We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modern, friendly staff and outrageous pool on roof!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #21 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our 2nd stay here after a recommendation from friends two years ago. It's in a terrific location, across from the Gothic district, walking distance to many of the attractions and one block from subway for others. All staff speaks English and are friendly and extremely helpful no matter how trivial the issue. The hotel is modern, large rooms for European hotels, and a full bath with shower and tub. The rooftop pool is beautiful at night. You can see much of the city as they change the lights in the pool to various colors. A bar makes it a great social stop for an evenings end. Pricing is very reasonable. I highly recommend this hotel on your next trip to my most favorite city in Europe!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryd130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Have been here with my 2 daughters.
Room was big, very clean, modern and comfortable! The sound proof was excellent!!!

The pool on the rooftop is probably the best part. Not very suitable for swimming, but if you go to Barcelona, this is more than enough in summer! Cool bar there too!

Service was amazing and the breakfast had everything you need and much more!

The only downsize, is Wifi. The connection in our room was hard to find, and also in and around the pool. The signal kept going on and off.

Location is absolutely fantastic for tourists (2 blocks away from the Cathedral of Barcelona, 5 minutes walking from the Picasso Museum and 10 minutes to the Rambla)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samanta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I appreciate your excellent comments about your stay. I will be checking on that WIFI connection we have recently upgrade the WIFI connection to make it easier to our guests.
Happy to know you enjoyed your holidays in every way!! Best, Silvia de Blas G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The location is perfect to explore Barcelona. The room was beautiful and the service was perfect: kind and helpful. The breakfast was good. The pool/terrace on the roof is 'wow'. Will definitely will go back to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Recently had 6 nights and the Grand Hotel Central and can't speak highly enough of the service and overall experience.

We chose to stay here for the great location and the impressive looking rooftop swimming pool and terrace bar. Both of which were fantastic. A short walk from the El Born area and Las Ramblas in the other direction. The beach is also within easy walking distance.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. From the moment you step off the bustling street you are met with an amazing aroma and struck by the tranquility and relaxed atmosphere of the place. Staff are all friendly and couldn't do enough to help when asked.

If we hadn't stayed here we would have booked the W Hotel. Having visited for a drink during our stay I feel this was a wise move. Grand Hotel Central is streets ahead of the W on every level.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you sharing your experience with us, I am happy to know that you made the right choice and we did not let you down.
Looking forward to welcome you very soon!! All the best, Silvia de Blas GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a top notch hotel. The rooms were exquisite. Modern, clean, comfortable. I loved the robe. I had breakfast included; it was adequate. The sky bar and pool was wonderful!! The view beautiful. If you stay here you must go up even to just relax. The staff was excellent. The absolutely only draw back is the rooms are paper thin and I could hear muffled activity from the room next door. I fortunately once asleep, sleep like a rock. This was a treat to myself to stay at a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Grand Hotel Central during our four day trip to Barcelona. The hotel is excellent. Everything, including the staff, the room and, the fantastic roof top is perfect. Our room was in the second floor and we did not noticed any noise from the Metro, hence to what people have written at tripadvisor about the noise.

The view from the roof top is outstanding. Although it is a small roof top with not so many sun beds, it is definitely a great spot to be.

The location is also worth mention - it is located in the middle of the Old Town in Barcelona. The Picasso museum is for instance a five minute walk from the hotel.

We had a great experience at Grand hotel Central.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room which is went in to the backyard.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nils Gunnar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Central on July 13-16, 2014 and we absolutely loved it. The rooms are very nice with very comfortable beds, smallish rooms but well designed space wise and very good lighting (a rare thing these days in new hotel rooms). We had a 6'X5' shower … great luxury after 10 days of hiking in the country side and being used to 1'X1' showers (I'm slightly kidding but not much). The rooftop pool was a great gathering place for a swim & cocktails after a long day of sightseeing. Beautiful view of Barcelona from the pool and very good pool service. The downstairs restaurant was equally good food & convenient for my husband to catchup on work and he even conducted a business meeting that lasted 3hrs and the staff were very cooperative with anything he needed.

The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. Very well decorated & clean. Wifi is challenging but it has been challenging everywhere in Spain so maybe high speed internet is not a spanish thing.

Front desk is a bit slow but they really take care of you.

Location wise you cannot do better than this. 2 min walking distance from las Ramblas. 15 min walk to Picasso Museum, 15 min walk to waterfront. We never took a cab for anything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LuckyDanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for sharing such a complete feedback of your stay, very useful in order to improve certain aspects such as internet. We have recently changed the WIFI connection to a much better one so I will check on that slow connection.
I am glad you have enjoyed the location and ambience of the hotel all together. Looking forward to see on your next trip to Barcelona. Best, Silvia de Blas, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,545 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#115 of 513 in Barcelona
6,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,817 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
1,328 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £198 - £504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing