We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Central
Nearby Hotels
US$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ayre Hotel Rosellon(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
H10 Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Raval(Barcelona)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,283)
Filter reviews
2,283 results
Traveller rating
1,689
460
93
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,689
460
93
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolcity barmaster suitegreat locationgothic quartervia laietanapicasso museumel bornbarcelona cathedralnespresso machineamazing hotelloved this hotelbusy streettapassight seeingvisiting barcelonacity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,617 - 1,622 of 2,283 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel boasts a stunning rooftop bar with an infinity pool, which is definitely a highlight of our stay. Sitting there in the evening, as well as swimming in the morning with a golden glow was unforgettable and we would like to return next year. The staff is extremely friendly, particularly a lady who was checking us in and knew some basic words of our language, which was very sweet and added to the overall atmosphere of the hotel. Complimentary water at the end of the day delivered to our room was also a nice thing. The hotel is situated in the heart of Barcelona (beautiful Gothic and El Born districts), with convenient public transport connections to the city's landmarks such as Sagrada Familia. Breakfasts at the hotel Avalon restaurant are very good, and I recommend going to Avalon for dinner. Food is delicious and the chef's cheesecake is divine. This was one of the best hotels I've stayed in, if not the best.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Reception not very service-minded: they several times forgot our requests!
The hotel room doors "slammed" very noisy.
Much noise from the corridor, and from neighbours bathroom..!
Defective window in room (was repaired soon after arrival)
The bathroom was not safe for people with mobility problems/elderly people.

Breakfast was delicious! And the service in the restaurant was good.
Cleaning standard at the hotel was high :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DortheKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Director General at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I appreciate your honesty in your comments.
My apologies if you did not find your room as expected and the staff not being attentive enough. I am taking your words into consideration so I can correct the issues you encountered during your stay. I am glad you have enjoyed breakfast!!! Best, Silvia de Blas G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am so pleased that we stayed in this hotel! The location was perfect, its a 5 minute walk from the main square and a short walk to nice bars and restaurants. The staff were really attentive and professional and gave great advice on restaurants and places to go - assisting in booking and cancelling when required. The room was clean, modern and the bed was very comfortable (and absolutely huge!). On the roof is an infinity pool with lounge chairs to enjoy a cocktail (or two!).

When I go back to Barcelona I will definately stay in this hotel again. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaineyDerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is basically trading thinly on "style", which frankly looks a bit out of date. The rooms are a touch small and the one we had (superior king) very noisy, despite even being slightly to the side of the building - the ones at the front must be terrible. The service on reception and concierge is nice, but not very knowledgable. The breakfast room has tables jammed in like battery hens, and a pretty poor selection of food - really just meats and cheese, with bread - no proper fruit, not any vegetables etc. The wifi also kept dropping! Not sure there is much reason to stay here, especially given that it wasn't even keep.

Room Tip: As far from the very busy road on which the hotel sits, as possible!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-GrandHotelCentral, Gerente at Grand Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

I am sad to see that you did not find the hotel attractive enough in many ways. I have already taken into account the issues that need reviewing such as service at the front desk, comfort in the rooms and better wifi connection. Your comments help us improve enormously.
Best , Silvia de Blas G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I spent four nights here after a cruise. I cannot honestly think of a better hotel to stay in. First of all the location is perfect. We walked everywhere except to the attractions north of the city. All the tours we took started within five minutes of the hotel and we walked to the Ramblas the gothic quarter, the beach. Secondly the hotel is absolutely georgeous. Done in chic taupe tones the chrome numbers in the doors and hallways just added to the hip elegant atmosphere. The hallways were not dark at all as some have suggested. There was sufficient lighting everywhere. The room was a delight with a much appreciated ten foot desk for the TV , storage etc Very ample closet space. The only design flaw was the entry to the wash area which was open to the bedroom so there is a little fumbling if you don't want to put the light on in the middle of the night. Great tub and shower combo in the bathroom. Best of all is the jewel of a roof terrace with its infinity pool with a view to die for. We went there every afternoon after touring. Try the sangria a. Just wonderful. Lastly the included breakfast was fantastic with homemade omelettes available for the asking as well as smoked fish, cold cuts, cheeses, pastries. bravo! Will definitely comeback.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on a high floor we had room 602 and it was perfect
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews