We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great room horrible internet.”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #30 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great room horrible internet.”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The room is simple good for the price and what if offers is great the location amazing in the center of everything but the internet as for my expierence in my room was impossible. I was in the 8 floor in a corner and i needed to go outside the room to catch the signal, a poor and slowwwww one, why is this, simple the internet has noo key and everybody i mean everybody can us it even in Plaza Cataluña there is free public wifi but even this people take the hotel signal easy faster and less crowded but that makes the guest in the hotel suffer fot the conection. But if you go to this wonderfull city dont wait and stay in Olivia but if you care about internet stay in the first floors.

Room Tip: ask lower levels looking to cataluña square or upper level looking at the sea but suffer internet pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillermoSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear GuillermoSarah,

Thank so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm sorry you had trouble with the WIFI signal during your stay. Here at the Olivia Plaza we think that Internet is a MUST nowadays, and that´s the reason we offer free WIFI throughout the hotel as well as we do have a space on the mezzanine to work with both, WIFI and the Internet-connected computers available to customers.

I talked to the Maintenance Department, and we will work to find out a solution soon to this problem taking your feedback into consideration.

Besides that, I'm glad you had a really nice stay with us and in our city. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,


Ricardo Samaan
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    613
    135
    29
    23
See reviews for
386
1,097
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Olivia Plaza was very central and the perfect walking distance from every where in barcelona central. The tour bus service across the road was great and there were some lovely cafes near where you could relax in the evenings and watch the world go by. The restaurant in the hotel was impressive and the seating out the back with the glass floors and contemporary design was very interesting and a conversation piece. The hotel staff were extremely accomodating and friendly which is always a plus in any hotel. We loved the fresh feel of the design in the hotel and the clean appearance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittycosengas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Kittycosengas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words and feedback. I will be sure to share everything with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ricardo Samaan,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed for two nights for a business meeting in the hotel. I arrived from the airport about 1030 am, but an early check-in was no problem. The room was big and bright, with a double bed, chair, coffee table: not great working space. However there is a business space on the mezzanine level. The washbasin is in effect in the room, but the WC and shower cubicle are hidden behind a sliding door. My colleagues and I all loved the quiet terrace and sunken patio at the rear of the hotel, with the medieval church nearby reflecting in the glass wall. The food was pretty good, but like much of Barcelona there was a faintly unpleasant odor near the basement area where the bar WC is located.
The location is great: right beside the airport bus terminus, department stores, the Ramblas, and metro to get further afield. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Arrive early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljude180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed for 9 nights in a superior room at the Olivia Plaza and we absolutely loved it. The staff were great and very helpful. Upon arrival, a complimentary bottle of wine was sent up to our room with a welcome note from the management. It was a nice gesture. The room was modern and clean with a very comfortable bed and bathroom. The only drawback was that we could not open the window, though we had an excellent view of Placa Catalunya. The location is unbeatable....the Metro is very close by at the top of La Rambla and the Aerobus from Airport stops in front of the hotel just across the road. We loved Barcelona and will surely be back.

Thanks Olivia Plaza team.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Married_Couple_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We dropped in at this hotel, when we found that hotel we had booked was terrible. The lobby is great. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. Luckily they had a room available for the period we wanted. We got a suite for a reasonable price. The view were great. The location also, and it was quiet, even if it was a lot of traffic outside. It is close to everything. We totally loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoEm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Pro:
- the rooms are nicely disegned and big enough, with a great window.
- friendly staff
- great breakfast
- free wifi (although quite slow)
- incredible position

Minus:
- bathroom
- some of the rooms have the window facing the hall of the hotel. It's quite depressing considering the gorgeous view of the other rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulio998844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel is chic without being stuffy... spacious and well appointed.... and in the very best spot one could hope for in the old city section of Barcelona. Minutes from the cruise docks and steps away from the activities of La Ramblas and if you pre-book, it's an excellent value for the caliber of hotel. The staff was welcoming and helpful, the rooms are spectacular and the food in the restaurant excellent despite having a limited menu.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaSamarotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,219 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
675 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,339 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
452 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 513 in Barcelona
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing