We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful roof top pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #29 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful roof top pool”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were delighted. The reception staff were helpful and seemed genuinely seemed happy to assist. To our surprise we were also upgraded to a suite. The hotel has an air of sophistication and coolness about it. Our room was beautiful if you like your style contemporary. But the highlight has to be the roof top pool. The mood music, the infinity pool, excellent drinks and service. If Barcelona didn't have quite so much to offer the casual tourist we could have stayed on this roof top for the duration of our stay. Centrally located within the gothic district it was the perfect location for an easy cultural tour.

Room Tip: Our room was stunning, there was a tiny window overlooking a courtyard so not much by way of view. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    400
    91
    20
    18
See reviews for
380
894
83
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've just returned home after three nights and we're already missing the luxury of this hotel and our master suite. We visited last year and loved the hotel and our expectations were surpassed by our second visit. This is a fabulous hotel in a central location. The views from the pool are stunning and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Duffy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights with our 16 month old son. The staff was simply fantastic, we felt truly welcome at the hotel and they always had a smile and joke for our little man.

The hotel could not be any more central and we walked pretty much everywhere. We especially liked the El Born district, where we found a small Asian tapas restaurant called Mosquito which I highly recommend.

The roof top pool/bar is great to hang out during the day as well as for a cocktail and tapas at night. Here again the staff was simply fantastic! Friendly, efficient and always there to give us a truly warm welcome, without any of the stiffness and arrogance that you get in so many other 5 star hotels. We would definitely stay here again when we come back to Barcelona

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Easter. Located literally around the corner from Barcelona Catherdral. Got the bus from the airport which drops you at the top of La Ramblas. 10 minute walk to the hotel from there. From the hotel, it's another 10 minutes walk to the Marina where you can sample the lovely fresh fish restaurants.

The hotel is certainly grand. Rooms are modern and clean with all shower amenities that you'd expect including flip flops (not slippers!)

Roof top bar and pool provide amazing views which open to the public after 8. Before then, it's just hotel guests.

Free wifi throughout the hotel which is amazing. Again, just around the corner from the gothic area and there's a underground train station no more than 5 minutes walk. The beautiful theatre is about 10 minutes on foot if that. Sagrada Familia is about 45 minute walk for those feeling fitter. We did this one way and bought a ticket which allows up to 10 journeys on the underground.

Again, centrally located. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our 2nd stay here after a recommendation from friends two years ago. It's in a terrific location, across from the Gothic district, walking distance to many of the attractions and one block from subway for others. All staff speaks English and are friendly and extremely helpful no matter how trivial the issue. The hotel is modern, large rooms for European hotels, and a full bath with shower and tub. The rooftop pool is beautiful at night. You can see much of the city as they change the lights in the pool to various colors. A bar makes it a great social stop for an evenings end. Pricing is very reasonable. I highly recommend this hotel on your next trip to my most favorite city in Europe!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryd130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Have been here with my 2 daughters.
Room was big, very clean, modern and comfortable! The sound proof was excellent!!!

The pool on the rooftop is probably the best part. Not very suitable for swimming, but if you go to Barcelona, this is more than enough in summer! Cool bar there too!

Service was amazing and the breakfast had everything you need and much more!

The only downsize, is Wifi. The connection in our room was hard to find, and also in and around the pool. The signal kept going on and off.

Location is absolutely fantastic for tourists (2 blocks away from the Cathedral of Barcelona, 5 minutes walking from the Picasso Museum and 10 minutes to the Rambla)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samanta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I appreciate your excellent comments about your stay. I will be checking on that WIFI connection we have recently upgrade the WIFI connection to make it easier to our guests.
Happy to know you enjoyed your holidays in every way!! Best, Silvia de Blas G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect to explore Barcelona. The room was beautiful and the service was perfect: kind and helpful. The breakfast was good. The pool/terrace on the roof is 'wow'. Will definitely will go back to this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#39 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#22 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing