We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #132 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year and would definitely go back.

Great location, very clean, friendly staff and good value.

Bedroom was quite small but an adequate size, bathroom was lovely and well decorated.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinAndGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is exactly what its name says....chic and basic!
The extra large room we stayed in was just perfect and for the price we paid (approx 70e per night) it was fabulous value for money.

Its layout is unique and interesting - and works well

It is in a great location as you can walk to everywhere yet not be hassled by the noise of people partying

And the tapas bar below - is one of my old time favourites too hanging with the locals at lunch time (they just opened this 2nd one in Born a year ago)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaphamLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear ClaphamLocal

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&b Born Hotel, and to recommend our Hotel .
We hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic .

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My partner and I Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights last September.
The hotel is very modern and quirky. We loved the quirkiness of our room but if you weren't very mobile or had mobility problems this room wouldn't be advisable as you did have to duck and squeeze yourself around a bit.
I liked the fact that you could get bottled water and coffee in the common areas on your floor. We didn't eat in this hotel so I can't comment on that.
The location of this hotel couldn't be any better. You can walk to many places within less than 10 mins. Lots of nice bars and restaurants all just around the corner.
All in all I think this hotel is a great place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Dale H
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born
Its great to hear that you had a good stay with us.
We have 4 different room sizes
1) Medium/small 2) Large Interior 3) Large 4) XtraLarge.
The medium rooms are our smallest ones, and the Large and Xlarge, do have a Little balcony, which is as well very nice specially in summer.

We hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic Born.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is very well located, in the heart of El Born - the place to be in Barcelona;)- rooms are comfortable, nice and original design, service and staff are really good, an excellent quality/ price. Amenities provided should be improved ( just a soap and a shower gel,mno shampoo?). I would definitely recommend this hotel for business trips or vacation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Aurelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Aurelie C

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in chic&basic Born Hotel. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that c&b staff helped you in every need.
You are right we just have 2 amenities, the soap and the shower Gel which includes as well shampoo.
Bothe products a coming from Thinkcosmetik ,which is a Spanish company with a very high Quality. The shampoo/shower gel is made by honey and almonds.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great location near the Born market. Loved the concept for the rooms and common areas. Free wifi, free flow Nespresso. Super-friendly and helpful reception. Very cool ambience. Didn;t try the breakfast,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Notts_travelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Notts_travelller
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that c&b staff helped you in every need.

I hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic, and maybe you will try our Breakfast buffet ( 9 Euros per person)and let us know what you think of it.


Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Hotel is Fantastic!!!! Stayed for four nights visiting our Son. It's trendy, friendly and excellent value for money!!! Rooms very clean and all you need, good hot shower and a bed to sleep comfortably in. Continental breakfast is brilliant and the coffee and wine at the bar/cafe is great. It's situation at the bottom of the Ramblas is also perfect!!! We'll be back as Arnie say's!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, use the lift...................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here from 18 to 22 November for my wife's 40th Birthday
There's no doubt we had the best location in the city, close to everything you could need
As others have said the decor is different but is tired and need of a spruce up. There was a smell from the drains which I think came from the huge downpour on the Monday we arrived
The style of the room didn't put us off at all, and the view from the balcony was great.
We found the staff to be very helpful and the cost of our stay was also really good
The big issue for us was the noise it was too loud at night on the street which kept us awake and a bit grumpy the following day
A bit of a clean and a lick of paint could work wonders, and perhaps a better description of services
But if you're on a budget and looking for a great location in Barcelona it would be a hard place to ignore

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joeturnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#146 of 519 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#58 of 519 in Barcelona
531 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#178 of 519 in Barcelona
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#45 of 519 in Barcelona
2,569 reviews
El Raval
Market Hotel
Market Hotel
#298 of 519 in Barcelona
893 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#184 of 519 in Barcelona
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £55 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic&Basic Born Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing