We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, excellent service and the best rooftop pool in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #21 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is my favourite BCN hotel, and I have stayed there my last 4 visits. Comfortable and quite spacious rooms, perfect light dimming and very nice bathroom interiors. The staff is very welcoming, knowledgable and serviceminded. Location right in the centre of the city with walking distance to Barri Gothic, El Born, Barceloneta, Raval and lower Eixample. The rooftop bar and pool tops it all with wonderful view of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Kjetil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We just got back from spending fourn nights here. Loved the hotel. Great staff and perfect location right near the Cathedral and the Born District. The hotel room was quite modern. It reminded me of the W in Times Square, though it was actually bigger than rooms I have had in NYC! Hotel staff were so helpful - they even sent us a bottle of cava to apologize that daily we had to request washclothes! The breakfast selection was nice and we had free wi-fi in the room. The rooftop bar was stunning. At night, just a wonderful view. Loved the personal service and the room was very comfortable. The shower was amazing! I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Barcelona - no question.

Room Tip: Higher floor have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelgalTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have loved my stay at the Grand Central hotel. All the positive reviews on here are completely accurate. I stayed in a triple room which consisted of three large single beds. Room slightly on the small side but what else can you expect when you are a five minutes walk from the centre of town! Staff and concierge friendly and informative!!! Pool bar very expensive!! Given the central location, room is noisy at night but nothing that earplugs can't solve!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here in August - prime time and very hot. Wow - from the minute we checked in we were impressed. The staff were helpful, friendly and well informed; the restaurant was relaxed and delicious and the rooms were spacious and immaculate. However, the roof top pool and bar really made it. The pool shimmered in the heat and the cocktail bar was a truly welcome sight. Drinks and sunset - fabulous.

Room Tip: we have 3 children so finding a hotel with triple rooms was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great location. In the centre of the old city. We ha stayed at some fantastic hotel in the last 6 weeks, but this one gets the nod for best staff and service overall. Right from the front desk to the city bar to the breakfast crew.
The pool and gym are a bit small and the rooms so so but overall a very good experience

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were only in Barcelona for one night and decided to make it a luxurious stay, and it was fantastic.
The staff are so helpful and friendly. The pool area is just wonderful, and the rooms are spacious, clean and all the facilities were great from hot powerful showers to the coffee machine and the air con.

Really worth it - treat yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fatspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

1. Staff friendly, helpful and very kind. They speak fantastic English too.
2. Rooms are fairly spacious, clean, modern & comfortable
3. Bathroom is large as is the shower & the water was hot & her powerful
4. The roof top bar and pool was fabulous, but virtually impossible to get a seat here
5. Hotel conveniently situated, and we'd definitely stay again when back in Barcelona.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank catherine8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
4,593 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,130 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#2 of 515 in Barcelona
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
893 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#38 of 515 in Barcelona
2,479 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 515 in Barcelona
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £178 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing