room every evening. The rooftop bar is a great place to relax, and the breakfast was tasty and served until noon on weekends. We would definitely recommend this hotel for service and style.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    396
    87
    20
    18
See reviews for
370
869
81
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

BACKGROUND

My wife and I are north of 60, well travelled and a bit picky. I have been to more than 40 countries.

GOOD

The Grand Hotel Central in Via Laietana is beautifully positioned, being right next to the fascinating Gothic quarter (which includes the magnificent Barcelona Cathedral), 15 minutes walk to the marina, 25 minutes to the beach, 50 metres from a pick-up point for city tours and 15 minutes walk to Pl. Reial (an open square with lots of restaurants). Staff are friendly and very helpful . Ask for a room away from the main road .

Take the 4 hour city tour for 8-12 people. You will see all that is important and then decide where you want to return to. A wonderful experience. The hop-on hop-off bus is expensive for what you get, but provides good flexibility.

LESS GOOD.

The hotel has small, functional bedrooms (we had a king room), with bathrooms that offer no noise insulation. The bathroom door is less than one metre from the side of the bed. So, whether you are cleaning your teeth or using the loo, every sound is clearly heard through the smoked glass sliding door. Not nice. The a/c just about copes, but I doubt that it will in August. Breakfast is very average. Call me Mr. Picky, but this is a 5 star hotel and if you are well travelled you will agree with me.

The rooftop pool and terrace is inadequate for the size of the hotel. On several occasions my wife and I got back from a days touring late afternoon and found that there were no seats available. Pity. Great views and a great place to relax.

UGLY

The road that everyone talks about is La Rambla. An awful street of mostly overpriced, commercialised rubbish. There are some exceptions, but this is a place that brings the tone down. Having said that, go to Cordobes for a flamenco show. Wowee !!

UNPRECEDENTED.

La Sagrada Familia is beyond description in words. The architectural splendour of this Gaudi inspired basilica is, on my travels, unequalled. St Marks and the Vatican took our breath away, but this is mind boggling. If you find something as striking as this please try to let me know.

SUMMARY

All these years without visiting Barcelona, but better late than never.Thanks to the Grand Central Hotel for the friendliness and fabulous location. Thankyou Gaudi for visual splendour.

Room Tip: High and away from the main road on which the hotel stands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spinner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for three nights in June. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, kept to a really high standard every day. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful and polite. Didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but went to a little bakery/cafe just up the road Tasta Pa, two croissants and two pots of tea for six euros. Great location, within walking distance of the Cathedral, La Rambla and the marina and good transport links to the rest of the city. Rooftop pool/bar area is a real bonus, chilled out atmosphere during the day with plenty of room for sunbathing and relaxing and a fun vibe at night with fantastic views across the city. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better, can get a little noisy. We were on the fifth floor and no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon...and I couldn't of picked a better hotel. The room was perfect with a great big comfortable bed. The towels where luxurious and plentiful. The breakfast was gorgeous and so much choice. The staff where very lovely and friendly. Oliver in the bar was fantastic and advised us on a great restaurant for us and our friends. I can not fault this hotel...it was truly spectacular ....I cant wait to go back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olliegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Not often you find places like this especially in a city..perfect location, amazing roof top pool and funky bar in the evening. Great coffee shop/wine bar on the ground floor, to meet for an pre tapas drink. ( Breakfast is a little pricey in the restaurant so maybe walk a few feet to the Starbucks ( turn right out front door) or left to a more local coffee house (200 ft across the road on the right)

The rooms are a nice oasis, with every small detail thought of , including the complimentary water bottle and sweet treat for turn down. The rooms are large, beds comfortable, the electric blinds just fun to play with, and for those that need it dark they black out the light well.

Internet is free and fast and they conveniently print the code on your room key packet to make it easy. The amenities are top quality, room safes a high off the ground and work without thought required.

The staff are uber friendly, and very efficient, room serviced quickly and well, and before 1pm so no messy still un made room to come back to. Towels changed daily ( not so green but a nice touch).

For great Tapas : Lonja de Tapas,Pla del Palau, 7,08003 Barcelona about 5 mins walk, it does not look like much, but the food is not expensive, and very well made, also Cal Pep Restaurant, Plaça de les Olles, 8, 08003 Barcelona however this is very popular and hard to get into and not open all the time.

For the beach and nightlife.

Head to the W Hotel for pitchers of Sangria and sit by the pool and people watch, there is a great view down the beach. The club in the top of the W Eclipse is always a great spot with amazing views, better than a lot of the clubs along the beach, and for sure spend the extra and call and book a VIP table with a bottle from around 200 euro, its worth it.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor room to reduce the noise of the city, 5th floor or above will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nw00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My Wife and I have visited the Grand Hotel Central over half a dozen times in the last three years,

This trip was our one year wedding anniversary. The Hotel had made a note of this, and we were welcomed with rose petals on the bed, a beautiful bath gift set, and a bottle of fizz.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, as expected from viewing the website you are aware that it is a stylish and luxurious environment, However one thing that is a pleasant surprise is the service and the welcoming staff.

It is an establishment that oozes sophistication, style and great attention to details.

Previously I moaned about the wifi charge, this has since been removed. Only issue I can think of this time, was that there were a few kids by the pool on the first day who were causing a lot of disruption, running around and shouting. I am aware that there is little the Hotel can do to solve this, but perhaps the staff could just intervene a tad, of the people we spoke to , 5 separate parties left the pool area on the second day when it was clear that the kids were back.

We cannot wait to go back, only concern would be the hotel moving from appealing for adult breaks and clientèle to more family offers.

Thanks to all the staff for another fantastic, fun and pleasurable trip to your fabulous hotel

Richard

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is very chic and perfectly located in central Barcelona. My friend and I stayed in an "inner" room which was spacious enough and had a well appointed bathroom. The staff was courteous and friendly and helped direct us where we needed to go. My one complaint was that on the eve before we left, my friend's cell phone was stolen. Though this has nothing to do with the hotel, we ended up having to come to the hotel to try to call our service provider, which was based in the US, and for whatever reason, the phone in our hotel room wouldn't allow us to dial out of the hotel. After about 30 minutes of trying to make that work, my friend ended up at the front desk but they didn't have a working phone either. We finally managed to make an outgoing call from the bar next door (part of the hotel) but this was at least 1.5 hours after we initially attempted to use our in-room phone. The fact that such a luxury hotel doesn't have a concierge desk phone that actually works seems rather shameful. And it cost us some precious time and sleep. Away from that, the hotel was really wonderful - and the rooftop bar / pool area a must-see.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#40 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing