We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #23 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were only in Barcelona for one night and decided to make it a luxurious stay, and it was fantastic.
The staff are so helpful and friendly. The pool area is just wonderful, and the rooms are spacious, clean and all the facilities were great from hot powerful showers to the coffee machine and the air con.

Really worth it - treat yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,421
    419
    91
    20
    19
See reviews for
409
964
90
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

1. Staff friendly, helpful and very kind. They speak fantastic English too.
2. Rooms are fairly spacious, clean, modern & comfortable
3. Bathroom is large as is the shower & the water was hot & her powerful
4. The roof top bar and pool was fabulous, but virtually impossible to get a seat here
5. Hotel conveniently situated, and we'd definitely stay again when back in Barcelona.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank catherine8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 14 - 18 August. I had a 7th floor room towards the back of the hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the staff - they are all uniformly excellent. From reception staff to bar staff to pool staff etc - they are all professional but friendly and efficient without being stuffy. The hotel amenities are excellent - especially the roof top pool (though a few more sun loungers would be nice). The rooms are excellent.

The only two things I did not like were the poor Wifi Reception - on roof it did not work and at times in room it was intermittent. And I am not a fan of bathrooms that are directly into the room. These two issues meant I did not give it a 5 star rating. Saying that I would still happily stay here again.

Room Tip: High up room and not on main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhysjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel for a couple of any age. The hotel is modern and beautiful. The bar / pool area on the roof is really one of a kind, definitely going to recommend it to friends. Ps the location ia another perfect part of the hotel, next to the gothic area, walking distance to gaudi cathedral and the best shopping areas.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentagon City, Va.
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I stayed a week in September 2013. It's a perfect location - in the heart of the historic center, and right across the street from a metro stop. The hotel staff was very helpful. The hotel itself is lovely. Our room and bathroom was clean and comfortable, with plenty of light and views of picturesque old winding walkways. The quality and service - and location - for what you pay is incredible.

We loved the rooftop pool. It was too cold to go swimmng when we were there, but it's gorgeous to lay out and relax around. We also used the gym, which was very nice.

We would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat! We were so sad to leave!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelanham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What an amazing hotel. There is not one negative thing to say. The staff went above and beyond and made you feel as if you were the only guests there. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything was spotless. Beds and pillows so comfortable. Black out blinds, air con, complimentary water and beds turned down every night. Flip flops and dressing gowns to wear. Smiles on everyone's faces. The roof top bar and infinity pool was amazing. So chilled and relaxing with towels supplied. Hard to believe this hotel was in the middle of the city. Everything was so accessible from this hotel either by walking or an occasional trip on the metro. 2 mins walk to the Cathedral. When due to leave they assisted with printing out our boarding passes and making phone calls to check our transport would be on time. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It truly is worth a visit. Hopefully, we will return to Barcelona and if so, will most definitely, be booking a room in this hotel. Thank you to everyone for making it a fantastic 5 day trip.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary_Pavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for the first time as part of our two weeks in Spain. The Grand Central was picked by our travel agent and we did not know what to expect. This is a great hotel...location, rooms, and staff are all top notch. Concerning the staff, every request was granted: recommended terrific restaurants, printed directions for us,made reservations, etc. the room is great,plenty of storage space,nice bed and good size room too. Loved the breakfast every morning, including the make your own mimosas! And the pool on the roof top is the icing on the cake! And the best part is the location in the heart of Le Gotic, and as my husband said, " you can get anywhere you want, except Park Guell, in a 12 minute walk!"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonvips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,079 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#43 of 512 in Barcelona
1,627 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#34 of 512 in Barcelona
2,376 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing