We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with minor drawbacks”
Review of Hotel Granados 83

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Granados 83
Ranked #47 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Aachen
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with minor drawbacks”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

That would be a classic 3.5 star rating, as there were too many small things that were not "good", but the overall stay was more pleasant than just "acceptable".
The Hotel itself has a nice design, the lobby and the room had a nice touch, not too artsy, but still not just a standard Hotel design. The location is also very nice, in a quiet part of L'exiample, walking distance from Placa Catalunya and Sagrada Familia, and a lot of nice bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood.
The room was not too big, but sufficient, nicely furnished and comfortable. The bathroom was nothing too special, and here the age showed a little: The tiling was a little worn (but not shabby, just not perfectly clean like I'd ecpect from a 4*S Hotel) and there were no practical hanger for the towels (which also looked a little worn).
The room itself also showed some very minor signs of wear and tear, very minor things such as chipped paint, strangely behaving light switches etc. Nothing that would really spoil the stay, but these minor things add up, leaving behind a somewhat tainted impression.
The room had a small balcony, which was very nice, however there's a light on it, bright as the sun, which could not be turned off manually but was switched off aroun 1 am. We never went to bed before that time, but I can imagine that if you need a good nights sleep and have to get up early, this can be bothersome.
The view an the back yard is not too nice, as to be expected in a residential area, and there's a schoolyard (or similar) which was a little noisy on the weekday.
The service was alawys very friendly and helpful, there was always somebody who spoke good English.
The bar on the roof was very nice, unfortunately due to high walls, there was no view from there.

All in all a pleasent stay which could have been a bit better, we got a bargain on the room rates so it was well worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoonzang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Granados 83. I take really good note on all your valuable comments in order to can improve our service. I am sorry to read that you have experienced some drawbacks on the maintenance of your room. For your information, we just have changed a couple weeks ago the entire laundry of the hotel.

I would like to insist in the importance of contacting reception whenever you find any minor drawbacks during your stay, all our team will do his best to seek a solution right away. Guest satisfaction is paramount for us and you have be in Granados 83 enjoying your time.

I really hope to can welcome you back soon in our property. Please feel free to contact me direct in order to arrange your next visit with us.

Sincerely yours,

Greg Behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    451
    107
    33
    15
See reviews for
212
652
143
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Perfectly located. Rooms on the back are great. We had a balcony. The bar on the 9th floor is a cool place to chill. The terrasse with the “swim line” is only for the people who booked the suite, but there is a small swimming pool on the 8th floor (it's more like a big jacuzzi without bubbles ;)

Clean. Helpful. Smiling team. Fab time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Neecko,

Thank you so much for your great review. I am glad you have enjoyed your time with us.

Hoping to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct in order to organize your next visit to Granados 83.

Kind regards,

Greg Behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our stay with Hotel Granados 83 was delightful! The staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our needs! We happen to be guests during the Labor Strike; which was a common experience for us. The staff was wonderfully informative and helped avoid any possible issues. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a great Attic lounge that should not be missed on the 8th floor.

We loved the restaurant across the street; Taverna de Meditarranean which ended up being our final stop most nights.

I would definite

Room Tip: Don't miss the Attic lounge on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

It simply has everything: nice service, nice rooms. It makes a very good impression from the outside for it is so beautiful and stylish but also from the inside. The only downside is that it does not have a business centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Extremely helpful staff. Quiet location but just a couple of blocks from the Metro. Lots of good places to eat. we enjoyed a very good meal at a very fair price at Pulpa one block down from hotel.
We will certainly visit again we we next come to Barcelona to visit our son
Didn't use the pool as winter on our visit. It is a decent length but only narrow in width. Breakfast good but we paid only 10 Euros on a special deal.
From the airport use the Aerobus to Placa catalunya and then Metro Green Line to Diagonal
Only real negative is free wifi is ony for one hour per day which is a bit mean particularly if you want to do your emails in a morning and an evening on the same day like us
Rooms at back have balcony for 2 and get afternoon evening sun

Room Tip: On a quiet street but rooms at back are away from street altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbriansKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Granados 83.
I am glad you have enjoyed your time with us. It is true that the Hotel is well located in a semi pedestrian street with plenty of small terraces to enjoy barcelona´s afternoons and well apointed restaurants with tasty menus.

I take good note on your comments on the free 1hr WIFI a day, and would like to let you know that we do also provide a wired ADSL conection which is 24hr free.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct in order to make all necessary arrangements.

Kind regards,

greg behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#38 of 512 in Barcelona
2,249 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#32 of 512 in Barcelona
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 512 in Barcelona
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granados 83? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granados 83

Property: Hotel Granados 83
Address: Enric Granados, 83, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Granados 83 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior four-star hotel located in the very heart of Barcelona, just a few minutes away on foot from Avinguda Diagonal and Passeig de Gràcia and surrounded by the city's best shopping area.Located in a former hospital from the last century, Carrer Granados number 83 was reconverted into an Art-Deco hotel establishment. Its rusted iron structure, reminiscent of the old lofts of New York’s Soho, contrasts with the stone and glass facade and with interior decoration of maximum minimalist elegance and more than a hint of Zen.Bright, elegant spaces are connected around a central patio with a skylight and a spectacular crystal covering, bringing together iron, brick, zebrawood and tamarind wood, natural leather and Thassos white marble.If you would like to stay in the centre of Barcelona and enjoy the city's most avant-garde architecture, don't hesitate to come to Hotel Granados 83.Services77 guest rooms: 5 single rooms, 6 Executive, 59 double rooms, 7 DuplexRestaurant 3G Bar8 Terrace BarBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: Granados 83 room, multi-purpose space The Klub, 3 Restaurant, the patio of 3 Restaurant, poolside terraceOutdoor swimming pool and solariumGymParkingLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Granados 83 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granados 83 Hotel
Granados 83 Barcelona
Hotel Granados 83 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing