We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really Grand stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #20 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are just back from 4 nights at the Grand Hotel Central in Barcelona and really this was a fabulous hotel. It is located really well - very near the Cathedral and a very short walk to the Picasso museum. Ours was a family trip and a real plus for us was the pool on the top of the hotel. This is pretty small but an absolute treat in hot weather after a hard days sightseeing. We only ever had to wait about 15 mins to end up with a good place to sit and the kids loved it. Our family room was in fact two rooms connected via a small private hallway, great for slightly older kids, not so good I suspect for toddlers so should be checked. The rooms were modern and well furnished. I have seen other reviews complain about lack of light but the hotel is in a very old part of the town and is much overlooked so I am not sure this is really valid - certainly no problems for us. Breakfast was included in the price and as such was great - probably not worth an extra payment as you could get cheaper breakfasts which looked good outside the hotel. I would definitely return on future trips to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,461 - 1,467 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I went to a Barcelona on our first holiday together in 2011, then returned in 2013 and got engaged in the beautiful Parc Guell overlooking the city so it only seemed right to come back for our mini moon holiday after we got married on 19/07/14!

We had an amazing stay at this beautiful hotel from 21/07/14 to 24/07/14. Having stayed in hotels which were a lot further from the city centre on our previous trips, location was the biggest factor we considered when choosing our hotel for this most recent trip and this hotel was spot on. We asked for a quiet room on one of the higher levels so we were guaranteed a good nights sleep and we were given a beautiful room on the 6th floor at the rear of the hotel. The bed was so comfortable, the room was decorated to the highest standard and was cleaned immaculately every day. The reception staff spoke fluent English and were incredibly helpful and friendly and the cleaning ladies came and gave us bottles of water and chocolate truffles every evening. The hotel also gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne and candles etc on our first night which was a lovely gesture.
The location was perfect- only a 20 minute walk to the beach, less than 10 minutes to La Rambla and a couple of minutes to the nearest tube station.
We spent several afternoons relaxing on the hotel's amazing rooftop pool bar. The infinity pool is beautiful and affords incredible views over the city and an opportunity to see what's happening on the building rooftops! The bar staff were quick to bring our drinks and were very hard working.
The breakfast each morning was very good offering hot eggs,bacon and sausages etc plus cereals, bread and pastries and fruit.
We treated ourselves to a couple's massage on our last day and we certainly weren't disappointed- can safely say that was the best massage I've ever had!

We only had one issue on our last night whereby a group of young people from another European country decided to have an impromptu party at about 01:00am. We gave them the benefit of the doubt for about 20 minutes thinking they might settle down but when the music didn't quieter down, my husband knocked on their door and asked them to turn it down as we were trying to sleep. He was met by a young male with a lot of attitude who shut the door in my husband's face and ignored his request. We called reception and they sent security staff to deal with the party- it was dealt with within minutes and the music stopped immediately!

If you want a classy hotel in the centre of the city then this is the one for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am happy to know that we played and important part of your amazing experience in the city. I will post your kind comments on the staff board so they can see how important is to do their job right. Looking forward to welcome you on your wed anniversary. Best wishes, Silvia de Blas, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed two nights prior to a cruise. Walking distance to starting spot of major tour operator made this a great location to get to La Sagrada Familia. Hotel is beautiful. Book your dining ahead, though. We did not get to eat at the hotel restaurant for dinner without a reservation, and they are on Barcelona time -not open until 8 pm. Coffee bar on premises has good options for lunch, though. We got upgraded to a suite, which was great for a family of 4. Good accommodations, everything worked great, very modern style, sleek bathroom, nice beds. Staff was very attentive, too. The only small downside was our room overlooked a neighboring courtyard where apparently small kids are allowed to run free until late at night, so it was a little noisy, but that's a big city!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2A2C2D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Excellent in terms of location, rooms, breakfast and friendly staff - our expectations were surpassed. This is a great hotel with perfect location - and our son loved the swimming pool. We'll come back!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hege L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel as the reviews were excellent and had also seen it in a travel magazine. Our room was on the first floor and the street noise during the night from passers by, the refuse lorry and other street noise kept us from sleeping, together with the most awful noise from the rooms either side of us.
The slamming of doors constantly, not just the odd door closing now and then. We could hear doors and drawers being slammed closed, the footsteps of high heels on the hard floors echoed throughout the night. We kept hoping it was a one off and things would settle down, which they didn't. Eventually at 3am on the third night we went and complained, explaining that we hadn't had one night of undisturbed sleep. The staff were most helpful and moved us immediately , at 3 am, to another room which was higher up ...although the room didn't have twin beds. We slept well for the final night of our stay. No one minds other people enjoying themselves, Our issue with the hotel is that as a 5 star hotel we shouldn't be able to hear any noise.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level suffer with street noise. Adjoining rooms also are very noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank heatherjwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your sharing your comments. Hotels are to be enjoyed in many ways but most important we provide good nights sleep and rest.
What I can not understand is that all the noise lasted all night long from the street and neighbours so bad that did not let you sleep at all. The back streets are quiet and if the neighbours were noisy I agree their were very inconsiderate. Next time please tell reception and we will move you immediately. Regards, Silvia de Blas. G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were delighted. The reception staff were helpful and seemed genuinely seemed happy to assist. To our surprise we were also upgraded to a suite. The hotel has an air of sophistication and coolness about it. Our room was beautiful if you like your style contemporary. But the highlight has to be the roof top pool. The mood music, the infinity pool, excellent drinks and service. If Barcelona didn't have quite so much to offer the casual tourist we could have stayed on this roof top for the duration of our stay. Centrally located within the gothic district it was the perfect location for an easy cultural tour.

Room Tip: Our room was stunning, there was a tiny window overlooking a courtyard so not much by way of view. N...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've just returned home after three nights and we're already missing the luxury of this hotel and our master suite. We visited last year and loved the hotel and our expectations were surpassed by our second visit. This is a fabulous hotel in a central location. The views from the pool are stunning and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda Duffy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,113 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,546 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#114 of 513 in Barcelona
6,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,820 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
1,331 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £199 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing