We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in beautiful El Born!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #132 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We got what we hoped for in this odd but fun hotel. Nice and friendly staff, pleasant bar, 24-hour reception, comfy bed and a nice balcony in the room. It's not brand new and we could see that, but it was clean and had everything we needed. The free water and coffee/tea was a nice touch.
We were greated with a nice, personal letter and a bottle of cava at arrival, because we travelled to Barcelona celebrating our 10 year anniversary, that made our experience even better!
El Born is beautiful with cosy streets, nice restaurangs, bars and unique shopping butiques. Everything you need!
We will come back!

Room Tip: I would book a room with balcony again, it was nice to relax and look down on the street and to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here with a friend during the Primavera Sound festival at the weekend. The hotel is in a great location, lots to do nearby and the metro is a 5 minute walk away. The hotel itself is in a lovely old building which has been divided up into minimal, white rooms. We payed extra for a room with a balcony which was lovely. The room itself was spacious and clean with enough space to put your luggage out of the way. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful. The hotel was a bit 'hipster' with crazy lighting in the corridors and rooms but it still felt like a fun, unique place to stay. It was quiet whilst on the basic side it didn't feel 'cheap'.
My only concern with the room with the privacy of the shower and toilet. The shower is in the middle of the room and only half of it is covered by a curtain. When you're sitting on the bed the shower is covered up but the other side it is open (opposite the balcony). This is probably not an issue for a couple but when you stay with friends who like a little privacy this may be an issue. The toilet is behind a glass door with the middle section frosted, again this is not the height of privacy.
The hotel has a nice common room area where you can help yourself to bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits. There is also a computer available and lots of magazines.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansyhobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The positive first. The location of the hotel is good (Tripadvisor's map is wrong, again), next to Ciutadella park and 15 minutes walk from the Rambla.

The hotel, hmm. The 'chic' furnishing is essentially cheap IKEA, that has not worn well. Toilet is in a glass cubical that faced onto the street, and was not particularly clean. The 'balcony room' was a ledge that had two upturned 30cm high flower pots as the only thing to sit on.

Breakfast - just don't. Massively overpriced in comparison to much nicer offerings in better locations nearby, and very poor quality as well.

Staff - Very poor. On raising the issue of a complete lack of hot water at 9am, the reception staff were utterly disinterested. The manager misleadingly claimed it was a one-off problem, yet funnily enough knew exactly how to fix the issue as soon as it was mentioned. He then compounded the problem by assuring that there would be hot water in 20 minutes; there wasn't two hours later.

Room Tip: 'Balcony' is a 30cm wide ledge with a couple of upturned 30cm high flower pots to sit on. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear PM62
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about chic & basic Born.

First i would like to apology again, that you didn’t had hot water in the morning.
As i told you that morning it was a small problem which we could fix very quick, but it needed to reheat up our big water deposit. Thats why we did not realise the problem until 9.00 am, because until there we still had hot water in the deposits.

But we offers you to shower in our other Hotel ( chic&basic Zoo ) which is 150 meters around the corner from chic&basic Born , and there you could enjoy a hot shower. I know that you had to pack your suitcase, but as you where mention that you had a bit of a rush it was the only option which i could offer you.
I have as well to say that after 30 minutes the hot water was working again, but as our other clients was using the shower , the water deposits were still recovering when you where trying the hot water again .

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t liked our self service continental breakfast for 9 €, which i personal not think that it’s overpriced. But you are right, in Barcelona you get on many places a coffee and a croissant for 2.50€ .

Our Clients normally very surprised, how friendly and helpful we are, and this you can read as well here in TripAdvisor, i am sorry that you had the sensation of disinterest.

Once again i would like to apology, and we hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic and proof our costumer service.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellently located hotel on edge of El Born. Very close to Picasso museum, Gothic area. Great to wander round with great restaurants and bars.
Hotel itself is in old building with high ceilings. Rooms are spacious and minimally furnished. Our room had a pleasant little balcony overlooking the street. Hotel were also able to offer a bottle of Cava along with handmade chocolates (from nearby museum of chocolate) and rose petals to add a bit of romance.
Enjoyed the help yourself coffee bar. Some of the corridors are poorly light and possibly not as clean as some would like. I don't tend to spend a lot of time in the corridor so it didn't worry me!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Worth extra cost in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisburnGael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is in one of my favourite areas, with cool white rooms, funky lighting in the corridors and free coffee in the communal area. Had a room with a balcony which you can actually sit on [a lot of balconies in Barcelona are too narrow to do more than stand on] and they helpfully have 2 little stools out there. Bit confused when I got there as the reception is along the street a tiny bit from the entrance to the rooms, but found it OK and also found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Will be back! well that is if I can find a date with rooms available - think everyone has now found this little gem!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with balcony, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and original Room
No noise at all
Very cléan With à sport place
Very central in the born district
I lové it
Go Thérè and you Will hâve à gréât Time to enjoy barcelona days and night
Staff very vélo full and very kind

We Will Côme back

Excellent

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank OlivierAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location, the staff were very helpful, its good value and it has everything you need. There is free tea, coffee, water and biscuits in the common area and you can hire bikes and scooters from the hotel which were great to get around (make sure you reserve them). The walls are thin but it was not at all noisy and did not disturb us at all. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#146 of 519 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#58 of 519 in Barcelona
531 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#178 of 519 in Barcelona
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#45 of 519 in Barcelona
2,569 reviews
El Raval
Market Hotel
Market Hotel
#298 of 519 in Barcelona
893 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#184 of 519 in Barcelona
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £55 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic&Basic Born Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing