We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but expensive”
Review of Hotel Granados 83

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Granados 83
Ranked #44 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Schweiz
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Not bad, but expensive”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Good location close to Passeig Gracia and many good restaurants plus all the Gaudi museums.
The NY loft style is overdone and less would have been more. Nth bad to say at all, good service, small roof top terrace with even smaller pool.

190€ for a double room without WiFi/breakfast is simply too much

Helpful?
Thank TravelerLux007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    456
    107
    33
    15
See reviews for
215
660
146
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I have never written a hotel review on here before, but after our wonderful experience at Granados 83, I felt compelled to do so. My sweetie and I stayed there from 5/10-14/2012 and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a lovely section of town, within walking and mass transit distance from many wonderful attractions. Our room was beautiful and clean. While the wireless internet is limited to an hour a day, the free cable provided at the front desk worked quite well and the connection was fast.

Alberto and all of the front desk staff were friendly and attentive. We were given suggestions for things to do, and places to eat. They even made a reservation for us at one of the nicest restaurants in the city. Finally, they handled a very unruly guest on our floor with diplomacy and tact, apologizing and moving us to an incredible room, assuring us that the problem had been taken care of, and it was. Great vacation at a beautifully designed boutique hotel. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is a fab hotel in a great place for retail and restaurants, modern decor, great staff and a general feeling of calm. I would book again. Watch out for the tiny rooftop pool/bath, the good one that you see in the pictures is exclusive to the apartments.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfbennyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in Granados 83 for 5 nights with my husband during our vacation in Barcelona. The hotel is very stylish and clean and has some nice touches -- chocolates and a rose for our first night and a private balcony in our room, for example. We loved staying in a couple nights to hang out on that balcony drinking wine and getting room service (which wasn't astronomically expensive -- 14 euros for a big burger with fries and 5 euros for a piece of cheesecake).

The location is good -- around a lot of restaurants in a safe-feeling neighborhood that is a bit removed from the really touristy busy areas. Major sights and metro stations are within a 5 to 15-minute walk. The metro is very user-friendly in Barcelona and trains come every 5 minutes on every line, so we were very happy with our access to the city from this hotel.

The hotel staff was friendly and all spoke excellent English. We got a restaurant recommendation from one staff member, who made a reservation for us, and it was one of the best meals of the trip. They were always prompt and nice when delivering room service, lending us wine openers, etc.

My only minor complaints/warnings about this hotel are:

1) There is no coffee maker in the room. There is one complementary espresso or tea that you can have brought to your room between 5:30 and 6:45 am, but that's it. The breakfast is 18 euros per person, so that's not a great way to get a caffeine fix. However, there are a lot of nice cafes within a few blocks of the hotel so it wasn't a huge deal.

2) The internet access is not great. You can get one hour of free wireless internet in your room, and then supposedly you can borrow an ethernet cord from the hotel to get limitless free ethernet access. However, the ethernet didn't work for us until our last day. There is a computer with a printer for guest use at all times, which made this less of a problem.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pounceypounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hotel design is quite funky...whilst lots of hotels in Barcelona like to use glass (and glass does look great) in their designs, they seem to crack their glass all too often... and that's not very funky. But at this price, the design of Hotel Granados was cool - absolute loved the color combinations, use of space, bathroom. The pungent incense burning in the lobby on the other hand, made my nose run every time I passed, which was not so great.

The sound insulation to outside noise is great, as all rooms are equipped with a metal slide which blocks all sound and light from outside. What stops people from sleeping is the room service or other neighboring guests. It's extremely noisy in the morning. Plus, most restaurants in Barcelona open for dinner from 8:30 - 11:30pm, so it's quite hard to get to bed early either. Luckily, the food compensates for being excellent in general.

I didn't do the research for this trip, but I wouldn't call this value for money in general. Breakfast costs 10 euros if you want it, which you probably wouldn't considering the extensive and excellent choice of food around the area at a much better price.

There is wifi available in your room, but only for one hour a day, and preferably for the hotel staff for some reason, at night. They don't seem to be too happy with providing the daily password during the daytime for some reason. That just robs your chance of spending anytime doing work in your room (which may not be a bad thing), or communicating with family overseas for any significant length of time. I guess it's not a must, but if it is for you, then keep that in mind, because if you want extra wifi time, then as is expected in Europe, the cost goes up exponentially. The hotel does thoughtfully provide a public computer with printer in case you need to do something urgent... but it can be embarrassing if it's busy as there's only one computer for the whole hotel. I think maybe I've just been very very spoiled in Asia.

I liked the hotel location, as it was fairly quiet, but not too far away from the main areas.

Staff were generally helpful, but rather aloof. Room service was a bit of a hit or miss. They presented us very thoughtfully with weather forecast card, chocolate, strawberries and a rose on our arrival (not sure if it was because our arrival coincided with Festival Sant Jordi)...but the rose kept wilting in the stagnant water, and it seemed that nobody wanted to change it until we just couldn't stop ourselves in the end. The weather forecast apparently was only important for the first day and did not appear again. The chocolates were nice though. They also kept providing us with extra packets of toilet amenities instead of just refilling the ones that had been used it, which was fairly strange, as there was limited space, we just had a bit of trouble piling up the stuff. Cleanliness was fair in comparison to the outstanding hotel design.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room with as few neighboring rooms, and as far from room service as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great hotel, nice design, great location surrounded with shops and nice restaurants, but still quiet and not stucky in the most-touristy-area. Great for a city trip to Barcelona

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Granados 83, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your post. As you mention our Hotel´s location is perfect for discovering the city by foot, paseo de gracia and rambla catalunya are only few minutes away. Actually, now that the weather is getting better, we introduced a service of bicycle renting drectly from the Hotel, which makes the beach only 15 mn from the hotel following the bike lanes..

Hoping to welcome you back soon, please free in contacting us direct to arrange your following stay with us.

Kind regards,

Greg Behn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

19th - 23rd April 2012
Reception staff where wonderful every down to the man that meet us as we come out of our taxi (lovely actual about him in their magazine)
Good choice of breakfast if you eat meat, maybe they can think a bit more about veggie/vegan e.g. veggie sausages (only a suggestion)
Room were prefect, very clean and spacey.
Within walking distance to every were, and great bus services
Over all lovely!! we would come back to this hotel again and again
many thanks PERFECT!!!!!!!!! :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaica01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,266 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
1,392 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,925 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,219 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granados 83? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granados 83

Property: Hotel Granados 83
Address: Enric Granados, 83, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Granados 83 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior four-star hotel located in the very heart of Barcelona, just a few minutes away on foot from Avinguda Diagonal and Passeig de Gràcia and surrounded by the city's best shopping area.Located in a former hospital from the last century, Carrer Granados number 83 was reconverted into an Art-Deco hotel establishment. Its rusted iron structure, reminiscent of the old lofts of New York’s Soho, contrasts with the stone and glass facade and with interior decoration of maximum minimalist elegance and more than a hint of Zen.Bright, elegant spaces are connected around a central patio with a skylight and a spectacular crystal covering, bringing together iron, brick, zebrawood and tamarind wood, natural leather and Thassos white marble.If you would like to stay in the centre of Barcelona and enjoy the city's most avant-garde architecture, don't hesitate to come to Hotel Granados 83.Services77 guest rooms: 5 single rooms, 6 Executive, 59 double rooms, 7 DuplexRestaurant 3G Bar8 Terrace BarBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: Granados 83 room, multi-purpose space The Klub, 3 Restaurant, the patio of 3 Restaurant, poolside terraceOutdoor swimming pool and solariumGymParkingLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granados 83 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granados 83 Hotel
Granados 83 Barcelona
Hotel Granados 83 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing